Frozen Shadows
Dans les Bras des Immortels


5.0
classic

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
February 6th, 2012 | 70 replies | 3,088 views


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of Best Black Metal Releases in the history of man. For Fans of Burzum and Emperor.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

4 Piece Black Metal band formed in 1995 from Canada is still active today. They are most comparable to early Emperor and Immortal. All of the elements are here i.e lengthy songs that allow for the emotion to flourish, tremolos, fuzzy atmosphere, dissonant vocals, blast beats drums, occasional keyboard work but not overdone.

Frozen Shadows' first LP released in 1998 is a compliment to everything noteworthy in well executed Black Metal. The building disparity with a full on clash of BM elements create a true presence which can only be duplicated utilizing such elements are full sounds keyboards transitioning to fuzz with screamed vocals and guitar trem's such as the ones found at the beginning of track 1, the self titled track. The varying drum patterns flow nicely into one another. Most Black Metal has a repeating drum blast that never seems to end. This is not a bad thing but when you expect what is going to happen next there is no mental connection. The drums on this album go from blast beats, to double bass, to alternate kick patterns very smoothly without the so called expected fair. Well placed drum fills at to the intensity held on a records found in track 2 Forsaken Whispers.

The drawing in of solitude into such morbid atmospheres is conductive to releasing inner thoughts and emotions buried deep in the cerebrum. The fury established does not spark an increase in blood pressure like most frantic metal acts, rather, the intense section found at Of Pain and Insufferable Torment greatly drawn you in as you're lost amongst the chaotic fury. This album will take you to places you haven’t been before and spit you out, leaving you feeling naked and exposed. Such an awaking is a positive required to further human progression as you need to get out of your stupid world and feel what its like to breathe, to bleed, to die.

The backing synths are ever so subtle, so this is not a symphonic bm band, I wanna get that outta your head. This is str8 up bm, meaning its not washed down with cheesy sythns. The synths are not eternal, they come and go only for the purpose of adding heightened sense to the already established emotion.

The album is not all flair and intense emotion. There are subtle moments that give an even listen to this masterpiece of a record. Track 6 Lunes Funebres is very calming and relaxing for the first couple of minutes, but then the fury comes back in, in a very mature and straight forward way. This same track even has a clean guitar section that goes on for about 2 minutes and is completely meant to be.

Frozen Shadows show they have all the elements to create amazing music that will grace anyone’s soul.

True metal for Black fans who like their music straight up with no lagging BS. For the lovers of rawness and true emotion.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

TRVE





Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

DinoX
February 6th 2012



3582 Comments


Quebec seemingly has a lot of darker metal bands which is really oddly inconsistent. Going to check this out.

Tyrannic
February 6th 2012



3261 Comments


"4 Piece Black Metal band formed in 1995 from Canada is still active today."

if this sentence is taken literally, it should mean that Four Piece Black Metal Band is the band in question. add 'frozen shadows are a (blahblah) that formed (blahblah) and are still active today' or something like that

otherwise, it looks good. nice work

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah its really Dino, def check it out, I promise you won't be dissapionted.

Also check out my other review for Horn - Jahreszeiten

Its not as descriptive as this review but the album is really good. It's not as agressive as this album but they would definitely compliment each other

thanks tyr

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



16299 Comments


Heard this a long time ago (probably like 2006 or 2007) and I don't remember it being that fantastic.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd recommending you listening to it again Crysis. Sometimes opinions change as I know mine do from time to time.

This is personally one of my favorite albums.

It be nice to get more feedback on the actual album in this thread.

Listen to it guys, that's the only way to know for yourselves.

This is coming from a guy who's been listening to Black Metal for over 15 years and who is constantly looking for the best in the genre.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



16299 Comments


I'll give it another listen tonight and see what I think.

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Let me know what you think. :]

fulgrim
February 6th 2012



1542 Comments


Hmm, never heard of these guys, will check out.

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 6th 2012



1237 Comments


will listen...pos

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@fulgrim - according to your bm ratings I feel this would fit nicely amongst them

@ Valerius - thanks man, you obviously listen to mostly dm or a blend of bm with your dm. I think this would be a great compliment to the degree of music you prefer. Although it doesn't pound as hard, you'll notice there many heavy moments, but the heavy moments play off more subtle atmosphere, but it's still wicked. I think you'd like it. let me know what you think.

I've got plenty more bm reviews coming up as well.

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 6th 2012



1237 Comments


the keyboards are done tastefully in this, thankfully. vocals are ok. however, the guitars are fatally distorted a bit too much too me. the riffs aren't standing out enough, it's sounding too much like white noise.

all in all, not a bad listen, but not great either. 3/5 maybe 3.5/5, there were some great moments in it but fuzzy guitars I can't dig, riffs are the meat on my plate

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"the guitars are fatally distorted a bit too much too me. the riffs aren't standing out enough, it's sounding too much like white noise"

This is part of the recipe used by many BM acts. Its purpose is to create an atmosphere. This music is meant to be played loud. When done, the riffs are clearly heard. The dissonant approach allows for all elements to blend nicely into one sound, without a loudness war, as Valerius would mention, over other contriving sounds.

The approach of BM over DM or the blending of both is greatly different. More suitably an aquired taste; usually a mood must be obtained for this type of music. I personally am always in the mood for BM, whether its straight up or the fusion into other genres; usually no less than DM. I am actually not suprised to hear your opinion being what it is. I listen to a healthy blend of both and when I want straight BM this is usually the sound/style I go for. However, a 3.5/5 rating at best is a very positive response coming from an almost purely DM'er. Thanks for your feedback. I'll be focusing on more BM albums to review as well as a few DM's. But you clearly recommended some solid DM's. So we'll work like a tag team coverage both sides; not to mention other great reviewers on this site I've notices i.e. Kill, Hyp, ShadowRem.., Crysis, that's all I can think of for now. But we need more BM and DM contributors doing more work on this site like the good ole days. Cheers.

scissorlocked
February 6th 2012



3509 Comments


never heard of 'em

will check when in black metal mood

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

Hawks
February 6th 2012



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds like it should be right up my alley. Gonna try and download it now.

Digging: Brutal Truth - Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses

Spec
February 6th 2012



27102 Comments


The album art alone makes me want to get this.

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@ scissor - I don't see you've ranked any BM so I'm not sure if you listen to any but I would definately saw this can be appreciated by non familiar bm fans as well due to the sheer beauty and execution it beholds

@ Hawks - Oh yeah this is definately up your alley for sure. Let me know if you can't find it, I'd be happy to help

@ Spec - That's how music should be. Sometimes album arts don't always reflect the music it beholds, but in this case it is pefect, the only thing I would change about it is throwing some creepy guy in the middle of the snow with a shaddy hood. Also making it black and white wouldn't hurt either as I can see true fans being detered by the colors.

Hawks
February 6th 2012



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Hawks - Oh yeah this is definately up your alley for sure. Let me know if you can't find it, I'd be happy to help

I found it. Gonna listen to it when I'm done listening to the new Les Discrets again.

CaptainDooRight
February 6th 2012



28685 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I was listening to Airettes Oubliaces last night. It was pretty decent actually. I'm not really into the post bm thing but I can bear it from time to time.

Hawks
February 6th 2012



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is good stuff so far. Probably gonna end up being a 3.5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy