System of a Down
Toxicity


4.0
excellent

Review

by Will Forest USER (23 Reviews)
December 27th, 2011 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A degenerated society has finally been exposed by great Armenian artistry.

When the complete scene of the world is observed by people who actually care about where it all goes, opinions need to be made. It doesn’t particularly matter how you do it, it just needs to happen. System of a Down managed to shock the world with their self-titled debut, and after that, well...where were they to go next? Perhaps a new design for music would falter their image, or even stop the band in their tracks. An entirely new scene for the band, however it may hinder their performance, has overall been portrayed nicely in the Hollywood success equation known as "Toxicity". To say that the band has lost some of their cohesiveness since their outstanding debut wouldn’t call for any aspersions, because it is undoubtedly true. S.O.A.D. have without a debut NOT created a sequel to their amazing debut success, but they have crafted a sincere and divine work of art that portrays a similar, but slightly altered image.

In Toxicity, the governmental scenery is portrayed thoroughly through tales of unfairness, and complaints, and occasional backstabbing of a few select societies. Though the album isn’t all about bashing heads in various industries, it does strike some critical moments such as "Chop Suey" for its controversy as one of post-9/11 inappropriate titles. (Wiki) But aside from the occasional offences, (that don’t do much harm to the average metal listener) this album really exemplifies stylistic music, and great lyrics and some good exposure to skilled musicians.

The album starts off with "Prison Song", which is undoubtedly the best intro to n album S.O.A.D. has ever created. With this songs outstanding guitar riffs, backed by good drums, it packs a heavy style S.O.A.D. is generally known for, and is actually one of the only songs in the album that recycles the heavy riff style they used from their debut, which has now since been put to rest. The vocals do well in providing the upfront melody, and the same goes in the next track "Needles". In "Needles" and "Deer Dance", the guitars take on a higher pitched region of sound, and the drum's snare jobs aren’t as noticeable as they were from their debut. Other areas of this album pull out harmonious elements, such as the acoustic intro for "Chop Suey" or the soft ballad "A.T.W.A". Real emotion finds its way into the album as well, most noticeably in the track "Toxicity", which is one of the best songs on the album. This songs harmonious guitars and heavy breakdown consisting of top-of-the-notch beats, and excellent drum work provide the song with its well deserved dubbing of "hit single".

Some areas of the album however do have their faults, and really tend to not go unnoticed. In "Psycho", a relatively addicting song as is, does tend to get rather old considering the same thing is said over and over and over again for the entire 4 1/2 minute track. "Bounce", as good of a track as it is, does overstay its welcome with some recycled content that wasn’t really necessary. On top of the musical faults for this album, the album is pretty short. Most of the songs in this album barely break the three minute mark. Some of the catchiest songs here including "X", don’t lat but two minutes and leaves you wanting more. Some might argue that this feature of "wanting more" might be a good thing, but overall, it really isn’t. If an album is leaving you feeling empty for whatever reason, it isn’t completely satisfying by any means. However, these faults for the album are few and far between and can easily be overlooked with just a second spin. Perhaps, some listeners may find the faults I find to be of no bother and go on happily. Nevertheless, there is still recycled content that I don’t find to be that much of a high entertaining subject. To add onto this, the album has a hidden track after "Aerials, another soft ballad, called "Arto".”Arto" is a no-vocal track consisting of repetitive pan flute toots in the intro, and breaks into a world-drum spin, with some kind of battle-cry-like voice in the background. Once the album is over, a feel for satisfaction comes over you as the finality of this product breaks off into complete and utter silence.

Toxicity was, is, and will never be by any means a reinvention of their fantastic debut. But it is a reinstitution of the bands genius, combined with its controversy lyrics pertaining to war, politics, and government (if you can tell me the difference) and overall exemplifies the bands decent efforts. Serj has calmed down a bit and doesn’t seem to make his vocals as noticeable as he did in their debut. Daron takes on a more mature guitar position and finds his vocals in more songs more often. The drumming is at its near best in this album with great beats and backdrops. Shavo however really is of no concern to the album considering his lack of potential and lack of being heard. But in convenience, the band still crafted a well-comforting album that deserves everything it gets.



Recent reviews by this author
Gay For Johnny Depp The Politics Of CrueltyMudvayne L.D. 50
Cannibal Corpse Tomb of the MutilatedSystem of a Down Hypnotize
Phish Lawn BoyMastodon Crack the Skye
user ratings (4528)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
linkjerk
December 27th 2011


311 Comments


Well hopefully, this does a little better than previous reviews. If it doesn't, plz don't hesitate to say so (I already know you won't) And wow, this has already been reviewed several times.

someguest
December 27th 2011


20572 Comments


"Science" is still incredible. There's a few awesome moments here and there and the album was essential to my growth in music.

The lyrics here aren't really that controversial at all when you listen to their self-titled.

linkjerk
December 28th 2011


311 Comments


upon my first listen, "Science" was honestly my least favorite track. i hated it to say the least. but...thats not the case anymore ^_^

Killerhit
December 28th 2011


5250 Comments


A degenerated society has finally been exposed by great Armenian artistry.

Hawks
December 28th 2011


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard this when it first came out and still love it now.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2011


28523 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I heard it before it even came out i heard it before you did

Digging: Chris Brown - X

Pharoh
December 28th 2011


3326 Comments


great album

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2011


31173 Comments


Again, you keep using several different ways to try and convey an idea that needs only one simple description. It also doesn't help the fact that you seem so hellbent on throwing in as many words as possible to try and prove your point, especially when all they do is detract from what you're trying to say. Not just because they're there, but because they're not used properly

When the complete scene of the world is observed by people who actually care about where it all goes


The complete scene of the world? What in sweet jesus are you trying to do here?

It doesn’t particularly matter how you do it, it just needs to happen.


Of course it matters how you do it

Perhaps a new design for music would falter their image,


Again, this is just a really convoluted way of saying something that should be so simple to write

An entirely new scene for the band, however it may hinder their performance,


What new scene? This is pretty much just a natural extension of the sound on their debut. Also, performance is not the right word here. Maybe career?

the Hollywood success equation


wut

S.O.A.D. have without a debut NOT created a sequel to their amazing debut success, but they have crafted a sincere and divine work of art that portrays a similar, but slightly altered image.


I think you mean doubt. And in general, the way you've put this is simply terrible and a grammatical nightmare

This is just the first paragraph and I refuse to read anymore. Are you sure you actually took my advice and re-read and edited this before posting it? I doubt it highly

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Puzzles
December 28th 2011


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It seems like you're trying too hard to be intellectual and put out a review filled full of
"worldly" social commentary, but it just comes off as pretentious political bullshit. You make quite
a few hefty claims (" To say that the band has lost some of their cohesiveness since their
outstanding debut wouldn’t call for any aspersions, because it is undoubtedly true") and you tended
to exaggerate things without any meaningful effect ("System of a Down managed to shock the world
with their self-titled debut") - their debut was a quiet albeit moderately successful release for a
Metal album - they hardly "shocked the world". You also need to be careful with your odd
adjective/noun combinations ("the governmental scenery is portrayed thoroughly through tales of
unfairness, and complaints, and occasional backstabbing of a few select societies") because it ends
up as meaningless dribble that will just confuse an unintelligent reader and make an intelligent one
want to hurt you. The content was at least partly insightful and your vocabulary is good, you just
need to learn how to use it cohesively.

Plus, you committed one of the most heinous academic crimes known to man - you cited Wikipedia. D:

Puzzles
December 28th 2011


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Looks like Deviant got there before me. Oh well...

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2011


50380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shimmy shimmy shimmy til the break of dawn yeah

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

linkjerk
December 28th 2011


311 Comments


weeeeelllllllllllllllll, you're right. i didnt read it over. I did the exact same thing as last time. But, whenever i come up with a simple way of explaining something, it still apparently comes as "unintelligent", but when i word it more, its unintelligent. ???

linkjerk
December 28th 2011


311 Comments


explain that plz?

Puzzles
December 28th 2011


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My advice: give writing a rest, finish Grade 8, then come back to it.

linkjerk
December 28th 2011


311 Comments


or ill just try proofreading. after like 3-4 faulty reviews, thats the common problem. so ill just try that and see if it works any better

(its grade 10 btw)

AtavanHalen
December 28th 2011


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

finish Grade 8


ahahaha that's fucking rich

Puzzles
December 28th 2011


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I stole your joke there atavan

Restrikted
December 28th 2011


1889 Comments


Yeah (just like with many of my reviews I know) it feels you're using words that just don't fit.

Restrikted
December 28th 2011


1889 Comments


the Hollywood success equation


wut

I'm sorry but that made me lol

Cipieron
December 28th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh SoaD, how you use to be my favorite band way back when. then i discovered music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy