Desecravity
Implicit Obedience


2.5
average

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
February 7th, 2012 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brutal Death Metal Wank Fest with occasional standout moments

Japanese Brutal Death band formed in 2007 release their debut LP entitled Implicit Obedience. The feel of the album is pure intensity as every riff from the guitar and drums are pushed to their ultimate maximum. All of the musicians can obviously play very well technicality. However, with most brutal death bands the "wank" factor is quite high. When you creative fast catchy riffs that don’t blend well together or creative a definitive purpose interest is usually lost.

This is not to say that there aren't any standout moments. The use of blazing fast tremolos and drum riffs can sometimes heighten your musical experience. If you are in the mood to hear death metal such as Entombed and Incantation played 10 times faster then maybe this for you. There are even times on each track that do slow down long enough to find something enjoyable, which can add a bit of balance to the overall record. It can be easy for an individual to hear this and say "this album is awesome", especially when hearing the solo at the end of track 6 Condemnation; however, these highlights aren’t enough to leave the listener satisfied.

The album is overall very short which is a good thing because how much brutality can one individual really take. Fortunately these artist' realize that and create a humble length.

Albums such as these are only good for show amongst the current unveiling of extreme metal acts in our day and age, but they will pass as quickly as they came as individuals realize that good music is in the emotional songwriting aspect rather "wanking".



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ValeriusTheImmortal
February 7th 2012


1237 Comments


this is terrible...avoid...pos anyway bro

bloc
February 7th 2012


35436 Comments


Heard a bit of this a few days ago, sounded okay but nothing more.

Inveigh
February 7th 2012


25529 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

listened to this last week, I was less than impressed. not terrible really, just boring.

Digging: Elder (USA-MA) - Lore

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 7th 2012


1237 Comments


i dont mean to sound like rasputin, but this crap gave me a headache in about 30 seconds

scissorlocked
February 7th 2012


3517 Comments


brutal cover

TheSpirit
February 7th 2012


18531 Comments


Your reviews are getting better! The only thing I would suggest is changing up your intro sentence, it's pretty much always the same. I think it would be really beneficial for your reviews if you started opening them with stuff that's a bit more thought-provoking. Still good review and I'll avoid listening to this for sure.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

Anthracks
February 7th 2012


4033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Going to listen to this tonight and give the official brutal death opinion on it.

Eclecticist
February 7th 2012


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good death metal with an emphasis on technicallity. However, this is definitely not Beyond Creation good, but it is still great workout music.

seedofnothing
February 7th 2012


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"this is definitely not Beyond Creation good"



Lol



Album sucks, good accurate review.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012


4033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production isn't the best, but the actual music/riffs here are great. Album is no more technical than other BDM bands in most parts; doesn't classify as "wanky."

Anthracks
February 7th 2012


4033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's still a 3.5 within the realm of Brutal Death. Nothing extraordinary, but definitely well above average. Drum production is severely lacking, and the songwriting seems a little confused, but those are the only major flaws. Almost all brutal death is short and very technical, so like I said it doesn't really stand out as being garish.

couch
February 7th 2012


311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't really know the hate around with esp. w/brutal death on Sputnik... This album is definitely excellent. Yes, I can agree that brutal death can be quite stagnant- it's hard to come up with great stuff, ya know?! This album just definitely stands out for me because the sound is quite different than most brutal death...



The Collapse of Religion is my favorite track on this album as a reference.



Don't really understand how the album is "terrible" or anything- and I don't really see it as a wank-fest personally. It's an excellent debut... and we (fans of brutal death) never really see bands coming out of japan who are quite good! I mean, of course there are those slamming brutal death bands... but still.





Anthracks
February 7th 2012


4033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Remember anything about them? Album art? I've listened to pretty much everything in the genre so if anyone could help you out around here it's likely me.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012


4033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I suppose album art is a hard way to go about it since a lot of BDM album art is very similar. Any of the albums on this list have art that looks reminiscent?



http://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=260055&listid=35162



Those are most of the greatest BDM albums released from 2000-2009. If it was released before 2000 then it'll be harder. Luckily there weren't too many BDM albums released before 2000, comparatively speaking. The only covers that somewhat fit your description right off the top of my head are Suffocation's Effigy of the Forgotten and Deeds of Flesh's Inbreeding the Anthropophagi (or perhaps Path of the Weakening). Hard to think of album art from pre-2000 bands.

mindleviticus
July 3rd 2012


8524 Comments


gets boring about half way, but it's really enjoyable, love the technicality



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy