Thrice
Major/Minor


5.0
classic

Review

by Strayver USER (2 Reviews)
December 5th, 2011 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thrice set the bar immeasurably high for post-hardcore acts yet to come

Major/Minor is the album that defines Thrice’s career. It is a massive tour-de-force that latches onto you and refuses to let go. The powerful, soothing, haunting, beautiful vocals of singer Dustin Kensrue are the highlight of the album however the whole band gives it their all the result is likely the strongest disc in Thrice’s discography. It avoids the eccentricities of the Alchemy Index and contains the power of their early work, yet keeps the soft gentle feel of Vhiessu and Beggars.

Major/Minor’s strength lies in its simplicity. Thrice set out to make this album without a concept, just well written and performed songs. The delivery on this concept is near flawless. Every song flows together and carries some deep weight in their lyrics. Looking at the lyrics of “Anthology” one can see subtle metaphors with life and sailing on troubled waters. Literally about a promise made to someone special, it carries a deeper metaphorical meaning; that no matter how vicious the storm, love can weather it through. “Anthology” is only one example of the deep lyrics Thrice have crafted for this album.

Just like the lyrics, the music is flawless as well. The simple guitar rhythms on songs like “Promises” are very reminiscent of the best of bands like The White Stripes or even AC/DC. The music is complex but never over steps its bounds. It is honestly just a near perfect work. There is nothing that detracts from this album in the slightest. The songs will last due to their deep meaningful lyrics and hidden sounds and intricacies that thrive on repeated listens.

This album is a perfect example of why Thrice is considered by most to be the defining post-hardcore band. They did not stick to the paradigms set by other bands in their genre, instead smashing through these barriers and crafting some of the best music ever written. Thrice can never truly be understood but from what has been determined so far is that what they do can never be matched, has no equal and changes lives. The best part is, there’s more to come.


user ratings (1278)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
johnnydeking29
December 5th 2011


10201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, although I think a 5 is a little high. Anthology is an instant classic though

Digging: Vennart - The Demon Joke

fish.
December 5th 2011


22379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still don't see the hype with anthology

Lumyth
December 5th 2011


54 Comments


cataracts is my jam

VheissuCrisis
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2011


1202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm with AnarchistFish, I like it, but the 'clear stand-out' that so many people label it isn't apparent to me.

Strayver
December 5th 2011


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think this truly is a classic. The moments on this album really shine as well as it is a great band making great music and showing that they put a lot of effort into their work. Also first review and thank you to whoever fixed my coding issues.

Aids
December 5th 2011


24181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Thrice set the bar immeasurably high for post-hardcore acts yet to come"



except this isn't a post-hardcore album. like, at all.

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2011


51332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah

fish.
December 5th 2011


22379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I heard this was grunge

pizzamachine
December 5th 2011


12632 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I heard this was good

Rev
December 5th 2011


9466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Anthology is amazing

dixoncocks
December 5th 2011


2890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The best part is, there’s more to come."



Not so sure about that.

Digging: Haste the Day - Coward

fish.
December 5th 2011


22379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The remix of words in the water is amazing

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
December 5th 2011


1507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree with Aids. Not HIV but full blown AIDS.



Decent album, possibly best since Vheissu, but Artist and Illusions are exponentially better.

johnnydeking29
December 6th 2011


10201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Artist owns this

DirEnRefused
December 6th 2011


2308 Comments


Artist was so....homogenous.

Gilgamahesh
December 6th 2011


1006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not at all, Artist was boring pop-punk. This and Vheissu are easily the best Thrice from a musical and technical standpoint. The nostalgia factor may be working on some of you or maybe you just have strange taste.

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
December 6th 2011


1507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Artist was boring pop-punk".



Erm, no.

wacknizzle
December 7th 2011


13824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Personally Simple Math was 'this' kinda album for me this year. I'm puttin this one off for now, maybe someday it will really get me although I can recognize what it is and do really love a few tracks, I'm not really dedicated to any particular album right now. It's just one of those transition periods in my life.

Digging: Sempiternal Dusk - Sempiternal Dusk

Ending
December 10th 2011


1928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good but not that good.

Gilgamahesh
December 10th 2011


1006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Erm, no."



I meant in comparison. This is far more mature, far more structured, and far more technical. M/M and Vheissu appeal to me far more than Artist does.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy