Orange Goblin
A Eulogy for the Damned


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
February 12th, 2012 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Orange Goblin continue to explore their trademark stoner metal style on one of their most consistent releases to date.

For as many as seventeen years now, London-based Orange Goblin have been a major force to be reckoned with when it comes to high-octane stoner metal. Over the course of time, the group's style has grown more and more straightforward entirely abandoning any traces of psychedelia being found on their excellent 1997's debut, Frequencies From Planet Ten. Several albums and line-up changes into their career and the quartet sounds as relentless as ever before providing their trademark groove-laden heavy rock once again. The seventh full-length release of theirs, A Eulogy For The Damned, captures the band wholly assured of their own style. It may not push any musical boundaries nor expand their fan base, yet it feels totally in line with the expectations of the act's ardent followers.

The robust, solely guitar-driven onslaught is still based on brash, superbly harmonized guitar riffs, which along with the resonant, always precise rhythm section, make for truly inspired sludgy groove rock. In fact, the metallic constituents of their previous work have been somewhat limited, which results in an album that has more of a hard rock vibe to it. Ben Ward's singing is probably the best indicator of this minor shift in style given that his performance exclusively relies on melodic, yet gruff vocals rather than harsh ones. The greatest asset of A Eulogy For The Damned is most definitely its remarkable consistency. Actually, this is the quartet's most stellar collection of songs in over ten years. There are absolutely no filler tracks that have plagued their last three albums nor any stylistic experimentation which might have broken the record's steady flow.

Even though it's scarcely one of the most diverse albums in the genre, A Eulogy For The Damned has its fair share of various influences going on. “Red Tide Rising” opens the disc with the vortex of cascading sludgy riffs that in next to no time reveal the act's combative approach, while “Acid Trial” is evidently reminiscent of traditional heavy metal due to its top-notch technical soloing courtesy of Joe Hoare. Elsewhere, the ultra-fast pace of “The Filthy And The Few” happens to be ingrained in hardcore punk. The real revelation though is the new-found affection for southern rock. For instance, “Save Me From Myself” boasts memorable vocal lines and bluesy guitar work that resembles the latest Suplecs record more than anything from Orange Goblin's back catalogue. Moreover, the band doesn't curb their tendency to get supremely catchy every now and then. Bracing “Stand For Something” with its existential lyrics, smooth transitions and anthemic tone may even rival “298 KG” out of The Big Black as their most infectious tune.

At one point, Ben Ward sings “my only master is the man I see in the mirror”, which perfectly summarizes Orange Goblin's ballsy and unpretentious attitude that's in full swing on A Eulogy For The Damned. It might be an overly conventional, by-the-numbers stoner rock release for some; however, it's so unabashedly fun to listen to that the true fans of the genre will certainly find it extremely difficult to resist.



Recent reviews by this author
Dope Body LiferSparky Humanimation
Lo-Pan ColossusKimbra The Golden Echo
Dog Fashion Disco Sweet NothingsSo Slow Dharavi
user ratings (75)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Red Tide Rising" video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHxiouKy8Ho

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

jayfatha
February 12th 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good ass album, pos

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review Greg. I would reword the first sentence though, because it reads kind of awkwardly to be honest, and opening sentences are imo always very important.

Otherwise, solid work.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. It might be their best.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Magnus:
Done. I hope it reads better now. Thanks.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


6268 Comments


Listened to the album stream only once, it ranked as a 3/5 atm, as few stuff really caught my attention.

Probably going to be a 3.5 with increasing listening sessions.




Good review, pos.

Digging: Electric Moon - Innside Outside

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Magnus:
Done. I hope it reads better now. Thanks.
Yes, much better.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Voivod:
If I gave this less than a 4, I'm sure I'd be abandoned by some of my friends (lol).


DrGunther
February 13th 2012


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good job on the review Greg...been listening to this and the new Therapy? one most of the weekend and I've enjoyed this a slight bit more, probably a 4 so far.

Only ever heard (and enjoyed) the first two OG albums and they seem to have aged well since then.

Digging: ZZ Top - Tres Hombres

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


3472 Comments


The Filthy And The Few and Bishop's Wolf are real fun and Save Me From Myself and Stand For Something are a nice detour from the more metallic riffs . Good review! pos.

Digging: Amplifier - The Octopus

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@DrGunther:
I think their debut is one of the best stoner rock releases of the 1990s. I didn't enjoy their second album so much. Out of the remaining discs of theirs, The Big Black is the most stellar imo. A Eulogy For The Damned is definitely in the top 3 though.

@insomniac15:
Good call. Bishop's Wolf is one of the standout tracks for sure. Save Me From Myself is probably my favorite at the moment. The band deserves more exposure on here. I can't believe it's only the 3rd review of their albums.



insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


3472 Comments


I have noticed there aren't that many stoner rock and all its subgenres fans around here.

fulgrim
February 13th 2012


1542 Comments


need to check this out, these guys usually put out good stuff.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@insomniac15:
You're right... and that's quite disappointing.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


3472 Comments


I don't know if you like him or not, but check out Mark Lanegan's new album Blues Funeral, it's great and it's got plenty of southern rock and blues (however a lot less heavy).

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Van Conner is my favorite Screeming Tree's former member because Valis > Screeming Trees. I definitely dig his voice too though. I'll give this a spin soon. Thanks.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


3472 Comments


Well, I dig more Valis than Lanegan too, but nevertheless Blues Funeral is a great record IMO :D. It's a depressing record but different from them.

DrGunther
February 13th 2012


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Funnily enough, just had a first listen of Blues Funeral this morning and it seems alright so far, needs a few more goes obviously.

Not heard of Valis, if you say that Greg then I'll give them a go, as I've loved everything I've heard from the Screaming Trees , as well as Lanegan's QotSA stuff.

Insomniac - looks like the same handful of people on here rating all the stoner stuff from what I can tell, I'm only a recent fan of the genre but I can't believe how much good stuff there is - been listening to a shitload of Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Monster Magnet, Nebula etc. over the last year and it's criminal how few ratings there are for some of the albums on here.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Valis are awesome, man. One of the best stoner/space rock acts around imo.

Stoner rock is indeed one of the best genres now. So many great stoner rock albums came out last year that it's sick!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2012


3472 Comments


Yeah, Valis are amazing, especially their last two albums Head Full Of Pills and Dark Matter, I can't wait for them to release their 4th effort this spring.

@Dr Gunther, well yeah there are few ratings for so many records. There are a lot of bands that are just known in some area and they rule. Listen to Brant Bjork, Yawning Man (really eerie instrumental stoner), Red Fang are really cool (stoner more to southern rock style), Karma To Burn are really good(you should check Almost Heathen or Wild, Wonderful...Purgatory from them), Catacombe (they're from Portugal and they're heavier but with a more post-rock/metal influence , they have one album Kinetic, I'll add them to the site now), etc. etc.

Here's one song from Catacombe, called Memoirs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unQDSEINeQQ - now that I listen again, they're more post-metal, but I think they're great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy