Friend For A Foe
Source of Isolation


4.0
excellent

Review

by JeebusRools USER (1 Reviews)
November 9th, 2011 | 14 replies | 4,109 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Absolutely nothing groundbreaking, this is simply modern/progressive metalcore done extremely well.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Based out of Washington DC, Friend For A Foe began as a small project for lead guitarist and founder Chris Purvis. With the addition of Chris Barreto (Ex-Periphery), Friend For A Foe began to really take off. Soon after signing with Myriad Records the band released their debut EP, Source of Isolation.

With metalcore clearly on the decline here at the beginning of the new decade, Friend For a Foe gives us hope for the future of metalcore. One of the biggest things that sets Friend For a Foe apart from other metalcore acts is the fact that they tend to avoid abusing breakdowns. In addition to refraining from overusing breakdowns FFaF, achieves the much sought after balance of heavy chugging and soaring cleans that popular bands such as The Human Abstract and Periphery achieve, but they do it in a more generic way.

Probably the highlight of the album is Chris Barreto. Chris Barreto's vocal abilities have greatly increased since his stint with periphery. His harsh vocals are absolutely phenomenal. He his cleans are as good as always if not better and they accent the music perfectly. His vocal range may not be as wide as current periphery vocalist Spencer Sotelo, but the tone of his voice is much more palatable especially to Sotelo haters.

All in all, fans of progressive metalcore will surely find this album to be better or as good as anything else out today. Go pick up the EP and support one of the most promising metalcore acts of the new decade.

Recommended tracks:'
Fallout
The Sky and the Fall


user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JeebusRools
November 9th 2011



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review ever, so go easy guys, any feedback negative or positive is welcome! I just felt this album was too good to not have a review.

bloc
November 9th 2011



34669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album's pretty cool

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

pmmets07
November 9th 2011



5844 Comments


"As I am not a particularly talented writer nor am I a music major I will try to refrain from sounding like a complete jackass by keeping this review short and sweet." Omit.

"As much as i love a good breakdown I'm not not 12, there is no need for a 3:32 long breakdown."

No need to capitalize metalcore either.

Besides those grammatical errors, definitely a good, concise review. Pos.

Satellite
November 9th 2011



20676 Comments


don't capitalize "metalcore"

edit: fuck.

Digging: Dikembe - Mediumship

JeebusRools
November 9th 2011



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Edited. Thanks!

xandermander
November 10th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Chris Barretto sounds like Randy Blythe had a love child with Jesus.

xandermander
November 10th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

And I don't exactly know what is "metalcore" about this EP. I don't really detect any -core influence.

shortz
November 10th 2011



201 Comments


I dig this album, nice to see a review for it. Just two things:

1. "will surely find this album to be better or as agood as anything else out today"

Just a typo there (agood).

2. I feel you could have gone a bit more into the music (how it sounds/differs from other bands of the genre) and potentially elaborated more on how they give us hope for the genre. (Is the biggest thing really that they don't abuse breakdowns?)

Other than that, short and to the point.

seedofnothing
November 10th 2011



3425 Comments


"And I don't exactly know what is "metalcore" about this EP. I don't really detect any -core influence"

one of the funniest comments ive ever heard on sputnik

JeebusRools
November 10th 2011



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i wrote this at work and it was quite busy. if i had made it any longer my ideas woulda been really choppy.

xandermander
November 10th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Am I funny to you, seed of nothing?

botb
November 10th 2011



9523 Comments


there's a lot of metalcore influence on this derp

but vox are fucking amazing.

xandermander
November 11th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is about as metalcore as periphery's self titled so if you consider a few junz and djents to be -core inspired then to each his own

JeebusRools
November 23rd 2011



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why does the genre matter so much? they're a cross between many genres and it's tough to put a finger on what describes them the best. "metalcore" isn't what it used to be 5 years ago. granted there are still some metalcore bands around but this IS progressive metalcore whether you agree or not.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy