Tangerine Dream
Alpha Centauri


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andru Okenuf USER (32 Reviews)
October 23rd, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1971 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 40 years later, Tangerine Dream’s sound holds up

In 1971, cigarettes were 38 cents a pack, Bob Dylan was still in his twenties, and the internet was 25 years away. England had begun its recovery from Beatlemania, Americans were still celebrating the success of the Apollo 11 moon landing, and fans of the New York Knicks were excited that for the second time in almost 15 years, the NBA champions were someone other than the Boston Celtics. When the Mini-Moog was released by Moog Music just 1 year earlier, not many people took notice. But for a small group of aspiring musicians, its position as one of the first widely available, portable and affordable synthesizers gave them the ability to make music in a whole new way.

Alongside Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream stood among those who pioneered ways to use these new sounds to create music never heard before. With no one else to look back on for help, they managed carefully arranged and orchestrated ensemble productions that would run around inside listeners’ heads. Lulling you into submission before alarming you, their music manages to flirt tantalizingly, creating responses and impulses wholly different from anything ever experienced before.

Listening to 'Alpha Centauri' recalls an entire spectrum of emotion. Equal parts serenity and anxiety, this is an album so subtle that it can make your entire mood shift minutes before you can trace the cause back to the rising beat. When paying careful attention, however, it is easy to feel the synthesizers run wild within us and take us on an electronic journey through undiscovered terrain. Our bodies adapt to the powerful and still futuristic world lain in front of us as our mind battles against the eeriness it struggles to fully understand. And as we listen deeper and deeper, as our very being becomes shifted by what we hear, the aura of exploring the abyss never leaves.

So as the 'Sunrise in the Third System' comforts us, as the 'Fly and Collision of Comas Sola' screams at us, and as the decadent 'Alpha Centauri' has its way with us, it is as if Tangerine Dream is standing in front of us on full display. Their voice is not muffled or out of touch but stands strong even as we journey further into the 21st century. For an album whose greatest fault is that it falls just short of what the band would soon achieve, the sharp and gorgeous ‘Alpha Centauri’ remains a recommended listen to any and all those who are ready for an incredible voyage through the origins of electronic music.



Recent reviews by this author
Mylo Destroy Rock And RollThe xx Coexist
The Future Sound of London LifeformsTricky Maxinquaye
Anais Mitchell Young Man in AmericaExoplanet Nothing Divides Us Here
user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
aok
October 23rd 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure how I feel about this, and surprised by the way this one kindof popped out. But anyways, this thing definitely needed a review. Tangerine Dream have always been and continue to be one of the most exceptional groups around.

Gyromania
October 24th 2011


15941 Comments


I feel like you really could have lengthened this review if only because I feel like you have a lot more to say about this than you did here. At any rate, I'm glad to see you writing again and what's here is solid. Keep 'em coming, man.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think i have more to say about tangerine dream than this album -- this is one of the few unplanned
reviews i've written. thanks for the encouraging words either way though

pizzamachine
October 24th 2011


12571 Comments


The review reads more like a history lesson than anything, but it's really well-written! pos

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'd call this a lot of background and an extended soundoff. thanks for the kind words. also thanks for the ghost neg whoever you are ¬_¬

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mmkay - the 3 of you convinced me to beef it up a bit. a few more sentences probly does make the thing look almost legit

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2011


31358 Comments


Has this been beefed up yet, or are you still going to add to it?

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what would you recommend? (I'm catching some zs for now but will check back up tomorrow)

Rev
October 24th 2011


9436 Comments


more detail, give examples on certain stuff, idk

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dang - you were totally still awake last night dyl? i shoulda run this by you. will try to edit tonight, probly won't get to it til tomorrow though

iFghtffyrdmns
October 24th 2011


7047 Comments


yeah and be careful with the usage of "we" and "our" and "you", it's something to generally be avoided.

Kaleid
October 24th 2011


711 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's difficult to review a Tangerine Dream album. Couple that with the fact that they've made more albums than almost anyone else (well over one hundred) and I'm not surprised that most haven't been reviewed here.

I'm glad you did this one though, cos it's a good 'un. Maybe expand the third paragraph, and keep the TD reviews coming!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2011


6487 Comments


For what it's worth, I think the review is fine as it is now. Concise but informative enough. Enjoy the pos!

I love Kraftwerk, but I still have to discover this band...

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

aok
October 24th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks kaleid. TD is a pretty tough band to write about but as this one started popping out, I figured I would make the extra push and publish it before I forgot about the draft I had going.

and clercqie - definitely check out tangerine dream! probly best to start with one of the ones listed in the recs (phaedra if i had to point to one). kind words from you are worth quite a bit in my book

Ire
October 30th 2011


41795 Comments


going to check this out tonight

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
October 30th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oooh, do some drugs then if you do that sort of stuff. Or just make sure you're alone and can immerse yourself into it.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
October 30th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And would you like at that rating of mine! Wonder when I rated it.

aok
October 30th 2011


4440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dang daniel no love for alpha centauri eh? i got a chunk of a review written for stratosfear but don't like that one as much as you do. also, i added an extra sentence to paragraph 3 -- maybe it deserves more detail, but the extended soundoff as written is certainly better than nothing

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
October 30th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can still dig it and do dig it, but for me Tangerine Dream were still working out kinks at that stage and learning what works - so has plenty of flaws to the album.

scissorlocked
November 1st 2011


3511 Comments


so glad seeing people reviewing Tangerine dream

band is immense



Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy