Mahria
Mahria


4.0
excellent

Review

by Lucid CONTRIBUTOR (17 Reviews)
November 23rd, 2011 | 72 replies | 6,423 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A vocal performance not to be missed.

Mahria’s debut contains the best female vocals I’ve ever heard within the emo/hardcore scene. Corby Burnett’s emotive shrieks captured my attention from the first vocal release on the ferocious opener "Lights" – I sensed there was something excitingly different about her emotional expression. What sets her screams apart is their startling femininity; there seems to be a trend for the too-few female screamers fronting hardcore bands to imitate the vocal approach of men (see: iwrestledabearonce and The Agonist), growling and heaving their way over the discordant music. It becomes troublesome when I can barely distinguish them from male screamers, especially when the main pull of the band is the gender of the vocalist. Burnett sounds very much like a girl as she is tearing her heart out and slapping it on record, resulting in a distinctive and affecting vocal performance that thrives on contrast. There is an inherent frailty to the female voice, and Burnett’s wails are characterized by this element while simultaneously harboring desperate, forceful angst that pierces through the surrounding chaos. Her screams are believable – I feel deep empathy for her when I hear them, wanting to extinguish whatever is causing her pain, as illogical as that desire is. It is the only reaction I can muster to expression that feels so deeply and uncomfortably human.

The environment inflaming Burnett reinforces the depth of my emotional response: it is abrasive and combative, creating context for her self-destruction. Melodic riffs reminiscent of Loma Prieta puncture punchy track lengths as unpredictable drumming hammers forward through the reckless disorder. The most technically-proficient song on this release is perhaps "Justification of an Old man": the atmosphere is genuinely thrilling, as stop-start drumming coupled with a catchy guitar motif repeatedly stalls the movement of the track. The instrumental track preceding the closer is also a highlight: it is thoughtful and reflective, offering needed reprieve from the numbing assault of the other songs. To be frank though, S/T Cassette is carried by Burnett’s vocals – were it not for her, the band could very well be labeled as derivative within the populated emo scene. Nevertheless, the combination of her hysterical shrieks with the aggression and technical ability of the band amounts to a shockingly impressive debut. To put it bluntly, this is not a release to be overlooked.



Recent reviews by this author
Arcade Fire ReflektorCrash of Rhinos Knots
Fiona Apple The Idler Wheel...Deafheaven Sunbather
Mark Kozelek & Jimmy Lavalle Perils from the SeaPanda Bear Tomboy
user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Eli EMERITUS (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice, solid review. Glad to see people are enjoying this (though it mainly just seems to be the mezz crew so far haha)

I saw you originally rated this a 3.5 and died a little inside, glad it grew on you a bit. pos.

(obligatory "write more reviews blah blah blah")

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

Xenophanes
Emeritus
November 23rd 2011



10584 Comments


Awesome, awesome review. But heads up, the band just posted my review on facebook and Lealand is definitely not their vocalist, so that should probably be altered haha

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

someguest
November 23rd 2011



20220 Comments


(though it mainly just seems to be the mezz crew so far haha)


what is the 'mezz crew' anyway

Digging: Modest Mouse - The Lonesome Crowded West

Xenophanes
Emeritus
November 23rd 2011



10584 Comments


First rule Aids! I'm the new guy and I know the first rule!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oops my bad haha

sniper
November 23rd 2011



18929 Comments


the hope and the failure

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



7018 Comments


@Eli: I actually originally had the vocalist mentioned correctly in my review but then I read yours and switched her name lol. Glad to see we have it fixed now. And thanks for the compliments guys, I appreciate them.
EDIT: Can be downloaded for free here http://warwounds.blogspot.com/2011/10/mahria.html

Digging: Braid - No Coast

someguest
November 23rd 2011



20220 Comments


What sets her screams apart is their startling femininity;


yeah that's what's so great about this album

aok
November 23rd 2011



4263 Comments


First rule Aids!


lol.

and cool -- 2 lucidity reviews in 1 week? insightful as ever (pos), but try to eliminate the first person language when possible (something i struggle with mightily as well)

Gyromania
November 23rd 2011



15164 Comments


So you're pretty good at this concise reviewing model. Great work, Ali - I'll be sure to take a listen to this sometime soon =]

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



7018 Comments


That's what I like to hear!

Rev
November 23rd 2011



9371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm so glad I showed people this

TheSpirit
November 23rd 2011



17128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

the hope and the failure


[2]

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Sleaper
November 23rd 2011



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

anyone got a link? cant find shit on youtube/bandcamp

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



7018 Comments


It was free on bandcamp but then it was changed to $5 for download. That's the only source I know of unfortunately.

Sleaper
November 23rd 2011



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://mahriaskram.bandcamp.com/album/s-t-cassette
can listen for free. its just $5 to buy

vocals are gnarlz

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2011



7018 Comments


there you go

lealand987
November 24th 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

download it here for free:
http://warwounds.blogspot.com/2011/10/mahria.html
/get our first rls here:
http://iamsofuckedup.blogspot.com/2011/09/mahria-todos-caeran-2011-split.html

thanks for the nice words and listens!!


Xenophanes
Emeritus
November 24th 2011



10584 Comments


I suggested to the mods that your review be featured, because it's really solid, and this record is awesome

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2011



7018 Comments


Thanks Eli, I'm flattered. Would be nice if we could get a proper hype train going ;).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy