Lamb of God
Resolution


2.0
poor

Review

by Prudence McIrelandson tha 4nd USER (8 Reviews)
January 23rd, 2012 | 19 replies | 3,654 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: B-Sides in disguise.

8 of 10 thought this review was well written

Lamb of God's newest effort is a crafty release due to the fact it seems to offer a lot more than it possesses. Upon first listen, many of the songs seem to have a new depth and they put forward new ideas. However the problem lies in a simple fact: the new ideas succumb to old habits. The album simply sounds like a collection of B-sides with some frilly adages to make them seem fresh, and a few 'token' songs here and there added to the mix. After several listens it becomes apparent that Resolution is another slow and painful step to the 'death' that is Lamb Of God.

Resolution suffers a huge unendurable problem, being that almost all the songs are complete rehashes of old material. Most notably Ghost Walking, Desolation and Guilty, which form a three song block of boredom. This block of songs is perhaps the weakest on the album. It almost seems as if they took riffs from Sacrament and Ashes Of The Wake, scrambled up the notes, then forced them into the same Pantara based song structures they have been using for years. This goes for many other songs on the album as well. The real question is how can LoG be so unaware of this? If you have ever seen any interviews with the band the answer becomes apparent. The band themselves write everything based on riffs alone, and almost all the songs are written by the same person. The riffs on Resolution use the same basic scale and notes as on the other albums, only changed slightly. Of course this is a reoccurring problem in LoG's career, but by now we would have hoped for a little self awareness.

Resolution is slightly more melodic than the other albums, including more chords, which is perhaps it's greatest attribute. The Undertow contains several catchy and memorable chord passages. The Number Six does too, as while as having melodic vocals and some nifty bass work. Despite the boring riffs, Insurrection contains actual clean singing which is a first for LoG. The albums highest point is King Me which uses choral vocals and a radically different song structure. There are several successful songs on this album, but they are dwarfed by the complete lack of self awareness or regard for creativity. What Resolution offers is the same bass drops, the same breakdowns, and the same pseudo artsy interludes that you would hear on any other Lamb Of God album. Even the more interesting songs LoG wrote for Resolution use the same chugging riffs we've heard too many times.

Needless to say, for it's length, Resolution has very little redeeming value. The album is quite easily not worth the listen unless you are a diehard fan. In fact, that's likely the problem. This album is perfect for people who want to relive the old Lamb Of God in a new light, but for anybody looking for something memorable or noteworthy, there is no reason to even consider listening to it. It is by far their least interesting release to date.

+Pros: King Me is a great song. Undertow and The Number Six are interesting. The production is grittier and sludgier than previous albums.

-Cons: Most of the other songs run together, and each one is a carbon copy of previous material. The first 5 songs are down right horrible and start off the album on a bad foot.



Recent reviews by this author
Titan (CAN) BurnHexvessel No Holier Temple
Falls of Rauros The Light That Dwells in Rotten WoodGodstopper What Matters
Hell (USA) IIIVelnias RuneEater
user ratings (677)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mewcopa0
January 23rd 2012



1793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

first review in ages

MO
January 23rd 2012



17382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nice review. I agree with the 3 song block of boredom but Desolation isn't too bad. I find the second half of the album alot stronger than the first. Visitation has become my fav from this.

pos

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

PastorOfMupp3ts
January 23rd 2012



70 Comments


noooo

Mewcopa0
January 23rd 2012



1793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I agree, the second half is a lot more interesting.


Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2012



7012 Comments


Solid review; pro tip: use [i ] word [/i ] but without the spaces for italics, and ditch the Pros and Cons section at the bottom - you don't need it, mainly as those are points folks should be able to discern from reading your review proper.

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy

NeutralThunder12
January 23rd 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

heard half the album, incredibly underwhelming, just like all their other work

Tyrael
January 23rd 2012



20440 Comments


I agree

pos'd

Horsehammer
January 23rd 2012



550 Comments


i completely agree, never was a LoG fan. good review. pos'd

Muse1748
January 23rd 2012



160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well written; I definitely liked the album more, but 'twas a great review. Have a pos

Pentagon
January 23rd 2012



1998 Comments


yeah first half of album is definitely worse than the second.

BaseballJames
January 23rd 2012



368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I may not necessarily agree with you about the record, but your review is well written. Pos'd.

bloc
January 23rd 2012



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This I can agree with. Sounds like a collection of Wrath B-sides.

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

TheBjornIdentity
January 23rd 2012



71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Should an album be given a score based on comparison to previous albums? Or should it be given a score based on its individual musical merit? I think the difference between the scores of the two reviews posted is that reviewers have different notions on how to rate sequential albums by a band.

BassDemon333
January 23rd 2012



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I disagree with the first five songs being boring, Straight For The Sun is awesome as is Guilty. Good review though.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Mewcopa0
January 23rd 2012



1793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"Should an album be given a score based on comparison to previous albums? Or should it be given a score based on its individual musical merit? I think the difference between the scores of the two reviews posted is that reviewers have different notions on how to rate sequential albums by a band."

Whether or not it is relative to the old albums isn't important. The album just isn't very good on it's own merit. Of course we have two different notions, all people think differently, even in an objective context.

ChuckyTruant
January 23rd 2012



15582 Comments


It almost seems as if they took riffs from Sacrament and Ashes Of The Wake, scrambled up the notes, then forced them into the same Pantara based song structures they have been using for years.
I think it's Pantera you're referencing.
I would nderline and stuff but on the iPad atm.
Good review though.


Digging: Architects - Lost Forever // Lost Together

Coast
January 24th 2012



213 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agreed, pos.

Mewcopa0
January 24th 2012



1793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"I think it's Pantera you're referencing."

I even noticed that when I was editing it, but I forgot to change it after lol.


thedougler
February 5th 2012



212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really miss Ashes of the Wake days of LOG



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy