Napalm Death
Scum


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ryan W. USER (25 Reviews)
January 31st, 2012 | 18 replies | 2,324 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crazy and emotionally scaring release.

1 of 8 thought this review was well written

Grindcore is definitively a genre not for the weaker minds, but Scum will give you that taste for Grindcore, and make you feel like you're on the top of the world.

The songs are really,really fast and good. Not only do they pack one of hell of a punch with each listen, but they have much angry, fast emotion to carry out.

The drumming is absolutely intense. They are blast beats done in a correct manner, and they distinguish themselves from the guitars and basses. The production however is a little fuzzled, but that doesn't take away anything honestly.

Another huge upside (well maybe a downside for some) is the songs are very short. They are what you would call "straight to the point", and they don't drag on like Drone or Ambient does.

In return, this album is not for kids who can't digest it. You either want to listen to the sheer brutality and get consumed in by the extreme natures of the basses and drums, or you just don't listen. It's honestly just that simple



Recent reviews by this author
Napalm Death From Enslavement to ObliterationBloodhound Gang Hooray For Boobies
Current 93 All the Pretty Little HorsesMudvayne Mudvayne
Venetian Snares Doll Doll DollCurrent 93 HoneySuckle Æons
user ratings (550)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (2)
While Scum's worth to the music industry is clear, its worth as an album isn't much....

Will Forest (4.5)
Having a good hook for your album doesn’t seem to be necessary anymore, instead, just put together...

Will C. (2.5)
...

SubtleDagger (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
seedofnothing
January 30th 2012



3425 Comments


Alrighty then.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



15556 Comments


I was going to correct the mistake in the summary, but then I read the rest of the review and decided not to bother

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

iamthenightmare
January 30th 2012



754 Comments


If the length of this review was intentionally shortened to have a sort of symmetry with the subject material I would probably pos this. But it feels like you just slapped 8-10 vague sentences together describing the very basics of grindcore, not even this album in particular, and called it a day

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



31050 Comments


Okay, if you're looking for an excuse to stop reviewing I might have found one

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

Auschwitz
January 30th 2012



1285 Comments


Utilitarian, Feb. 27 m/

Tyrannic
January 31st 2012



3261 Comments


i hope you go to prison and get fuzzled in the shower.

KILL
January 31st 2012



71134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review

Digging: David Axelrod - Song of Innocence

XulOnerom
January 31st 2012



1818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

great album

Tyrael
January 31st 2012



20797 Comments


yea

KILL
January 31st 2012



71134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review

AllGabrielsAreGlass
January 31st 2012



431 Comments


Im writing my first review, and I found the newbies guide to reviewing right here.

KILL
January 31st 2012



71134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

weird how this has 4 reviews yet their best album only has one and a few weeks ago it had none is this site gays??????????????????

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 31st 2012



1237 Comments


both are good but enslavement is my pic for best. heavy grind. consistent

XulOnerom
January 31st 2012



1818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

remember years ago when this one user had a thing for making polls and one of them was "who's better, Napalm Death or Pig Destroyer???" and PD ended up winning???

fuck this gay earth

KILL
January 31st 2012



71134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thats sputnik for you

SteelErectedb4you8er
January 31st 2012



2616 Comments


Their last few albums have been badass as well.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2012



18228 Comments


yeah the demos r the best

Digging: Syndrone - Salmataxia

MadMikeLove
February 1st 2012



651 Comments


I should learn from this guy.

He really knows what the fuck he's talking about.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy