Symptom
Symptom


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
February 16th, 2012 | 111 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: HAIL SATAN!

I'd just like to know where the hell Symptom came from? The most appropriate answer for that question is that they came straight from the pits of hell and that is apparent after listening to their self-titled debut full-length. They play some very filthy old-school styled death metal with influences of sludge and doom. If you were to say this album sounded like it came out of the Finnish death metal scene, it'd be hard to argue with you because, by the sounds of things, these guys are heavily influenced by such Finnish bands as Stench of Decay, Adramelech, Rippikoulu, and Hooded Menace.

Something that is extremely obvious here, which I kinda touched on earlier, is the influences from sludge and doom metal and that's apparent as soon as the album begins, starting off with a heavy as balls death/doom riff. At their core, Symptom is a death metal band, but to say they were purely a death metal band would be a blatant lie. This album is basically just bone crushing riff after bone crushing riff shoved into a 25 minute span until you're pounded into submission and drenched in it's dirty atmosphere. Production here is very muddy, but that's what makes it even better. This album could've come straight out of the 90's death metal scene and you wouldn't know the difference.

I can guarantee you one thing, Symptom is a band that is going to make some serious noise in the death metal scene over the next couple of years. Hopefully they're not just a one hit wonder like a lot of other great death metal bands and break up after just one album. For now though, there's still hope for this band to keep on chugging along and grace metalheads' ears with some more sludge induced grimy death metal. Look out for this band.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everyone get this now.

Gotta shout out Butchered (yes, Butchered) for showing me this.

Island
February 16th 2012


577 Comments


ive actually heard this

rules

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Surprised the fuck out of me.

Island
February 16th 2012


577 Comments


butchered actually rec me too on my other account

lets spread the word

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's why I threw this review together. People need to know about this.

Island
February 16th 2012


577 Comments


contribute to any blogs?

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Me and Spirit have a blog, but we haven't been active in about a month. We're gonna be starting it back up soon hopefully though.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, and this can be downloaded on their bandcamp page.

http://churchofdaggers.bandcamp.com/album/symptom

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


19043 Comments


sound cool will get pos

Digging: Objekt - Objekt #2

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank buddy. I know you'll love this.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


19043 Comments


fukin sweet will listen asap

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah. m/ m/ m/

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


16478 Comments


Gotta shout out Butchered (yes, Butchered) for showing me this.


gonna 1 this hard

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol no don't worry dude, I'm 98% sure you'll love this.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha I only included it because there's a sample that says "HAIL SATAN" at the end of Maggot Eucharist. Thanks though dude.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


16478 Comments


Lol no don't worry dude, I'm 98% sure you'll love this.


Haha yeah I'll check this out, sounds great.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Since I know most of us around here prefer Finnish death metal, I'm thinking everyone here will love this. I mean, they're from the states, but as I said, their sound is Finnish as fuck.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol no my name isn't Jeremy. Haven't you heard of Jeremy Lin?

And thanks dude.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahhh well that's very understandable then. But yeah, dude is making headlines all across the country.

Hawks
February 16th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great player (from what we've seen so far) and also very humble too. Everyone always roots for the underdog. He was apparently living at his brother's house sleeping on the couch and then all this happened.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy