Daughtry
Break the Spell


3.0
good

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
November 21st, 2011 | 62 replies | 14,151 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After two boring albums, Daughtry finally raises his voice.

9 of 12 thought this review was well written

Daughtry’s music has always disappointed. With his preference for playing the electric guitar, and his sexy, gritty voice, we wanted big things from his debut album. To no one’s surprise, however, Daughtry was incredibly boring, the opposite of what we wanted. Clearly, his band was a part of the mainstream music machine that churned and spat out the next “big thing”. Any semblance of the edge he showed in American Idol had vanished; he had been replaced with a robot version of himself. His second album, Leave This Town, wasn’t any better either, being consistent in its predictability, and once again lacking in the rock department. It would take a miracle for Daughtry to awaken from his slumber and at least sound like he cared about the music he made. It would take something like the breaking of a spell. Can you see where this is going?

Break the Spell is easily the band's best album. He’s still creating mainstream rock that’s easy on the ears, but this time it actually rocks. Opening the album with his edgiest, most guitar-driven song yet, ‘Renegade’ is clearly trying to say something. The song may not be representative of the album’s sound, but it’s certainly representative of its quality. The album has absolutely no filler. Every song is catchier, and more memorable than the last. Sure, it’s obviously geared to sell albums, but dang it if it isn’t well done.

I, at first, didn’t believe Daughtry’s statement when he said that this album was “nothing like the previous two”. It sounded like his normal stuff to me, but upon further listens his statement resonated. Break the Spell is his most upbeat album yet, which means a few things. First of all, the message of the album is much cheerier, and with sparkling electric guitars crunching out compelling melodies, one can’t help liking it. This kind of arena rock with stadium-ready choruses is exactly what the doctor ordered. The album is also shamelessly poppier, with Daughtry giving some of his catchiest vocal lines yet. But the highlight of the album is something far greater than the melodies, the choruses, and even the catchy songwriting.

It is Daughtry’s voice that truly, and finally shines here. Since Break the Spell consists of less restrained songs, he belts it out. Considering that the main appeal of his music is his voice, allowing him to finally break out of his shell is the best thing that could have possibly happened to this band. Forget about previous bores, Break the Spell is the Daughtry album you should be listening to, and something that he should have made ages ago. Break the Spell may not be a musical revolution, but as far as radio rock goes, it’s pretty solid stuff. Who would have thought?



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (79)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Jeff F. (3)
Filler aside, Daughtry has released their best work to date....


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album stream: http://www.daughtryofficial.com/us/news/listen-break-spell-its-entirety

Acanthus
November 21st 2011



9537 Comments


Did you take some of Knott's musings to heart here?

Clearly, his band was a part of the mainstream music machine that churned, and spit out the next “big thing”.

That comma seems out of place sir, but it's nice to see the band might be breaking out of it's previous shell a bit.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011



21791 Comments


Clearly, his band was a part of the mainstream music machine that churned, and spit out the
next “big thing”

spit out or spat out? also the comma seems awkward

Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All problems fixed. Now everyone can stop bugging me. :P

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011



50116 Comments


I refuse to believe that this is good

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

Tyrael
November 21st 2011



20828 Comments


A 3? You're being way too nice pizz

Pos'd

Acanthus
November 21st 2011



9537 Comments


Come on who hasn't heard Daughtry on the radio and sighed in relief that it wasn't someone else, someone far worse, being played?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011



50116 Comments


I don't listen to the radio

Acanthus
November 21st 2011



9537 Comments


Personally I'm the same way, just thought I'd throw that argument out there.

pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You gotta like It's Not Over, at least a bit.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011



21791 Comments


I SAW YOU CHANGE THAT RATING

pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh nooooooooo

Gyromania
November 21st 2011



15506 Comments


Opening the album with his edgiest, most guitar-driven song yet, ‘Renegade’ is clearing trying to say something.

clearly*

There are a couple of other things, like unnecessary commas: "I, at first, didn’t believe Daughtry’s statement when he said that this album was, “nothing like the previous two” (the one after 'was'), but I enjoyed the review, Pizza =D I was going to do this one myself but I think listening to one shitty mainstream rock album is more than enough for the month of November.

pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Gyro: Fixed! Yeah I figured you might review this which is exactly why I did! :] Didn't want you to kill yourself.

@ Riff: I wouldn't say listening to a Daughtry album will broaden your horizons, but it's his best album if you wanna listen to one anyway.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011



23807 Comments


obligatory "this probably sucks" comment.

but the review was nice, even though it's probably wrong.

pizzamachine
November 21st 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now I know why I'm the only person who rated this album. People are afraid to check it out!

tiesthatbind
November 21st 2011



7373 Comments


Their self-titled album had some decent stuff on it, but the second one blew.

Good review dude, I wasn't going to check this out but maybe I'll reconsider.

Pharoh
November 21st 2011



3326 Comments


i swear pizza, everyday you have a new review lol

WashboardSuds
November 21st 2011



4993 Comments


hmm another Daughtry album?

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

Emim
November 21st 2011



26618 Comments


First album was enjoyable enough. This should be fairly decent then.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy