The Weeknd
Echoes of Silence


5.0
classic

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
December 29th, 2011 | 638 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A completely brilliant beginning to what hopes to be a long and bright career

In a year following the overhyped, yet worthy My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, it is unfortunate that the hip-hop genre has done almost nothing to pick up where Kanye left off. We saw the emergence of a new production demigod in Clams Casino, yet the artists he pairs with leave much to be desired. Danny Brown continues to do his best Lil Wayne-in-Detroit impression, yet falters in the beats department (hint hint Clams Casino). No single rap record encompassed a complete package enough in 2011 to make a true musical statement for the future.

Enter Toronto's Abel Tesfaye, aka The Weeknd, the spiritual inheritor of Kanye's cross-genre torch. House of Balloons introduced the world to Tesfaye's beautiful R&B falsetto, while firmly entrenching his art as innovation through Downtempo-laden production. The title track has easily become an anthem for 2011 in its indiefied interpretation of the original post-punk classic "Happy House". Follow-up Thursday proved HoB wasn't just dumb luck and met his new found audience head-on with a less chilled out offering, more influenced by trip-hop than anything else and maintaining a high standard for production and atmosphere.

Finally, Tesfaye closes out a completely massive 2011 with Echoes of Silence - doing the nearly unheard of and releasing three genre classics within the span of a single calendar year. A sum of its parts per-se, Echoes is an amalgam of all previous mixtapes, yet emphasizing a more pronounced hip-hop vibe. "D.D." uncovers a rift in time and space with Captain Eo and Tesfaye planted firmly in the middle; there is no question MJ traversed the temporal planes to steal the concept for "Dirty Diana". No single track is worthy of the malevolent skip button for lack of quality; if anything it's to get to an even more excellent track. "XO/ The Host" flaunts one of the finest beats found this side of the year 3000, where the tempered atmosphere of "Same Old Song" and "The Fall" encourage a definitely butchered yet emotionally charged duet with your car speakers on your way home from whatever it was you were doing at five o'clock in the morning. While many grasp for thematic interpretation of the Balloon-trilogy, they are missing the real essence of The Weeknd; drug/sex references and hazy nightclub escapades only take a potential artist so far with poor songwriting and create-a-rapstar production. Let the complete composition wash through your neurons and take it for what it is: a completely brilliant beginning to what hopes to be a long and bright career.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (571)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Funeral (5)
Partying Is Such A Sweet Sorrow...

rmill3r (3.5)
Comparisons to other mixtapes aside, "Echoes" is Tesfaye's aggressive finale to a smooth R&B trilogy...

Matthew D. French (4.5)
Echoes of Silence might just be Tesfaye’s best mixtape yet....


Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


15080 Comments


jeez

AsoTamaki
December 29th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, snap. He went and broke out the 5.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 29th 2011


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

tl,dr

I can't wait until he releases all 3 mixtapes on vinyl

Gyromania
December 29th 2011


16088 Comments


Damn staffers replacing my features :P Just kidding - the review is really good, Sobhi, and I'm glad to see that you and I agree for the most part.

Gyromania
December 29th 2011


16088 Comments


One small thing:

A sum of it's parts per-se


its*

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 29th 2011


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gonna have to smack my editor

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you just lost your feature privileges pal

plane
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


6100 Comments


I think Drake met Kanye head on with Take Care, it just favors darker, moodier colors. I really came around to this, and it's definitely a large step up from Thursday. House of Balloons feels like a dumb-luck classic (in terms of its absolute beastly quality), even if the Weeknd overall are pretty superb across the three mixtapes.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 29th 2011


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you just lost your feature privileges pal


i think itS time for another review review

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 29th 2011


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'll listen to more take care. i liked it, but didn't really get floored like MBDTF

fuckthatnoise
December 29th 2011


1479 Comments


>Best New Music
>5.0 featured staff review
>#1 in popular albums list as i type this.

I approve, Sputnik. I approve.

Jash
December 29th 2011


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Fluorine
December 29th 2011


104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Here come the 5s. Flash 'em loud and proud.
But for serious, if there's a 'classic' of 2011, it's this...or The Balloon Trilogy in general.

captaincrunch11
December 30th 2011


1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BRING THA SEVEN ON SEVEN NAH

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2011


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TBH I think dirty diana was done better by the weeknd. Maybe it's my huge boner for this dude, but I really enjoy the way he holds his notes longer than MJ does, and the fact that 80s cheese guitar solos aren't all over the place. Plus his seems like a way more emotional outpouring vs MJ's which is more or just a pop song.

Not to say MJ's isn't classic, and I know it was probably much more fitting for the time, but this version seems like a rendition of a classic that has been revised to better fit today's style, while making some small improvements here and there.

paxman
December 30th 2011


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why do you talk about Kanye West in a Weeknd review?

AsoTamaki
December 30th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Because Kanye had the definitive hip hop release last year. And The Weeknd had the definitive R&B release this year. And hip hop and R&B are the same thing on sputnik.

D.D. isn't really that great. Abel sounds like he's singing it with no conviction. I get that for some of it, he's doing a more relaxed style, but there are times when he tries to get "passionate" and it doesn't work the same as MJ. Compare the "I'll be the freak you can taunt" part or the "she said he's not coming back because he's sleeping with me!" bit. It's so weak. No fire.

Montreal is the first track whenever I listen to this.

cvlts
December 30th 2011


8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't wait until he releases all 3 mixtapes on vinyl

lmtd to 500. just wait

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 30th 2011


7159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't really get how you can say the "because he's sleeping with me!" part is weak in the weeknd version. It's fucking huge.

Rev
December 30th 2011


9441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy