Life on Repeat
Struggle + Sleep


3.5
great

Review

by Toadstool USER (1 Reviews)
November 25th, 2011 | 15 replies | 4,179 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fun debut album that is filled with catchy songs, and great vocals. Being a very young band, these guys give people high hopes for the future.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Life On Repeat is a fairly new band that just recently got signed to Equal Vision Records (Chiodos, We Came As Romans). With that said, some would have the impression of "Oh great, another typical post-hardcore band...", but these guys actually do something right. Instead of layering songs with typical screams and breakdown after breakdown after breakdown, they focus on the melodies and vocals of each song, making each one as catchy as the next.

The first song and title track on the album is a great example of what Life On Repeat has to offer. Starting off with a groovy guitar riff, you can already tell that these guys are going to be catchy. They never stick to the "chug-chug" method, and when they do play a breakdown (which are only heard a few times through out the album), it fits nicely and doesn't seem forced. For example, the breakdown in "Struggle + Sleep" is very unexpected, but in a good way, as the band explodes in to a headbanger while using very rapid triplet chugs and insane kick triplets by the drummer which is a very talented one indeed. While these guys aren't that heavy, they still prove that they know how throw down.

What really caught my attention were the vocals of Patrick Purves. He has a good range, a great voice, and is really able to create melodies that will be stuck in your head for days. He also never screams, it's more of a harsh yell that he will do scarcely. This to me is refreashing because screaming in post-hardcore is starting to get very typical and tiring. One of the best examples of his vocals would be in "Southern Girls", where in the ending of the chorus before the breakdown he sings "You told me that you would love me forever, but it's girls like you that make me which I never have!", ending it with a terrific yell. Honestly, Patrick is what makes this band shine.

Now don't get me wrong, they still have a few issues they need to work on. For instance, although the lyrics aren't terrible and are structered well, they are not that innovative. Literally every song is about a girl or love. And the riffs are fun and catchy, but they never do anything that's different or play something that's outside of the box.

With releasing an EP and this debut album, Life On Repeat show promise and give listeners a refreshing listen with a great batch of songs that you can easily sing along with. They also put on a great live show (saw them open for Greeley Estates and The Plot in You, and LoR was easily the best band of the night). So if you are a post-hardcore fan that wants something to jam out to that isn't filled with chug breakdowns and typical screams, then go give these guys a listen. It'll be hard not to have one of their songs repeating in your head.

Recommended Songs:
Southern Girls
The Waiting Game
Struggle + Sleep
Sinking


user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Toadstool
November 25th 2011



136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

First review. Kind of rushed it, but this album deserved a review. Let me know what you guys think! Criticism is always welcomed.

IAmKickass
November 26th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I love this album.

random
November 26th 2011



2259 Comments


Hoobastank?

Toadstool
November 26th 2011



136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

random.......

IAmKickass
November 26th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

These dudes are awesome live.

Toadstool
November 28th 2011



136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Their live show is the reason I got into them. I hung out with the band after they played, I was so wasted and my stupid brain decided to stick a gum wrapper in my ear in substitute for an ear plug...........lol, but the lead singer got it out for me and we talked for a while after the show, he was very nice.

IAmKickass
November 28th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

They were all awesome dudes, I bought a wristband and donated a dollar just cause.

jtbarron7
January 25th 2012



8 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album is great, their vocalist kills live.

IAmKickass
January 25th 2012



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Just filmed a music video for these dudes, pretty stoked. :D

SamStephens
March 9th 2012



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

While I do enjoy Patricks vocals the musicianship of this band is what sets it apart from all the other scenie bands. The drumming is better than solid, it's quite impressive actually, how many drummers have you heard do 32nd triplet beats with their feet (Title Track 2:13). While not a guitarist I have to say their songwriting is superb and for the genre they do quite a few things out of the box. I do not mean to attack your review but I have to disagree on the fore-mentioned points. But other than disagreeing with some of what you had to say I think you wrote a fine review.

Toadstool
March 9th 2012



136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You know what? YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!

Haha, but seriously I was actually just talking about how good the drummer is especially with releasing their new song, and forgot I actually wrote this review. I edited the part about the drumming in the review.

PikachuRapesYou
February 6th 2013



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i saw LOR like three summers ago and there were only thirty people watching them. they killed it.

TheCollectiveFacade
May 23rd 2013



652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

underated album

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

voiceofresistance
September 3rd 2013



53 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a hidden gem. if Comcast never played Struggle and Sleep on the metal channel at that exact moment I was listening I probably would never know about this band. The actual song-writing is catchy as hell.
Love this shit

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Originally named Amen The Animal, Maryland rockers Life on Repeat impress on their consistent debut LP 'Struggle + Sleep'. Finding a satisfying sweet spot between alt-rock, pop-punk & post-hardcore, the quintet hit hard, yet jam-pack their tunes with melodies. The dual guitar attack soars, while David Walker's drums bash away like a metalcore band. Meanwhile, Patrick Purves' vocal range provides crossover appeal & suits the sound well, even if the cliched lyrics get a bit redundant. They haven't perfected their style yet, but that only makes Life on Repeat's potential all the more exciting. Recommended Tracks: Southern Girls, Struggle + Sleep, Without You Here & Feet Under.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy