Converge
Jane Doe


2.5
average

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
February 5th, 2012 | 172 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This definitely isn't the worst album I've ever heard but it's really only okay; not as good as everyone makes it out to be.

Before I start this review, I have to be completely honest with you guys: I don't like metalcore. It gets on my nerves with it's loud repetitive breakdowns annoyingly tuneless screaming vocals, and showoff wildly drumming. So imagine my surprise when I listen to this record an...hey actually enjoy it a little bit. Having that said I really don't think that its all cracked up to be, and it certainly has a number of flaws which I will now go over. The first flaw is the concept. The concept is too simple, its just a breakup album, that's been done so many times before its not even funny. Jacob Bannon is a pretty good writer but this concept fails him just a little bit.

Secondly and this is where the big flaws come in is Jacob Bannon's vocals. They're awful! Awful, awful, awful. The whole album he sounds like a frightened donkey screaming for cover. Which is a shame because his lyrics are really good. But you have to follow along and read them because they're is no way in hell you'll understand them just by listening along. They're not even remotely comprehendible, and for me that drags the album down a lot because its supremely distracting. Now he does occasionally use cleaner vocals and that is a very good thing. Too bad they aren't that solid either, his regular voice has a bad range and is even less tuneful than his screaming.

There are a couple highlights though. Hell to Pay and Homewrecker are both ok because they're pretty slow and soft in comparison to the rest of the album and the self titled song Jane Doe is the closer. It's a pretty good closer even though it runs waaay too long, they could have just cut it in have and it would have been very good instead of pretty good. Overall if you took out all the pointless and irritating wailing then this would be a great album. But with all the lyric looking up and headaches I had to endure, it stands as it's only ok.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (3459)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
February 5th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this one was kind of middle of the road for me so it was kind of hard to write

KILL
February 5th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yay

ILJ
February 5th 2012


6670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"I don't like metalcore"

So why the hell are you listening to, and reviewing a metalcore album?

Your opinion was just rendered invalid by that statement.

jefflebowski
February 5th 2012


8243 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you're going to get murdered for this. i pretty much agree with you though

Digging: Shellac - Dude Incredible

Lakes.
February 5th 2012


27790 Comments


neg.

also, unless you're going to capitalize 'OK,' you need to write it as 'okay.'

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

ILJ
February 5th 2012


6670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

All you talked about was how Bannon's vocals are awful. You didn't even mention the music. What an awful review, as usual.

crandynewman
February 5th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

""I don't like metalcore"

So why the hell are you listening to, and reviewing a metalcore album?

Your opinion was just rendered invalid by that statement."

well i think the fact that i listen to it with an open mind helped my review and not hurt it


"you're going to get murdered for this. i pretty much agree with you though"

haha probably so, but thanks jeff!

crandynewman
February 5th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"neg.

also, unless you're going to capitalize 'OK,' you need to write it as 'okay.'"

is that the only reason you negged it? seems like a silly reason.


"All you talked about was how Bannon's vocals are awful. You didn't even mention the music. What an awful review, as usual."

thats not all i talked about


MMX
February 5th 2012


4818 Comments


Was more of a rant than a review


KILL
February 5th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

neggers are fags

jefflebowski
February 5th 2012


8243 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so are most of the positive reviews, but of course this is sputnik so it's ok to write a crap review as long as it's 4+ and a highly rated album

Lakes.
February 5th 2012


27790 Comments


is that the only reason you negged it? seems like a silly reason.


Not the only reason. There are tons of issues here. For one, there's a lot of places where you need commas and you don't have them. And, there's just the fact that in general your style of writing isn't very good. And that's just disregarding your opinion on the album.


ILJ
February 5th 2012


6670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"well i think the fact that i listen to it with an open mind helped my review and not hurt it"

But, it's a genre you don't like. If you're listening to an album in a genre you don't like, chances are that you won't like it, so again you're not going to be very objective about it.

jefflebowski
February 5th 2012


8243 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'If you're listening to an album in a genre you don't like, chances are that you won't like it, so again you're not going to be very objective about it'

isn't that the same if you really like said genre?


Titan50
February 5th 2012


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking hell, he actually went and did it. I'd give you props if you weren't a retard and/or a really bad troll

crandynewman
February 5th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Not the only reason. There are tons of issues here. For one, there's a lot of places where you need commas and you don't have them. And, there's just the fact that in general your style of writing isn't very good. And that's just disregarding your opinion on the album."

okay ill work on comma placement but what do you mean about bad writing style??

"But, it's a genre you don't like. If you're listening to an album in a genre you don't like, chances are that you won't like it, so again you're not going to be very objective about it."

but i liked this ok so your arguement doesn't make sense

ILJ
February 5th 2012


6670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

isn't that the same if you really like said genre?


To an extent, but if you enjoy a genre, you can at least pick out good albums and bad albums. I like metalcore, but I know that there are some really shitty metalcore bands/albums.

But for example, I hate country music. I'm more than likely going to think that every country album sucks than I would think that every metalcore album is good.


crandynewman
February 5th 2012


799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Fucking hell, he actually went and did it. I'd give you props if you weren't a retard and/or a really bad troll"

what do you mean, titan?

Panzerchrist
February 5th 2012


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This...just isn't well written. You use your bias for the genre as various cons for the review, instead of pointing out real flaws. Probably needs a serious rewrite.

jefflebowski
February 5th 2012


8243 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

'To an extent, but if you enjoy a genre, you can at least pick out good albums and bad albums. I like
metalcore, but I know that there are some really shitty metalcore bands/albums.

But for example, I hate country music. I'm more than likely going to think that every country album
sucks than I would think that every metalcore album is good.'

fair enough





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy