Green Day
American Idiot


3.0
good

Review

by Isaxas USER (2 Reviews)
January 11th, 2012 | 32 replies | 2,235 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An apology for liking Green Day

0 of 4 thought this review was well written

I'm probably the last guy on my street who likes Green Day. I don't know why, maybe my brain is to small to comprehend hardcore punk, so I just listen to pop-punk. In the name of my credibility though (if I have any), I do not listen to Blink-182 or sum 41. So lets look at why I could possibly like Green Day, starting with their 2004 smash hit "American Idiot".

The album gets off on a great start with the title track, a hard-rock punk jam that never takes it foot off the pedal. After that, the story (where?) of the album kicks in with "Jesus of Suburbia", which is a nine-minute suite. Green Day's version of doing 5 minute plus songs is rather unique, which is to say that they string a bunch of different 2 minute punk songs together to tell the album's story. I should admit at this point that I have no idea what the story is.

After "Jesus.." comes two of the albums most well known songs "Holiday" and "Boulevard of Broken Dreams". "Holiday" is a funny, catchy satire on 21st century American politics. "Boulevard..." slows the album down a little bit and although I got bored with it pretty quickly (attention span of a peanut), it is a rather good song with acoustic guitar on top of electric guitar, with a steady rhythm section.

"Are We Waiting" is probably my least favorite song on the album. Its just...boring, you know? It lacks the energy of Green Day's earlier songs, and even Tre Cool can't save it. The album lets up tremendously with "St. Jimmy", which is another catchy pop-punk song. It is also a story-track so we are introduced to the character St. Jimmy.

I'm going to skip ahead a few track so that I can get to the last three (they're fine, just not noteworthy). "Wake Me Up..." is the last slow track on the album and like the other slow ones, I got bored. The problem with Green Day is that their technical prowess seems to unravel when they tackle slow songs and it leaves us with Billie Joe's songwriting. This would be okay, if the subject-matter wasn't so cheesy and melancholic.

"Homecoming" is the second suite on the album, and it isn't as good as the first one to say the least. Their is a bright spot on it and that is Cool's "Rock and Roll Girlfriend", which is delivered in a sarcastic drone that makes it hilarious. Also I'm a drummer, so seeing another drummer take the mic is always uplifting. The album then ends on a bright note with "Whatsername".

All in all, the album is pretty good. Sure it collapses under its own weight a couple of times, but that is to be expected from a concept album. Admittedly the whole melodic-punk shtick gets old, but Green Day managed to have one last hurrah before succumbing to the dark pit that is "21st Century Breakdown". Check the album out.


user ratings (3844)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeutralThunder12
January 10th 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i love when people give this a 1

Tyrannic
January 10th 2012



3261 Comments


"Now enough eulogizing, "

are you zoolander.

MMX
January 10th 2012



4794 Comments


"Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?"
Love Zoolander

Tyrannic
January 10th 2012



3261 Comments


"Let me explain something."

i should have stopped here, but these conversational bits are awful introductions.

first paragraph could use a few more commas, but whatever.

literally half of the review talks about other things, which i guess i get for green day, but if you're going to spend so much time introducing them i'd expect you to have more to say about the album.

"It tried to hard to be different from its predecessors when it ended up sounding more of the same."

too.

"Phew, glad the criticism is over, now I can point out the stuff I love"

what criticism? the only critical thing you had to say was the sentence i just corrected up there.

"The two nine minute suites I am particularly fond of, especially "Jesus of Suburbia"."

wut.

"So what I'm getting at, If I'm getting at anything, is that"

ugh come on.

"but at least the clunkers are filler like a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. "

so, are rhcp albums filler? cause i don't think you can consider an entire album filler. i know what you're trying to say but it doesn't come through.

"The thing that separated them from their pop-punk peers (Blink-182 and Sum 41) was that they had something to say and that something mattered. They were actually angry at the world and what it had come to."

dude, you need to read brave new world or something. this isn't important. this is childish nostalgia worship.

letsgofishing
January 10th 2012



900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No one cares about typical suburban childhood...

convert the first two paragraphs into three sentences or less, and focus on the album in specific detail and this review
increases its quality immensely.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2012



49955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Now look whose on the witness stand singin, a well known soprano
A smash hit from Sammy Gravano

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Yuma310
January 11th 2012



1656 Comments


this album sucks, sorrry

NeutralThunder12
January 11th 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thom

Yuma310
January 11th 2012



1656 Comments


got a prob with thom? lol

Crymsonblaze
January 11th 2012



7479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review needs lots and lots of work

NeutralThunder12
January 11th 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

like why the h fuck his parents

bungy
January 11th 2012



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Letterbomb is so great


People who hate this album have big heads or small dicks

letsgofishing
January 11th 2012



900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review summed up in 5 sentences:

I really like Green Day.
My friends don't like Green Day- Not Cool.
Green Days Punk Songs sound to much like Punk
Green Days Punk Songs are fun-I dance to Homecoming.
I really like Green Day.

WhiteNoise
January 11th 2012



3084 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My favourite album right fuckin here!


dammets
January 11th 2012



2035 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

holiday and the title track are good. The latter being almost too catchy for its own good. Wale me up is ok. Everything else is meh.

bungy
January 11th 2012



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everything else is better use your ears

Rastapunk
January 11th 2012



729 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good album, I enjoyed it a lot .

Your intro needs to be shorter, maybe only one paragraph, it shouldn't be more than 25% of the review .

Anyway good start, keep writing !

Owantjaaaa
January 11th 2012



3213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Letterbomb is the best track on the album imo

Digging: Adebisi Shank - This is the Third Album

Horsehammer
January 11th 2012



550 Comments


so...the album? perhaps?

porch
January 11th 2012



8453 Comments


another convincing defense of this album, good job



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy