Desecravity
Implicit Obedience


2.5
average

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
February 7th, 2012 | 24 replies | 4,213 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brutal Death Metal Wank Fest with occasional standout moments

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Japanese Brutal Death band formed in 2007 release their debut LP entitled Implicit Obedience. The feel of the album is pure intensity as every riff from the guitar and drums are pushed to their ultimate maximum. All of the musicians can obviously play very well technicality. However, with most brutal death bands the "wank" factor is quite high. When you creative fast catchy riffs that don’t blend well together or creative a definitive purpose interest is usually lost.

This is not to say that there aren't any standout moments. The use of blazing fast tremolos and drum riffs can sometimes heighten your musical experience. If you are in the mood to hear death metal such as Entombed and Incantation played 10 times faster then maybe this for you. There are even times on each track that do slow down long enough to find something enjoyable, which can add a bit of balance to the overall record. It can be easy for an individual to hear this and say "this album is awesome", especially when hearing the solo at the end of track 6 Condemnation; however, these highlights aren’t enough to leave the listener satisfied.

The album is overall very short which is a good thing because how much brutality can one individual really take. Fortunately these artist' realize that and create a humble length.

Albums such as these are only good for show amongst the current unveiling of extreme metal acts in our day and age, but they will pass as quickly as they came as individuals realize that good music is in the emotional songwriting aspect rather "wanking".



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For brutal death metal this is a good album but for good death metal, meaning good sonwriting and innovation this is average. I almost gave this a 2.5 but felt there were enough decent things to enjoy here.

Brutal Death is dying a genre with justifiable cause.

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 7th 2012



1237 Comments


this is terrible...avoid...pos anyway bro

bloc
February 7th 2012



34679 Comments


Heard a bit of this a few days ago, sounded okay but nothing more.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Inveigh
February 7th 2012



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

listened to this last week, I was less than impressed. not terrible really, just boring.

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 7th 2012



1237 Comments


i dont mean to sound like rasputin, but this crap gave me a headache in about 30 seconds

scissorlocked
February 7th 2012



3508 Comments


brutal cover

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

fuck it i'm dropping my rating to 2.5. this is a sad excuse for metal

CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Valerius thanks bro

"i cant find these guys on mp3million, now im pissed"

Just check youtube for a listen, if you want it then mediafire it, should still be up

@bloc - agreed

not terrible really, just boring[2]

"but this crap gave me a headache in about 30 seconds"

lol

"brutal cover"

nah it's gay

TheSpirit
February 7th 2012



17184 Comments


Your reviews are getting better! The only thing I would suggest is changing up your intro sentence, it's pretty much always the same. I think it would be really beneficial for your reviews if you started opening them with stuff that's a bit more thought-provoking. Still good review and I'll avoid listening to this for sure.

Digging: vhmnt / blsphm - vhmnt / blsphm

CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I understand what you mean Spirit. I'm just so str8 foward I like to give it how it is. I figured there's so many reviews that pop up and I figured it would be more welcoming if I got to the point. But I get what you're saying, so I'll try to mix it up a bit and be more inventive. Thanks for your consideration brother.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012



3670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Going to listen to this tonight and give the official brutal death opinion on it.

Eclecticist
February 7th 2012



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good death metal with an emphasis on technicallity. However, this is definitely not Beyond Creation good, but it is still great workout music.

seedofnothing
February 7th 2012



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"this is definitely not Beyond Creation good"

Lol

Album sucks, good accurate review.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012



3670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production isn't the best, but the actual music/riffs here are great. Album is no more technical than other BDM bands in most parts; doesn't classify as "wanky."

CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah riffs are great as I brought out in my review.

When I say "wanky" I'm referring to the showy display and lack of depth.

Amongst BDM this is solid and if all music was BDM this would be a 4.5 but in the rating of Metal in general and what it's capable of, this is nothing more than average, hence the rating.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012



3670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's still a 3.5 within the realm of Brutal Death. Nothing extraordinary, but definitely well above average. Drum production is severely lacking, and the songwriting seems a little confused, but those are the only major flaws. Almost all brutal death is short and very technical, so like I said it doesn't really stand out as being garish.

couch
February 7th 2012



311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't really know the hate around with esp. w/brutal death on Sputnik... This album is definitely excellent. Yes, I can agree that brutal death can be quite stagnant- it's hard to come up with great stuff, ya know?! This album just definitely stands out for me because the sound is quite different than most brutal death...

The Collapse of Religion is my favorite track on this album as a reference.

Don't really understand how the album is "terrible" or anything- and I don't really see it as a wank-fest personally. It's an excellent debut... and we (fans of brutal death) never really see bands coming out of japan who are quite good! I mean, of course there are those slamming brutal death bands... but still.



CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think its been acknowledged that this band is technically proficient. This album has it's standout moments and is good for a BDM album but BDM is capable of being so much more. I've seen it.

There was this one band that I found that I can't re-find for the life me that was just amazing. If I find them I'll definitely write a positive review for them as they deserve.

Anthracks
February 7th 2012



3670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Remember anything about them? Album art? I've listened to pretty much everything in the genre so if anyone could help you out around here it's likely me.

CaptainDooRight
February 7th 2012



28353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can vaguely remember the album art having some silver colors in it, maybe some blue and green too. It wasn't cheesy cover. It reminded me of the cover Entombed Left Hand Path

The music was superb. The transition of riffs is what really made it. You could tell every riff was fresh and different from anything in the genre.

That's pretty much I can remember. I was searching similar videos on youtube and came across it. I may even have it written down somewhere. Haha I frantically searching for it as we speak.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy