Cher Lloyd
Sticks + Stones


2.5
average

Review

by sobelecta USER (9 Reviews)
November 21st, 2011 | 17 replies | 3,788 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Former X Factor contestant surprises some, with an album that doesn't make you want to throw yourself out of a moving vehicle.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

How do you even start reviewing an album like this? As anyone who is even aware of the X Factor in Britain (ie. everyone), music eminating from the flux of karaoke singers tend to loiter the charts post series. They tend to range from the pretty awful to the eye-goungingly painful, the musical equivalent of Un Chien Andalou. Occassionally, a great song will creep through, namely 'Bleeding Love' by Leona Lewis.

Of course, anybody who heard Cher Lloyd's first single proper 'Swagger Jagger', would know that this was not going to be the case. Like a student who has drunk away his whole year only to realise his finals start tomorrow, it is trying to cram in too much, throwing in R&B, dupstep, house and bubblegum pop into an unruly mix and it is no way near good enough to pull it off. It ends up sounding cluttered, trying to meet everyone's needs without actually giving them what they want.

However, there is a reason why I haven't completely denounced this album completely. See, there are some genuinely good pop songs that give me hope for Cher Lloyd. First of all - where most X Factor endorsed albums have an over-emphasis on lifeless balladry, Sticks + Stones places the emphasis on being bold and brash, something quite brave but which works with the artist. When she initially auditioned with a Soulja Boy song on X Factor, the judges and the public saw something which has been missing from the show for years - attitude - which inevitably wouldn't be enough to win, mainly due to the public's hunger for another Joe McElderry.

The first three tracks on the album are catchy, current, and suit Lloyd perfectly. The first track, the bratty 'Grow Up', features a surprisingly decent (if brief) cameo from Busta Rhymes, who unfortunately sounds like retirement will be sooner rather than later. The second single, 'With Ur Love' is probably the strongest song on the album, and is probably the closest she gets to emulating the heights of her hero, Nicki Minaj.

A couple of other decent songs appear, especially 'Superhero', with a sample that sounds uncannily like the music from The Sims, but she goes and ruins it with 'Dub On The Track', which is as vile as it sounds. It sounds unfocused, messy and another example of trying to appease as many people as possible. It's a shame, because some of the material on here is very strong, but it is let down by the constant genre shifting. From this first album, she has a long way to go to reach the dizzy heights of her idols, but it may surprise you.



Recent reviews by this author
Gorillaz Plastic BeachThe Long Blondes Someone To Drive You Home
The Associates The Affectionate PunchThe Cure Pornography
Adam Ant HITSSnow Patrol Final Straw
user ratings (29)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wombat988
November 21st 2011



388 Comments


I enjoyed reading this review

Adabelle
November 21st 2011



4229 Comments


Nice review (pos'd) but still, just lol.

Dashnavar
November 21st 2011



63 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I will admit that With Your Love and Superhero gain momentum, but all the other tracks are too
juvenile and unlistenable.

Her niche is Avril Lavigne bubblegum pop, and she needs to stop fooling herself into thinking she has
"Swag" especially on Swagger Jagger and Dub On The Track, good review

DieDead
November 22nd 2011



222 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Cher Lloyd sucks.

Sanders
November 22nd 2011



2341 Comments


Swagger Jagger made me want to punch babies' throats.

AlecBaldwin
November 22nd 2011



147 Comments


pos'd.




"However, there is a reason why I haven't completely denounced this album completely."

'completely' twice in one sentence?

MyMentality
December 7th 2011



70 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Meh, the album did suprise me a bit. Wasn't hoping for an epic after hearing the diabolical Swagger Jagger, I just listened to see how bad it actually was. The first track opened my eyes a bit, the second track wasn't bad, and most of the album is pretty listenable. Their are some serious suckers though, as mentioned. Good review btw! Pos'd

BlackLlama
October 23rd 2012



1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is it wrong that I actually enjoy her delivery? She reminds me of Avril Stefani......

Digging: Cinderella - Heartbreak Station

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2012



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Want U Back kicks ass

Wolfhorde
December 29th 2012



12070 Comments


Awful.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2012



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah it is, but I don't care

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2012



49790 Comments


Want You Back is the worst song ever made
I had to bowl to that shit the other night and it fucked my shit up
how about you blow your brains out like a helicopter ya british skank


Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

LifeAsAChipmunk
December 29th 2012



4854 Comments


want you back is the worst song ever

you and I did first nao you doin' with har

LifeAsAChipmunk
December 29th 2012



4854 Comments


I heard this girl and rita ora on the same drive

I want to gouge my ears.

Wolfhorde
December 29th 2012



12070 Comments


Everything by this chick is the worst song ever.

And everything involving the incredibly stupid rhyme of "swagger" and "jagger" needs to be thrown into a tar pit and lit on fire on sight. (seriously, what do all of these dimwits even have to do with the Rolling Stones?)

Spec
March 19th 2013



27057 Comments


Want U Back is cool.

RadicalEd
May 6th 2013



2553 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Swagger Jagger uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuughn
and Want U Back uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuughn
warrant a 1 Rating uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuughn
on their own. uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugh

Digging: Depth Connection - Fever Dreams



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy