Mar De Grises
Streams Inwards


4.5
superb

Review

by Apollo USER (25 Reviews)
January 24th, 2012 | 20 replies | 2,246 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Doomy metal that is so much more than just doom

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Sometimes a band creates something so sorrowful, despairing and ass-kickingly metal that you are blown away by the grandeur and atmosphere that also accompanies that work of art. Streams Inwards is such an album. A band whose English name roughly translates to Sea Of Greys does an excellent job of conveying pure melancholy emotion in every song.

Full of off kilter time signatures, earth shattering lows, very impressive highs and well produced guitars and keyboards, Chilean doom metal band Mar De Grises have managed to create one of the best metal albums to have come out in 2010. Highly creative, Mar De Grises really keep the energy up throughout the album. While some doom can tend to drag, being overly simplistic and focusing on the atmosphere more than the instrumentation, Streams Inwards is quite the opposite. The album is full of intricate riffs, crushing double bass and a great mixture of harsh and clean vocals. The keyboards really add a creepy vibe to the record, and yet they are used sparingly. The majority of the album focuses on the extremely depressed and sorrowful emotions conveyed.

Standout tracks such as Starmaker, The Bell And The Solar Gust, and Knotted Delirium show pure brilliance, marrying subtle piano and keyboard bits with astounding harsh and clean vocal sections. The result is truly satisfying. Rarely has an entire album captivated me so much. While the doom has really been downplayed on Streams Inwards compared to previous works The Tatterdemalion Express and Draining The Waterheart anyone who enjoys listening to metal will find something to enjoy. Many of the songs delve into progressive territory, with song lengths averaging around 6 minutes a piece, this album is 56 minutes of pure enjoyment.

As mentioned before, the electronice and piano pieces scattered throughout the album add an extra element of beauty to the sorrow present in every song. Probably the most doomy song on the album is A Sea Of Dead Comets, slow and plodding along at an unrelenting pace of shrieked vocals and simple drumming patterns. Aphelion Aura features some soothing almost jazzy female vocals and electronic fuzz to slowly drown the listener in the audio waves of depression that this band is so good at presenting.

It is an exciting time for fans of this band to see what they will put out next. The progression from a doom band, to an overall well rounded metal band has begun on Streams Inwards and will most likely continue in future records.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer LowlifeO'Brother Garden Window
Disfear Misanthropic GenerationBleeding Through The Great Fire
Rosetta A Determinism of MoralityKaskade Strobelite Seduction
user ratings (77)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Trey Spencer STAFF (4)
Why do most of the talented doom bands ditch the genre? Mar De Grises haven't left yet, but they're ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

w00t 21st review and first one in a very long time

how's sputnik tonight?

Willie
Moderator
January 24th 2012



15960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album. It needs more attention. Good review, too. Welcome back.

Digging: Necropoli - I

rasputin
January 24th 2012



14541 Comments


wow people are still talking about this band

also sup bro it's 1pm here im drinking a berry smoothie

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Trey, I've been dooming pretty hard lately and this has been in near constant rotation this winter.

Hey Rasp, I am drinking a glass of water. It's 12:30am here and insomnia has kicked in. Best time to sputnik.

rasputin
January 24th 2012



14541 Comments


yah I do most of my sputniking between 12 and 4am. most of my anything that involves sitting in my room with headphones actually.

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best time to be dooming m/

Not that this is really doom, but I find I like somewhat doomy bands more than actual straight doom bands.



Ignimbrite
January 24th 2012



5331 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maybe I should also start writing again... Good review, though I still don't know what to think about the album.

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks dude

what do you mean though? do you like any of the bands earlier stuff?

Willie
Moderator
January 24th 2012



15960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey. I just got off of work, so I'm just enjoying the silence (I do most of my music listening at work). Did you ever check out Longing For Dawn? They're probably one of my favorite doom bands. You might also try Human Antithesis by Void of Silence. It's awesome doom/post metal featuring the vocalist from Primordial.

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No I have not, I am checking them out right now (Longing For Dawn that is)

Gotta say I am seriously loving what I am hearing

Willie
Moderator
January 24th 2012



15960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All three of their albums are awesome.

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am downloading the discog right now, thanks for the rec!

Is it pure funeral doom? Or does the pace ever pick up?

Willie
Moderator
January 24th 2012



15960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's pure funeral doom with a dark ambient undercurrent. The pace is always deadening.

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool I will listen and rate tonight

Willie
Moderator
January 24th 2012



15960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome. There might be one or two missing reviews ;)

Eclecticist
January 24th 2012



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is actually one of my favourite albums of all time and the only album that I have by this band...

sup? good review, it was an interesting early morning read

Apollo
January 24th 2012



10302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks mang

Yeah this is very close to a 5 for me as well

Eclecticist
January 24th 2012



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea I could tell while reading your review. I don't think you praised the album enough... haha....

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2012



16372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey cool posted about 2 days ago that this needs more love and wham


Really good record

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Hawks
January 24th 2012



35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoa an Apollo review, and a good one. Great album too.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy