The Twilight Sad
No One Can Ever Know


3.5
great

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
February 13th, 2012 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Channeling post-punk melancholy lends an even darker tint to The Twilight Sad's drawn-out sound.

If 2009's Forget The Night Ahead dragged The Twilight Sad's afternoon soundscapes kicking and screaming into cutting, sinister darkness, then No One Can Ever Know goes three steps further down that pitch-black country lane and threatens to detach the band from humanity entirely. The Scottish outfit's 2012 offering shares many of its pre-decessor's charming qualities - it's drawn out, dramatic, and surprisingly infectious in a really disconcerting sort of way - but its undertones of Joy Division melancholy give it a new slant which one would struggle to call fresh simply because it's so damn downbeat.

Indeed, what beauty there is on No One Can Ever Know is trapped underneath waves of doubt and introspection; gone, for sure, are the pianos of Fourteen Autumns And Fifteen Winters and the crackles of tenderness that accompanied Forget The Night Ahead's brand of distortion. The guitars here are somehow colder, the beats more methodical, the motifs less brooding and more immediately dangerous. Vocalist James Graham leads the march, threatening that there's only one way this is gonna end on "Nil" in his most enigmatic moment, but there are plenty to choose from.

And though the post-punk stylings of these echo-filled rooms fail to nail their atmospheric subtleties to quite the same degree as Forget The Night Ahead's brooding contemplation, that's no real qualm at all. Though it never explodes, No One Can Ever Know comes to its unnerving climaxes at just the right points and feels in its own right like a totally cohesive recording of something dark and unforgivable. Just don't ask what.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Ali CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
An ideal musical accompaniment to the cold and depressing month of February....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
February 12th 2012


10197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is so intoxicating, even if I don't love it quite as much as Forget The Night Ahead.

RIYL: dumping dead bodies in the dead of night

Gyromania
February 12th 2012


15791 Comments


Great work, Knott - nice and concise. I'll take a listen to this and let you know what I think.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

LifeAsAChipmunk
February 12th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Post Punk huh? Sounds interesting. The review seemed a bit short though.

Knott-
Emeritus
February 12th 2012


10197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Matt. I think you would enjoy this.

Should I write another 2 paragraphs repeating what I already said?

AggravatedYeti
February 12th 2012


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really loving this.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


31215 Comments



RIYL: dumping dead bodies in the dead of night


If ever there was an activity that needed a soundtrack

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Knott-
Emeritus
February 12th 2012


10197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've just always thought it was lacking something : /

Hikikomori
February 13th 2012


48 Comments


hmm, sounds interesting. always liked this band in small doses.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dead Night is one of my favourite songs of 2012 so far

Knott-
Emeritus
February 13th 2012


10197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nil" is one of mine.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tbh Dead City and Kill It In The Morning are probably the only individual songs that stand out for me, but I love the overall vibe here.

SleepyJack
February 13th 2012


198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I gave this a listen the other day. Sounds decent, but I doubt these guys will ever top their debut

DoubtGin
February 13th 2012


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea this is great

AggravatedYeti
February 13th 2012


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not Sleeping and Alphabet all day.
Like the condensed review as well.

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
February 13th 2012


3663 Comments


Sweet review Knott, the album is great

I also love the fusion of post-punk and other influences as well

AggravatedYeti
February 14th 2012


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really want to see them do this live...

Apollo
February 14th 2012


10307 Comments


Listening to this band now and I really like what I am hearing

scissorlocked
February 14th 2012


3510 Comments


great work Knott- consice and up to the point review

will check this soon

Phideaux
February 14th 2012


1654 Comments


I've actually had these guys recommended before. Will listen.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 19th 2012


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Absolutely fabulous live.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy