Elitist
Earth


3.0
good

Review

by Wayne H. USER (14 Reviews)
December 23rd, 2011 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Elitist take a more polyrhythm driven approach to their sophomore EP, and lose a little of their identity while they're at it.

Expectations can be a powerful thing. Many critically acclaimed bands have fallen victim to their own success. In the wake of a refreshing and enjoyable release, many artists often find themselves suddenly despised after putting out an underwhelming follow-up. Notable examples of this effect include but certainly aren't limited to: He Is Legend's Suck Out The Poison, Anberlin's "Dark Is The Way, Light is a Place," and arguably Thrice's entire career (May they rest in peace, but long live Deadbolt). While Elitist might not be quite as well-known as these bands, they certainly could have fallen victim to a similar circumstance.

After releasing their breakout EP "Caves," Southern California's Elitist proceeded to throw a giant curveball at their adoring fans in "Earth." While both albums were definitely metalcore-ish, the similarities pretty much ended there. Where "Caves" was frenetic, technical metalcore with the heart of a hardcore DIY upstart, "Earth" was heavily produced, polyrhythm-based 'djent' that had largely already been explored by neighboring bands like Volumes.

However, in situations like these, it's often helpful to consider bands not as instantly cohesive entities that mysteriously birth songs, but as constructs made up of separate and diverse individuals compromising their personal identities to create music that is satisfactory for all members. A team effort, if you will.

Furthermore, it is illuminating to recognize that any given band's EP or LP represents only one facet of the larger body of work; one point in time. In this light, "Earth" seems less of a failure to impress, but rather an experiment that didn't quite hit the mark with its fanbase. Kind of like the band's awkward, zit-stricken adolescence.

Make no mistake, "Earth" may not be the album we were all expecting from Elitist, but it certainly raises no doubts about the band's drive or talent. Sure, they may have gone a little overboard with some of the recurring melodic riffs, but to be fair, they are pretty cool riffs. Maybe the relatively predictable chugs, breakdowns, and melodies may be a bit overdone, but their muscianship is still sound, and they have plenty of room to grow before releasing a full-length.

To me, "Earth" is an EP that reflects a young, impressionable band struggling to find their niche in the crowded modern metalcore scene. Let them develop their songwriting, lyricism, and cohesion, and they may impress us yet.



Recent reviews by this author
ERRA AugmentShadow of the Colossus END GAME
Balance and Composure The Things We Think We're MissingLemaitre Relativity 3
Mr. J. Medeiros Pale Blue DotERRA Impulse
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Sean (2.5)
An unfortunate step away from something that could have been quite memorable......

TechieCore (2.5)
Elitist takes their blaze of glory from Caves, and makes a very forgettable record....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
December 23rd 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll never stop believing, I'll never stop having faith.


Pretty quick write-up. Kinda too lazy to format right now. As always, criticism/praise/trolling/shit-talk is welcome. Come at me, bros and she-bros.

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

pizzamachine
December 23rd 2011


12572 Comments


Whoah your reviews are rare. I feel like I've been blessed.

Winsomniac
December 23rd 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have been known to be one lazy motherfucker, haha. And I've been trying to review more lately. Had some time to kill over break, so why the fuck not?

Also, this probably isn't very objective, because Mike D is a chill dude, and they just had some not-so-awesome things happen to them, which is pretty bunk. And I missed a goddamn show with them and TGI, so I wanted to make it up to the dudes.

Hows your break going, Darth Pizza?

pizzamachine
December 23rd 2011


12572 Comments


Those are pretty good reasons to review!

My break is rulin! At this point I'm just counting the days until Christmas. Too bad there's no snow. :/

dansxdead
December 23rd 2011


438 Comments


This band is pretty bad man, the new vocalist is atrocious.

Pharoh
December 23rd 2011


3325 Comments


hes not that bad, more like generic.

bloc
December 24th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The instrumental tracks are useless in my opinion, but the other tracks are regular Elitist.

Emim
December 24th 2011


26675 Comments


is this more dgent

Winsomniac
December 24th 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bloc: I agree. I guess its for anyone who would have wanted to play along. Mike (their bassist, great guy) told me they released Earth really quickly under a lot of pressure, and that it's really not their best. So I'm still really stoked to see what they've got coming.

Emim: If it was, would that make you a... Dgentleman?

bloc
December 24th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I dunno, even if the band was given all the time in the world, they'd probably still release something like this, don't you think?

Emim
December 24th 2011


26675 Comments


no i'm kinda fed up with dgent

Winsomniac
December 24th 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, Mike I know for a fact dabbles with all sorts of different music, and is absolutely a musician
before all else. They're still young and impressionable. I'll let you know if and when I get a chance
to preview their new jams :]

MIMSY! SAY IT AIN'T SO! What have you been listening to recently then, my man?

Emim
December 24th 2011


26675 Comments


grunge, chevelle and the birthday massacre, lol

Winsomniac
December 24th 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's cool too, man. Music tastes evolving is a good thing. I think the raw energy of junz will always hold a special place in my heart. Been branching out a lot myself lately as well. I'll have to give the new Chevelle a listen when I have some free time and an open mind.

bloc
December 24th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

^I like this guy






AND I AIN'T TALKIN BOUT WINSOMNIAC NEITHA

Winsomniac
December 24th 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You guys are by far the most adorable sputnik bromance, haha.

bloc
December 24th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I hate Emim though

Winsomniac
December 24th 2011


8014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

More or less than you hate me? :P

Emim
December 24th 2011


26675 Comments


Awwwwwh, I hate you too :3

bloc
December 24th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Much more!









Edit: :3



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy