The Dangerous Summer
Reach For The Sun


4.5
superb

Review

by Boris Canzano USER (9 Reviews)
February 11th, 2012 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "This Is Where I Want To Be"

If you’re feeling lonely, this is the record for you. The Dangerous Summer have always been a band that I can turn to when I’m feeling down, and they have perfected their unique, uplifting brand of pop punk in their first full length release, Reach for the Sun.

Reach for the Sun is a record about being lonely, and longing for the brightness ahead. Vocalist A.J. Perdomo spills his heart makes it clear to us that he is at a low point in his life, and is longing for his home, and ones he loves. Opening track and one of the best tracks on the album, “Where I Want To Be” serves as an adequate summary of the record. Perdomo croons about how he made mistakes, regrets them, and long for those whom he hurt to love him again. The second track, “Settle Down”, is another highlight of the record. In this song, Perdomo sings about his downtrodden spirits when he is on tour and how he dreams of better times. The title track, “Reach for the Sun” is the highlight of the album. Saturated in emotion, it is a song about finally finding the place where you want to be, need to be, and finding the person you want to be with.

Reach for the Sun is truly an excellent record in all aspects. The instrumentation serves to distinguish the Dangerous Summer from other pop-punk contemporaries. The lyrics combined with Perdomo’s unique voice fill each song with unadulterated emotion so palpable that it is difficult not to be touched in some way. The record’s only flaw is to drag in the middle portion, but this only detracts slightly from the quality of the songs.

Reach for the Sun remains the Dangerous Summer’s best and most heartfelt effort and one of the better releases of 2009.

Recommended Tracks:

Where I Want To Be
Settle Down
The Permanent Rain
Reach for the Sun
Never Feel Alone



Recent reviews by this author
Admiral Fallow Tree Bursts In SnowRoyal Republic Save The Nation
Reel Big Fish Candy Coated FuryFantastimo Led Zeppelin V
The Gaslight Anthem The '59 SoundRoyal Republic We Are The Royal
user ratings (207)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Josh Howe (4)
The Dangerous Summer’s true ‘’Golden Record’’...

Blair Chopin (4)
The future of pop-punk?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wanted to try a shorter review. Please criticize all you want.

Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And for some reason my formatting got messed up when it posted so I guess there aren't paragraph indents

Eeyah
February 11th 2012


36 Comments


The review feels kind of rushed, but it isn;t that bad. Just keep working on your style and think about what you want to say days before you actually write it

Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, I've never tried to write a short review before so I'll keep that in mind next time.

Fortheloveofmusic
February 11th 2012


491 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You have no idea how excited I was when I saw this review. It was a pretty good review, except it does seem kind of rushed. Also you don't really talk much about the music, only the lyrics and Perdomo's singing. However, the detail you put in was good, so I'm still gonna pos.

See if you can fix the formatting, it's kind of hard on the eyes

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2012


16409 Comments


Go to your profile and click on "edit my reviews/albums." From there you should be able to figure out how to correct the spacing.

As far as the review itself goes, it isn't bad for a third. The meat of the review basically just describes what the songs are about lyrically. That's fine, but I have always enjoyed reviews that are able to describe the music and lyrics simultaneously, and explain how the two interact to form a great album. Also, extracting central ideas, themes, etc. never hurts.

Keep it up though. The potential is there.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man. And I'm having some trouble reformatting I've got the indents in the text in the editor but once I publish the review they're not showing up.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2012


16409 Comments


Don't try to indent the first line of the paragraphs, it won't work.

Just hit enter so that there is a space between them.

Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh right, figured it out. Thanks.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2012


16409 Comments


A few more things:

uplifting brand of pop punk un their first full length release

Reach for the sun is a record about being lonely (capitalize Sun)

Also, using some code might make your review pop a little more. For example, [ i ] text [ / i ] italicizes (without the spaces between the brackets and the i, obviously...just did that so it would show up in this comment). This link might help:

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=533862



Sirob
February 11th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Done and done. thanks again

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2012


10273 Comments


I enjoyed this review. It was just as concise as it needed to be, and feels very natural, which is a refreshing change from many other reviews on the site. Have a pos, friend!

Sirob
February 12th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you kind sir!

NorwichScene
February 12th 2012


1455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my favourite albums

Sirob
October 15th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks foxxxy it means a lot to me

Sirob
October 15th 2012


2653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah dude this album really hit a soft spot with me. I honestly dont know why I cant 5 this somethings stopping me

joshieboy12345
August 14th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This Is War is so perfect.

SHAKEandBAKE
January 12th 2014


1310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still come back to this all the time. The feels man.

joshieboy12345
January 12th 2014


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah sooo many feels.

Cygnatti
January 12th 2014


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

northern lights is downright beautiful



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy