CHON
Demo 2008


4.5
superb

Review

by Blake G. USER (1 Reviews)
November 16th, 2011 | 103 replies | 13,391 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Fall of Troy meets An Endless Sporadic

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

CHON is a rather unknown instrumental progressive act out of San Diego. Their Demo 2008 is a self-released effort by the young quintet that proves to be a strong first release for the band, especially given the fact that all the members were between 13-16 years old at this time.

On first listen, it's apparent CHON’s sound is very dependent on the guitars. The guitar never seems to slow down or pause, and is constantly soaring high up on the neck or shifting between melodic chord sections. Don’t be deceived though; although the guitars are the main focus here, there are many more redeeming qualities on this demo upon further listens. It features sporadic drums that utilize the double-bass pedal often, and even a section with ambient keyboards on Mountains of Creation. There’s also a “breakdown” employed on Elliptical Illuminations. I use the term breakdown loosely because the cheery guitar tone and chords heard doesn’t sound like your typical Emmure chugfest. It’s a good thing CHON doesn’t have a vocalist though, as I can’t see where vocals would fit in this mix very well at all.

As a whole, this release is cohesive to say the least. Although each song has its own distinct sound and variations, they all fit together easily. Its short run time also gives it a lot of replay value. The music in general is infectiously catchy, often times I find myself humming or tapping a riff from this demo without even knowing it.

Surprisingly, the production value for this demo is excellent given the fact that it’s a home produced effort. The guitar tone is clear, the drums give a very natural holistic sound, but alas, the bass is nowhere to be found on this because it gets drowned out by the guitars.

The only real complaint I have with this is the short run time. Clocking in at just over 10 minutes, it feels like as soon as you begin to really start enjoying the music, it abruptly ends.

Aside the from the lack of length, this first demo from CHON proves the band has a great amount of talent and they could really go somewhere with it if they continue the path they are headed on. I am sure I won't be the only one anxiously awaiting their next release. If nothing else, at least check this out, it’s only ten minutes of your time and I’m sure you won’t regret it.


user ratings (113)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zorak
November 16th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review!

AfterTheBreakdown
November 16th 2011



7108 Comments


Good first review man. Glad you finally found time to write it. Pos'd

Zorak
November 16th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks ATB. I'm really proud of this.

Ssssssss
November 16th 2011



683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ye these guys need to get signed.

Zorak
November 16th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

definitely man. They have so much talent.

foxblood
November 16th 2011



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

whoa a junz review. i think i've seen you mention this demo like 50 times lol

ianjulian
November 16th 2011



627 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

13-16 years old at this time

Digging: Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

cb123
November 17th 2011



2006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review man, some pretty great stuff

Carnifex
November 17th 2011



1918 Comments


Good first review dude, pos.

Zorak
November 18th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the comments guys. Of course I got ghost negs. Lame.

And if you haven't checked this out, wtf are you waiting for? lol

Zorak
November 18th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh and foxblood, yeah this is my favorite thing to rec.
It's short enough that people would actually check it out, and I think this band deserves the attention.

Zorak
December 7th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bump

foxblood
December 7th 2011



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

despite all your recs i still haven't heard this, but it has a 4.5 average so i'll try

Zorak
December 7th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you'll love it man.

foxblood
December 7th 2011



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hm so far the guitar playing really reminds me of Will Swan's playing style, like a lot. even though they're different genres

Zorak
December 7th 2011



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah man I can see that. I think there's a little more technicallity in the leads though. But I love DGD's playing style.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2012



10070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I absolutely adore this. I mean, I'm considering handing out a 5. And this is the debut.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Zorak
January 16th 2012



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wish it wasn't so damn short.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2012



10070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't even care about the length, man; all of it is phenomenal.

Zorak
January 16th 2012



3191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For sure man. They're trying to scrape enough money together to make an EP. They have two more songs that were released by themselves. "Breathe" and "The Perfect Pillow"; I think those two songs are even better than the songs on this. You can find them on youtube.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy