Horrendous
The Chills


4.0
excellent

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
February 13th, 2012 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A successful modern death metal release deriving formulas from the OSDM scene and adding a touch of Swedish seasonings.

With all the sub-genre death metal acts popping up nowadays it's nice to know the foundation setters are still shining through; whether it be in person or in memory. Horrendous executes a professional job, carrying the memory of notable Swedish Death Metal acts such as Dismember, Gorement, and Entombed. The cohesive factor of "The Chills" is of great note, which one can decipher by the close bond brothers Matt [Guitar, Vocals] and Jamie [Drums] Knox have. Surely they must have studied, practiced, and perfected the art of Swedish Old School Death Metal, also adding a touch of their own feel and originality.

From the beginning "The Chills" takes its listeners through a realm of solid compositions. Most notably in the area of guitars, they fuse harmonizing riffs and leads seamlessly, creating the foundation for Horrendous' sound. Solos are found throughout this album, but in an original fashion they can sometimes be found during a vocal verse line, such as in the case of "The Womb". The well thought out production department mixed dissonant solos perfectly, so as not to detract from the volume level of the present overlaying vocals.

The drums always follow the lead of the riffs but are noticeably present as they are always used perfectly and never detract from the emotion laid out by the guitars. The fills are always tasteful and sometimes even push the riffs even further in certain tracks as "Altars" and "The Ritual". "The Ritual", being one of my favorite tracks, contains a well balanced blend of fast and slower tempos allowing for a more "grimy" feel to the pace of this album. In reference to fast and slower tempos, they can be found throughout "The Chills" and make their appearance in an unforced fashion while driving the emotional points of each track home.

The vocal department is one of my favorites from this album as well as the aspect I will remember most about it. They can be a bit difficult to describe, but I would say they compare most to John Tardy's of Obituary, although not completely identical. They have a sludgy, mid-low tone to them and fit very well amongst its instrumental components. "Ripped to Shreds" showcases some of the filthiest vocal performances Death Metal has to offer.

"The Chills" stands as a strong component is the modern revival of Old School Death Metal. While it doesn't create many new factors in the genre, it does however mark itself as one solid Death Metal album, as well as being an excellent start to 2012. This album is recommended to any fan of Death Metal, Swedish Death Metal, and most particularly, OSDM.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (65)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
February 13th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I decided to re-write this review as I felt the band/album deserves a proper review. Also my first review for this was lol horrible.

Beachcoma
February 13th 2012


526 Comments


Great review, I need this.

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 13th 2012


1237 Comments


good album

Tyrael
February 13th 2012


20972 Comments


yea

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


19067 Comments


rules

Digging: Objekt - Objekt #2

CaptainDooRight
February 13th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you for the positive response guys. This album has really grown on me.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review seems a little... robotic for my liking, maybe try to be a little less formal with your next one. Still though, it's pretty well written.

I found this album to be pretty decent, if nothing particularly flash.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


16482 Comments


hype did you jam with these guys yet

Hawks
February 13th 2012


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Rules.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


19067 Comments


yes i have twice now, and hung out with them a couple of times

essentially the situation is that their drummer moved to pennsylvania i think? anyways hes coming down
to play a show with them here in february, but there is the possibility that i could play some local
shows with them if hes not here though which is fuckin sick

Hawks
February 13th 2012


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Just make them let you join the band full-time. That would be fucking sick.

CaptainDooRight
February 13th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This review seems a little... robotic for my liking, maybe try to be a little less formal with your next one. Still though, it's pretty well written."

Note Taken, thanks.

"essentially the situation is that their drummer moved to pennsylvania i think? anyways hes coming down
to play a show with them here in february, but there is the possibility that i could play some local
shows with them if hes not here though which is fuckin sick"

Way Sick.

@Riff - Dude what's up with a "1" rating for this? How can that possibly be serious?

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


19067 Comments


hes a troll

bloc
February 13th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album's pretty good, but I may have set my hopes too high before I first listened to it.

CaptainDooRight
February 13th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember he used to be a little more straightfoward and trolling occasional but lately it seems like he's went into full troll mode.

I hope everything is going ok in your life Riff. If not I'd be more than happy to talk you about it in a serious manner.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


16482 Comments


there is the possibility that i could play some local
shows with them if hes not here though which is fuckin sick


That would be really cool. I assume they're all really chill dudes.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


19067 Comments


hell yeah after we jammed the first time we ended up watching robocop afterwards hahaha

bloc
February 13th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its no futurepoop thats4sur

LOL

Oh well, at least that word is raising awareness...

CaptainDooRight
February 13th 2012


30334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"we ended up watching robocop afterwards "

Robocp is classic.

turnip90210
February 13th 2012


321 Comments


Good review. It still hasn't grown on me one bit though. I guess I envy you, it's better to like stuff than dislike it.

I found out that Altar (Swe) dropped a compilation, will try to pen a review for it tomorrow. Gotta start reviewing more regularly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy