Field Music
Plumb


4.0
excellent

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
February 16th, 2012 | 48 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So serene...a crossing into a world where the factual and concrete meet the ethereal.

Field Music’s Plumb possesses a distinctly urban sound. The fluttering electronic undertones conjure up images of a bustling city street, while the intricate guitar framework depicts symmetrical complexes towering towards the sky. Overtop of those towers lay gentle brushstrokes of pop, painting a calm and accessible blue over all the hustling and scurrying below. Within this diverse and fervent experimentation, there exists a profound sense of unity that keeps all the moving pieces contained in one sleek, tidy package. Almost like a population within itself, Plumb is a melting pot of genres, influences, and styles that have found a way to live amongst each other in harmony.

Plumb’s constant progression immediately lends it a sense of urgency. From one end to the other, it sounds like Field Music is on a quest to arrive at something completely new and never before heard. Each track turns over a new leaf, using electronics, undulating acoustic chords, driving piano, and ragtag percussion as vessels to arrive on a plethora of different doorsteps all at once. There are the jazz vibes at the beginning of ‘Start the Day Right’, the Annuals-reminiscent indie of ‘It’s Okay to Change’, and the airy melodies of ‘Sorry Again, Mate’ – and that’s just within the first three songs. Plumb unfolds in a way that is just as good for people with short attention spans as it is for novelty-seeking hipsters, and there is nary a dull, monotonous, or repeated moment throughout the entire runtime. So if nothing else, this is an album that deserves recognition for its rapidly changing sequences.

However, it is so much more than that. Plumb executes its ongoing innovation with unparalleled musicianship…in other words, this isn’t just an album with a bad case of ADD. The transitions are silky smooth, the layering is textured and precise without feeling confined, and the technical proficiency of the musicians is never in question. The songs are definitely indie-geared, and while Plumb always keeps one foot planted in that camp, it is also always kicking up its free leg and trying to land it across other boundaries. The result is something that feels like an exotic journey and a familiar stroll all at once, and the comfort-to-exploration ratio is perfect. At times entrenched in a matrix of mathy, American Football-like acoustics and at other times floating through various electronic effects to an island in the sky, there is no predicting where Field Music will take you. Just open up your ears – and your imagination – and let Plumb do its magic.



Recent reviews by this author
Damien Rice My Favourite Faded FantasyTaylor Swift 1989
Zella Day Zella DayAndrew McMahon in the Wilderness Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness
Titus Andronicus The MonitorTigers on Trains Antarctica In Color
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My latest obsession and AOTY so far:

http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/spinner#/17

Recommended Tracks:

Sorry Again, Mate
Start the Day Right
A Prelude to Pilgrim Street
Choosing Sides
From Hide and Seek to Heartache
(I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing

But definitely better when listened to as a whole ; )

Digging: Low Roar - 0

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh snap i didn't realize they were releasing a new one. how does this compare to measures

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first release i've heard by them klappy

you'll have to tell me

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will do. have you ever heard the first futureheads record btw if not you should check it out

damn there's a lot of stuff out now

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No I just heard their two most recent. I have always meant to give it a listen though.

Knott-
Emeritus
February 15th 2012


10198 Comments


would i like this SOWING?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's like the opposite of fun., this is pretty pretentious. But then again we like a lot of the same music, good and bad, so it might be worth a shot.

Knott-
Emeritus
February 15th 2012


10198 Comments


Well I mean I've been swinging violently between Fun., Sleigh Bells and Burial for the last 3 days so I'll try this.

Drsmith4
February 15th 2012


1719 Comments


Measure was an anti-grower in the worst way possible

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 16th 2012


10663 Comments


Hmmm...sounds interesting. Kinda sounds like my thing.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

balcaen
February 16th 2012


3183 Comments


Annuals and American Football in the recommended section say this is my thing but the review reads a little hazy for me. hmmm...

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the new pornos and futureheads references are more on point although i see annuals

balcaen
February 16th 2012


3183 Comments


got it anyway.
sowing's reviews are always fucking good so i end up listening to whatever he rates well even though we're never on the same page with tastes. heh

Anthracks
February 16th 2012


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listened to Amazon samples and thought it sounded a little bit like early of Montreal so no doubt I bought it.

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2012


7423 Comments


These guys are local to me. God knows I've tried but I really don't see their appeal at all.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Balcaen, glad you like the review but I hope this time the album catches your interest!

Ali, what's not to like? If I could see anyone not liking them it would be for the genre/style but you like indie

Tyrael
February 16th 2012


20972 Comments


sowing's reviews are always fucking good so i end up listening to whatever he rates well even though we're never on the same page with tastes. [2]

except for female fronted indie pop of course

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and apparently this

glad you like it = )

Tyrael
February 16th 2012


20972 Comments


this is like a 3-3.5 but I'll give it the benefit of the doubt for now

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2012


7423 Comments


"Ali, what's not to like? If I could see anyone not liking them it would be for the genre/style but you like indie"

I honestly have no idea, they just do absolutely nothing for me. Maybe it's the pretentiousness of it all but I don't usually have a problem with that kind of thing. I remember hating their last one because it lasted so long but this one's just over half an hour and I'm still struggling.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy