Mayhem
De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas


5.0
classic

Review

by demon of surveillance USER (2 Reviews)
November 12th, 2011 | 69 replies | 3,908 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The definitive black metal album.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Mayhem's De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas is a masterpiece that will always stand as one of the greatest albums of the genre. The album contains elements typical of any black metal record, such as blast beats, tremolo riffs, and low-fi production, but there are several unique traits that set it apart from other albums of this nature.

The bass (played by Varg Vikernes, the murderer of guitarist Euronymous) is set relatively high in the mix; his octave jumps and other additional fills add an element not found in most black metal. One of my favorite aspects in this album is the diversity and uniqueness found in Attila Csihar's vocals. His vocal performance on the album is not the stereotypical black metal shriek, but rather a combination of raspy whispering and shouting. On the concluding title track, he even provides haunting clean vocals that might be found in some sick, twisted opera. Euronymous gives an amazing performance on the album, with plenty of brutal, harsh riffs and dissonant leads. He also provides cacophonous solos that only add to the frenetic atmosphere generated by his, Varg's, and drummer Hellhammer's rhythmic work.

This is one of, if not the greatest black metal album ever created (I enjoy it even more knowing it was released only four days after I was born.) If you are a fan of black metal, or are an extreme metal fan looking for a gateway into black metal, look no further. You will not be disappointed by this album.

Recommended tracks: Funeral Fog, Freezing Moon, De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas


user ratings (877)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If you are a fan of black metal, or are an extreme metal fan looking for a gateway into black metal, look no further. You will not be disappointed by this album.


is that so? :]

Digging: Mournful Congregation - Concrescence of the Sophia

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Perhaps a bit short, I'm not sure. Taken from my account on MetalMusicArchives.com

Digging: Decrepit Birth - Diminishing Between Worlds

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God dammit Noctus that rating makes me cry.

Digging: Mayhem - Esoteric Warfare

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I know right? I don't even like the rest of Mayhem's stuff, but this is amazing.

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The only one that doesn't hold my attention to much is Grand Declaration of War.

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What albums have any similarity to this one? I tried listening to their stuff with Dead and I thought it was shit.

MisterSteel
November 12th 2011



453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Funeral Fog m/

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eh none of them are too similar, but their most recent one has the same guy on vocals. It's not as good as this obviously, but still worth listening to.

MisterSteel
November 12th 2011



453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only heard this and Grand Declaration of War, which I remember being really strange. Thinking about trying out Chimera.

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Chimera is their second best after this.

MisterSteel
November 12th 2011



453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll give it a shot then and see how it goes.

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll check them out, maybe I'll enjoy their others. Taking overall albums into consideration I think Emperor is the best bm band.

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eh well there's plenty of bands who aren't as popular that have consistent discographies that could be considered for that. Emperor is up there for sure though and their first two albums are absolute classics.

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Immortal and Enslaved are pretty damn good, haven't listened to all of Enslaved's discography though.

BallsToTheWall
November 12th 2011



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In terms of great oldschool Norwegian black metal listen to Perdition Hearse, Incarnator, Isvind and early In The Woods.

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hades Almighty is underrated for early Norwegian black metal. They haven't released much though.

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I find it hard to get into the really low-fi early black metal bands, most of my favorite stuff is connected to prog or avant-garde in some way.

Hawks
November 12th 2011



34293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You'd definitely like Solefald and Arcturus then, if you haven't already listen to them. They're some pretty well known bands from the second wave of Norwegian black metal.

demon of surveillance
November 12th 2011



802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love Arcturus, I'll look up Solefald. Check out Crow Black Sky, they're melodic black/death metal
from South Africa.

Tyrael
November 12th 2011



20723 Comments


Awesome album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy