Nevermore
The Obsidian Conspiracy


3.5
great

Review

by StlPaulL USER (2 Reviews)
November 25th, 2011 | 22 replies | 2,099 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In short, this album has a few very good songs on it, but is not the masterpiece that should have been. There is much in here that needed to be worked on or just tossed out all together, half the songs on here are far beneath this band's capabilities.

The Termination Proclamation:
Being a Nevermore fan for about 4 years leading up to this album, and it being released on my birthday, my hopes were high. Upon hitting the play button I am greeted with a confusing barrage of instruments. With Loomis playing at nearly incomprehensible speeds [not a bad thing], if he could ever call a Nevermore song his own, it would certainly be this one. It's almost difficult to pay attention to anything other than the guitar. My only gripe with this song is it's feeling of in-completion. Beginning a bit inappropriately and ending only a bit over the 3 min mark.

Your Poison Throne / Moonrise:
As much as I REALLY hate to say, these two songs are some seriously obvious fillers. They offer little in challenging the standard Nevermore have set for themselves. It also sounds as if Warrel is mocking his own style of lyrics, being quite elementary compared to the poetic genius he's shown himself to be. "Burn to the right, turn to the left, if society won't accept you, you scream into the grave" What? Really?? On to the next song...

And The Maiden Spoke:
Beginning with a little drumroll, as soon as the guitar hits, you know this is something special. With an intricate, enveloping ambiance, appropriately cryptic lyrics describe a maiden's decent into lunacy. Being attributed to what one might perceive as a white light religion, or perhaps Warrel's own girlfriend who completely vanished after succumbing to the influence of a religious cult. Wonderful variety in song structure and two guitar solo's, this is Nevermore at their best.

Emptiness Unobstructed:
This is an average song. Warrel taking the song and offering an emotional plea for, basically, a life offering more than what this one has offered him. Not much variety in instrumentals however.

The Blue Marble and the New Soul:
This quite honestly, may be one of Nevermore's most unique offerings. I love this song. Beginning on a softer note, this song is progressive yet ends upon peaking, keeping it from being a classic. Warrel offers beautiful lyrics directed towards his own child. They are sung compassionately yet with assertion, describing the reality of the life he/she has been born into, both good and bad. A reality lullaby.

Without Morals:
The song is a bit catchy, but can't exactly be noted as anything standout at this point in Nevermore's career, having songs that sound nearly identical. This album have far too many similar sounds on it in general. If it isn't one of the great songs on this album, it's a sound being recycled from earlier work.

The Day You Built the Wall:
Nothing great, but does offer some interesting acoustic ambiance combined with Warrel's deep vocals. This comes off genuinely eerie at times, but I feel that that is the most that can be noted of this song.

She Comes in Colors:
This song is great. It surprises you and grips you. Beginning with beautiful singing and acoustic guitar, perhaps being one their best intro's of all time, this song explodes into something seriously catchy. Despite it's incredibly dark tone, this song is actually very uplifting. "Until tomorrow, follow the sun" Sang with force, such a basic yet beautifully powerful lyric.

The Obsidian Conspiracy:
Their album title track being saved for last, in textbook fashion, Nevermore end on a high note. This song has everything that makes a song an epic experience. Thoroughly fleshed out song structure keeps it from being predictable Warrel gives his absolute best effort in ranging emotions. It's good to hear the band at it's technical best as well. Their is nothing bad to say about this song. As I write this review, Nevermore has broken up. Is it mere coincidence that the last lyrics of the last song on their last album end in "These are my last words?" Just an interesting side note...


user ratings (274)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
smpc (2.5)
Frailty, thy name is Warrel Dane...

Trey Spencer STAFF (3)
The sound of a band going through the motions....

scissorlocked (2.5)
The beauty that breaks down......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

In a recent interview for the Hellenic Metal Hammer, Jeff Loomis stated that he was satisfied for only half of the songs in Obsidian Conspiracy.

Furthermore, he stated that it was Nevermore's first album, where the band's members were not present simultaneously at the recording sessions...

In effect, i have no wonder as to why this is mediocre as hell...





Will read the review later.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

StlPaulL
November 25th 2011



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good to know Loomis agree's with me lol..and seriously? The members weren't simultaneously present? That's...embarrassing.

scissorlocked
November 25th 2011



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

disappointing album

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

seifer
November 25th 2011



1006 Comments


i think its their only album i never listened to

scissorlocked
November 25th 2011



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

don't try to

seifer
November 25th 2011



1006 Comments


yeah anyways now that jeff has left won't probably bother with them again

scissorlocked
November 25th 2011



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeap, we have like 6 awesome albums to listen from them so their musical heritage is safe

seifer
November 25th 2011



1006 Comments


but if he had left after This Godless Endeavor it would have been better. leaving on a high note

Dreamflight
November 25th 2011



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's no Godless for sure, but it ain't that bad, I think. Special version is ace.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

If I have time, i will translate in English the Loomis interview in the Hellenic MH, or write some news item, because Loomis says some pretty heavy stuff about Dane/Sheppard.


In short, he presents them to be dictators of the band, with respect to him and Williams.


On another note...


Dane/Sheppard said that there's gonnna be at least one new Nevermore album.

Without Loomis and Williams in the line-up, though, i think they should change the name of the band.

Loomis/Williams were 50% (if not more...) of Nevermore.

seifer
November 25th 2011



1006 Comments


it would great it you did Voivod and i agree they should definitely change the name of the band

StlPaulL
November 25th 2011



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree, they would definitely need to rename the band or simply not even attempt another album. Without Jeff's signature sound, it wouldn't be Nevermore. Warrel should just save his inspirations for his solo project to be honest. No reason to tarnish the Nevermore name with an experimental album with new band members.

ShousoStrip
November 25th 2011



574 Comments


This band's vocals really grate on me.

MO
November 25th 2011



18231 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yep this was a letdown

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

eggsvonsatan
November 25th 2011



1087 Comments


Yeah, Warrel Dane is really tough on the ears. Pretty much the reason I dropped this band years ago.

bloc
November 26th 2011



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Very disappointing album

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

If I have time, i will translate in English the Loomis interview in the Hellenic MH, or write some news item, because Loomis says some pretty heavy stuff about Dane/Sheppard.

Loomis said that problems among band members started due to alcohol abuse.

In 2004-2005, when Warrel had serious trouble with alcohol, the band made a real effort in keeping him away from it. But, as other members were more or less addicted to it as well, they couldn't keep it away from them and from Warrel. That was the critical turning point, when things got to be real bad in their mutual relationships.

At a point, Dane and Sheppard called Loomis an egotistic guitar-hero (it was at the time where Loomis and Dane had issued their solo albums) and that mattered a lot (in a negative way) for Loomis.

Up to 2006, Williams and Loomis were paid directly from Dane and Sheppard and not from the management. Loomis, in particular, had a really hard time paying his bills, because Dane and Sheppard were not too eager in paying them in time (always according to Loomis). Loomis and Williams would call them numerous times before they got to get paid in the end. That's when Williams and Loomis made a stand and demanded that the management would be responsible for the payments and that all profits would be distributed equally to all four members. That really pissed Dane and Sheppard, because they thought that Loomis and Williams made an inner party within the band, something that was true, because otherwise their opinion would be ignored...




That'all pretty much. I quoted the part of the interview where Loomis is referring to the causes that made Nevermore to break up.

StlPaulL
November 26th 2011



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow. That's some really clarifying information. I appreciate it. This all makes sense. Always thought it was Loomis and Dane runnin the band though, that surprised me.

Dreamflight
November 26th 2011



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Without Loomis and Williams, I'm sure the next album will be a great lession in humility for Dane and Shepard.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2011



5915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Probably it will be a good metal record, but not a good Nevermore metal record.

Personally, the moment i see the logo of the new Warel/Dane album is "Nevermore", i will treat it (as a fan I mean, not here in Sputnik) as if it is issued by another band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy