State Champs
Apparently, I'm Nothing


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mary Paultese USER (35 Reviews)
November 27th, 2011 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pop punk champs.

Having just released their eponymous debut EP last summer, self-proclaimed “DIY pop punk band from Albany, NY,” State Champs are a fairly new group. Still unsigned in early 2011, the band put out a second EP titled Apparently I’m Nothing, which included all five-tracks from the self-titled EP, as well as four brand new songs as well. Comparing the first half of the EP to the latter shows consistency between the two releases, and makes the listener certain of one fact: State Champs don’t just write pop punk songs, but instead anthems.

The gang-vocal ridden opening track, How It Used to Be, is upbeat, and unavoidably catchy – a perfect glimpse of what is left to come on the rest of the EP. State Champs may at first seem to tread familiar ground, but the fact that they do pop punk so damn well makes up for any lack of originality. Additionally, the production on the EP is crisp and powerful, with instruments and Derek DiScanio’s impressive vocals perfectly in balance. A lot of current punk bands manage to get by with raspy, mediocre-at-best vocalists, but this is not the case with State Champs. DiScanio can sing, and if the first eight tracks are not convincing enough, the acoustic bonus track will prove it to anyone who is skeptical.

As the EP continues, State Champs make it obvious that there is absolutely no filler on the EP. Every chorus or bridge is well placed, and every build-up is executed with a sense of purpose. In If It Helps You Focus, the band seamlessly transitions from the chorus to an upbeat “breakdown,” if you will, complete with a bass drop, without sounding at all contrived.

State Champs’ obvious talent allows them to use familiar pop punk elements (lyrics about friendship, gang chants, catchy choruses) without coming off as silly or uninspired, and that is what makes them so loveable. They are not afraid to play something you may think you have heard before, because they know they can pull it off better than 90% of current bands cashing in on the pop punk trend.



Recent reviews by this author
Saves the Day Can't Slow DownHouse Boat 21st Century Breakroom
Joie de Vivre We're All Better Than ThisState Lines State Lines
Light Black Ex WivesDaytrader Twelve Years
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
pmmets07
November 27th 2011


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This didn't quite come together like I had hoped but I've been really digging this lately and I'm seeing State Champs tomorrow so... enjoy.

cvlts
November 27th 2011


8977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

havent listened to this in about 8 months. will give it another shot

Activista anti-MTV
November 27th 2011


3148 Comments


Nice review champs

Adabelle
November 28th 2011


4258 Comments


If I thought that I could listen to pop punk in November then I would download this, but I don't so I wont. Enjoyable review though, pos'd.

fromtheinside
November 28th 2011


19029 Comments


where's the track listing?

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

pmmets07
November 28th 2011


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'll add it. thanks guise.

pmmets07
November 28th 2011


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they were great live.

Spluger
January 9th 2012


1188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They've got one of the best vocalists in pop punk imo.

pmmets07
June 7th 2012


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol rereading my old reviews

"as well as four brand new songs as well."

pmmets07
June 7th 2012


5913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

back in my day...

HypedMerchant
June 25th 2012


333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"They've got one of the best vocalists in pop punk imo."
yeah

Spluger
June 25th 2012


1188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ehh, I'm not really sure who I'd say has the best voice, but they're both definitely up there.

Spluger
July 2nd 2012


1188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Impossible, haha.

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 2nd 2012


4854 Comments


I forgot how this one sounded as well.

joshieboy12345
February 28th 2013


5371 Comments


I listened to Overslept before this, which l just reviewed check it out! Cheap plug I know, but this is pretty good. A full-length is hopefully coming out soon.

titlefightmeirl
May 7th 2013


659 Comments


Vocalist is so talented.

lucasjcockcroft
August 20th 2013


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ITS NOT HOW IT USED TO BEEEEEEE
I AGREEEEE
WERE GROWING UP BUT ILL STAY YOUNG EVEN IF IT KILLS MEEEEE
WOOOOOHHHHOOOHHOOOOO

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2013


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Including 5 tracks from their debut EP, Albany quintet State Champs aim to find that delicate combination of pop & punk on their 9 track 2nd release 'Apparently, I’m Nothing'. With anthemic gang vocals & raw production (both a pro & a con), the band are suited for live sing-alongs. Needing to branch out from the genre's stereotypical lyrical themes, lead vocalist Derek DiScanio at least delivers his lines with conviction. While not innovative, there are enough hints of song-writing nous, layered instrumentation & tempo changes to suggest State Champs have a promising future. Recommended Tracks: Shades of Gray, If It Helps You Focus & How It Used To Be.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy