Citizen
Young States


4.5
superb

Review

by whatshisname USER (13 Reviews)
December 20th, 2011 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Citizen releases a pop-punk album of the year contender. No, make that album of the year contender.

Citizen is a band local to my area (Toledo, OH). They've been around for about roughly 2 and a half years now, and formed from the break up of another local band, The Sound of Glory. TSOG brought 2 things from their demise. The Plot In You. And Citizen. I'll let you decide which is the better of the two. (Cough, it's Citizen, cough)

The EP dives right into it with "Untitled". If you've never listened to this band before, one of the first things you'll most likely notice is Mat Kerekes' voice. It's a type of singing I haven't heard in any other band. It's harsh and loud, but at the same time clean and well defined. "Untitled" is a great way to start the EP with the lyric "I'd like to think, that we move on and on and on to better things!" before what I can only describe as a slow bridge that works to great effect. I still get chills when I hear it. The title track is the next song on the EP. It sounds brighter than "Untitled" but still works to great affect. Another thing you'll notice is Citizen's knack for writing lyrics. Simple but really meaningful. This is one of the more simple songs but still leaves an impact. "I Still Shut My Eyes" starts off reminiscent of Balance and Composure. In fact the entire song sounds like something you'd hear from Balance and Composure. But that's not a bad thing. Mat's voice makes the song one of Citizen's own. This one is slower paced but still very good.

Now we're officially over the half way point of the EP. You would almost expect the quality to dip here but only better songs are to be found. "Detached" contains the lyrics "Been a long time, since I felt right. I'm counting down the days". As I mentioned earlier, simple lyrics but the way they're delivered has a big impact. The final song on the EP is "Right Through". This is the PERFECT way to close the album, with the best song in Citizen's catalog. "Though I think you should know everything, I'm keeping this one in for good, and that's the way it ought to be". The way these lyrics are delivered are fantastic. And the chant at the end only ends the song on a triumphant note.

Overall, Citizen is one of the best up and coming bands out there. Definitely get this EP if you're looking for any new pop punk music. Or any music at all. It's that good.



Recent reviews by this author
Brand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)These Hearts Yours To Take
Never Shout Never SunflowerChelsea Grin Evolve
Never Shout Never IndigoWoe, Is Me Genesi[s]
user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Youth
recommended by reviewer
Citizen The Only Place I Know

Comments:Add a Comment 
dansxdead
December 20th 2011


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review dawg. This EP kills so hard.

OneMoreRoland
December 21st 2011


1053 Comments


Good ass band. Good live too, and crazy how young they are

pmmets07
December 21st 2011


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great EP with great production as well. have you listened to settle for less's new EP? it's very similar in a lot of ways, especially the vox.

whatshisname
December 21st 2011


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I haven't, but I'll check it out tonight^

pmmets07
January 12th 2012


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm really loving this lately. Right Through is such a good song.

Vespiion
February 5th 2012


1222 Comments


Oh my God, I didn't realize this was out. I've been listening to their split religiously. Checking this out.

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

haydenslame
August 26th 2012


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review. really liking this EP. The plot in you isn't bad, but I think Citizen is better. comparing metalcore to pop punk though, is bleh.

Spluger
October 19th 2012


1188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have you guys heard any of the really early stuff by Citizen? It's pretty surprising.

haydenslame
October 20th 2012


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I know what you're talking about. It sounds alot like the wonder years.

Spluger
October 20th 2012


1188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, they were an easycore band!

http://www.myspace.com/citizeneasycore

Haha. Easycore was fun for a little while but it got old pretty quick. Pretty happy with what they play now. Mat Kerekes is pretty fucking talented.

IfYouRun
November 26th 2012


294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Absolutely love this band. Review.

patman1001
April 13th 2013


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is so good. and it was awesome to see them live. they put on an awesome show.

haydenslame
April 14th 2013


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Basement was an "easycore" band once too, called In This For Fun. and it was actually not bad at all.

haydenslame
April 14th 2013


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and Mat has some of my favorite vox in general. They need to hurry up with a full length.

KSK1
April 25th 2013


4094 Comments


Anyone know where I can get a dl of Mat's solo stuff? It's incredible and I might just buy it all from bandcamp if I can't find a download

whatshisname
April 29th 2013


179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahahaha I don't mind their Easycore stuff at all. And their full length Youth is out June 9th! Only download I can find is off of Bandcamp.

titlefightmeirl
May 11th 2013


659 Comments


they're probably gonna go in the same direction as almost every other band in the pop punk scene right
now, and go emo with their full length. Not necessarily saying it's a bad thing, but just a guess.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 12th 2013


20063 Comments


band rules

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Mend, Move On

NeoSpaz
June 17th 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah it's pree good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy