Real Estate
Days


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sam Feldman's Rating USER (66 Reviews)
November 17th, 2011 | 58 replies | 3,409 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: we're lost

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

It could be subconscious but sometimes I'll drive 15 or so miles out of my way to the town where I met my first love, really the only girl I've cared about in my life that was outside the realm of sex and lust. I'm not really sure what I'm expecting to find; after all, everytime I drive there it's always the same. I'll look around to see if maybe this one time I'll see her standing there, as shocked to see me as I am to see her. It's strange and exciting, almost like playing hide and seek with a ghost. Maybe it's just a way of feeling something, a little escape from the mundane, but it doesn't really matter: she's never there. But I'll keep going, maybe a little less often every year that passes, because for some reason hope is still there. I always leave disappointed, but I'll return regardless. I blame fate, but in reality it's just a way of holding onto the past to depart from the present.

Days is kind of like that; a shimmering hope that the theory is true that time spirals back in on itself. It isn't an ode to the past as much as it is a longing for it, yet we're always brought back crashing into the here and now, flames put out. Days is warm and comforting and herein lies the essential contradiction; it's a happy album about sadness. Real Estate spend these 10 melodically sunny tracks suggesting heaven and when they get there and find nothing but themselves older, it's devastating. There's no soulmate, just the same run-down town she grew up in, with half the Main st. stores closed and unshoveled snow on the sidewalks. Yet there's solace here, knowing nothing changes and yet everything does. "I'm not ok, but I guess I'm doing fine" Martin Courtney dispassionately croons in the melancholic "Wonder Years". By going backwards, Real Estate have somehow found the crucial zenith at the center of this generation's heart: we're lost.



Recent reviews by this author
Women Public StrainHip Hatchet Coward's Luck
The Roots undunTwo Door Cinema Club Tourist History
Jenny Hval VisceraDirty Beaches Badlands
user ratings (228)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Lucid CONTRIBUTOR (4)
...

kane (4)
...

Blair Chopin (4)
Life. Death. Real Estate....

related reviews

Real Estate

Atlas

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eko
November 18th 2011



2119 Comments


awesome review

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2011



6964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

See, this is what I like about music: how we can hear that one album that transports us back to something so dear to us and leaves our thoughts to flood out so freely. I really like what you wrote here.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2011



30301 Comments


I really want you to write at least one review that just talks about music

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2011



30301 Comments


I know, and I'm not saying that I don't enjoy reading your reviews, its just that every one of your reviews is essentially this album makes me feel like: ______

toxin.
November 18th 2011



11821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review is what would come out if Chan's reviews (intimate) and Adam Thomas's reviews (short) had a baby

toxin.
November 18th 2011



11821 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also,
"meloncholic"
melancholic



ohfoxxxycole
November 18th 2011



4350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

we like similar music right

North0House2
November 18th 2011



5617 Comments


Man, this has been reviewed a lot within the last few days. I keep thinking it's some new Sunny Day Real Estate album for some reason lol.


Anyways, good review man.

Digging: Horseback - Piedmont Apocrypha

mvood
November 18th 2011



816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I'll look around to see if maybe this one time I'll see here standing there, as shocked to see me as I am to see her."

that's meant to be "her" right? Otherwise awesome read

iFghtffyrdmns
November 18th 2011



7047 Comments


i enjoyed reading this. cool.

but quit lurking so hard on that slag, son.

joplinpicasso
November 18th 2011



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

For a short review, that relates to the ideas of the album more than the music itself, this is amazing. It really strikes a chord with me, as the album does, especially about 'playing hide-and-seek with a ghost', as...I seem to do the same thing with a past love of mine...

ONE THING! Bassist Alex Bleeker sings on "Wonder Years", not Martin Courtney! I've met them all twice and they're incredibly humble, just suburban kids who want to make music to make sense of their origins.

Favorites are: "Municipality", "Out Of Tune", and of course "All The Same". And everything else. If you're in between 21 and 28 you need to hear this record before the year dies out (it has a very autumnal quality, but many hear sun-soaked melodies as well).

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2011



16072 Comments


this review definitely made me feel as though you're kind of a homosexual more than it made me want to
listen to the music

doing the whole self introspective is fine when it isnt half your review and the other half is half
willy nilly appropriation of overwrought metaphors and ridiculous characterizations

Tyrael
November 18th 2011



20416 Comments


Your reviews are always a fun read, even though they don't really say much about the music

Pos'd

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2011



16072 Comments


of you actually being a homosexual? i know

i know you wont even bother to change your super awful super deep impersonation of chan opening paragraph being turned into whole review style (spoilers: i dont like chan's review generally =D) but I'd like to think theres a chance

Gyromania
November 18th 2011



14653 Comments


What the hell is wrong with you, Sam? Don't you know that style of writing was patented by Chan? In all seriousness though, the thing I dislike about your reviews is how little they tell me about the actual sound of the albums. That said, I really did enjoy reading this and it's definitely worth a pos.

Gyromania
November 18th 2011



14653 Comments


What?

Gyromania
November 18th 2011



14653 Comments


Um, I don't think you got my sarcasm...

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2011



16072 Comments


i didnt say chan invented it, but to deny that chan is the 'most popular writer using this style of writing on this website and is easily the base reference" is to say you're a retard

DoubtGin
November 18th 2011



6686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hot

also, this sounds really interesting

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I...I can't get the image of Hanson sucking Chan's dick out of my head

I can't tell if I'm revolted or horny....

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy