Ed Sheeran
+


2.5
average

Review

by Ali CONTRIBUTOR (129 Reviews)
October 13th, 2011 | 68 replies | 15,476 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A true talent wasted on bed-wetting music.

I had high hopes for Ed Sheeran. Ever since catching one of his early live performances, I had an image formed in my head of a fresh and inventive force who mashed together an array of influences into an exciting and vibrant new sound. True, artists aren’t always able to transfer the energy of their live shows onto their studio recordings, but it seemed absurd that such an obvious talent wouldn’t show itself once he did eventually release an LP. That optimism was checked somewhat upon my first listen of lead single ‘The A Team,’ but subsequent spins did thankfully unveil a fine composition, albeit one that had been diluted to such an extent that Sheeran was barely recognisable as the scruffy ginger kid who had previously wowed audiences with his minimalist electronica.

Unfortunately, ‘The A Team’ was very much a sign of things to come, and as such this debut album arrives as a severely watered down representation of a man who is so clearly capable of producing better. That’s not to say that + doesn’t have it’s moments; Given that he’s only 20, it’s remarkable that Sheeran can write songs with the underlying social conscience of ‘Drunk’ or ‘Grade 8.’ It’s sad then that this clear promise is largely masked by a blatant attempt to break into the emotional pop market currently dominated by Adele, rather than a further exploration of his urban roots, which would have been far more interesting. It doesn’t help that for every pleasant moment there are also numerous instances where Sheeran is found simply trying too hard. "That’s why you and I ended over U.N.I." for instance is a cringe-inducing attempt at lyrical poignancy which has fallen flat on it’s face before other factors are even allowed to wetten it to the point of liquidation.

To be fair, though, you can forgive such a young artist for missteps such as that. The fact that he (or more likely his record company) has moulded him into a pale imitation of his true self is more difficult to overlook, however, and it’s that sense of wastefulness which renders this debut such a disappointment. It's not that his songs aren't pleasant - they're never anything less - but they never threaten to be anything more than that, and the effect begins to grate rather quickly. Even worse, though, you get the impression that Sheeran himself isn't entirely satisfied with this new direction, and would far sooner be going down the hip hop/electronica path which first got him noticed. Maybe if he sells X units he'll be granted greater creative freedom, but it seems more likely that so long as he's on a major label his hands will remain tied.



Recent reviews by this author
RM Hubbert First and LastWithered Hand New Gods
The Twilight Sad Live at Paisley AbbeyStephen Malkmus Wig Out At Jagbags
The Strypes SnapshotFranz Ferdinand Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action
user ratings (177)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Scott M. Baldwin (2.5)
Sheeran's soothing voice and occasionally obvious acoustic chops can't make up for predictable music...

Green Baron (3)
A disappointing debut from an excellent live performer....

trending alt & indie albums

Here and Nowhere Else

AM

Cope

St. Vincent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



7255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Slightly shorter than my usual reviews, hope it will suffice.

Tikicobra
October 13th 2011



569 Comments


There are quite a few spelling errors.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



7255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agh computer crashed in the middle of spell check, I'll re-run it

Edit: fixed

jefflebowski
October 13th 2011



6847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review is so very true

SowingSeason
Emeritus
October 13th 2011



14513 Comments


dude you really are picking up with your reviews, glad to see it

Adabelle
October 13th 2011



4170 Comments


Gets way too much radio play.

Titan50
October 13th 2011



4588 Comments


I hate this cunt and all of his fans

"Awwww man u herd this Ed Sheeran guy he's sooooo unique and emotional"

Fuck off

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



7255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thing is, he kind of was until Atlantic got ahold of him

Sowing: I've started doing reviews on muzicdizcovery.com, which basically means I'm doing a lot more. all of those are positive reviews, so I'm trying to balance them out with ones like this.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2011



30316 Comments


Album title is a cross, must be witch house

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Knott-
Emeritus
October 13th 2011



10194 Comments


This is pretty much spot on. I love 'The A Team' and I have a huge spot for 'YNMIDNY' too, but lol when U.N.I reached the chorus I actually lol'd. And yeah, it's so fucking annoying that everyone in the whole world is waxing lyrical about him like he's the second coming of Dylan or something. But I agree, he's a good singer-songwriter, but most of these are not good songs.

toxin.
October 14th 2011



11824 Comments


"cape able"
Spellcheck < re-reading (preferably out loud)

defjaw83
October 14th 2011



1763 Comments


I enjoy The A Team but I don't get the hype surrounding the guy. He was really good on Jools Holland a few months back when it was just him singing with an acoustic guitar and a loop machine, but I don't expect anything like that on the album.

Digging: Bonobo - The North Borders

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2011



7255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the nitpicks guys

And yeah he was excellent on Jools, that's what I was hoping for here but more or less all of it sounds like 'The A Team'

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2011



7255 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

double post

mutatedfreek
October 14th 2011



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was gonna review this then I forgot how to write, so I'm glad someone else did. It's ridiculously frustrating how good The A Team is compared to the rest of the album.

Jones
October 14th 2011



38 Comments


Talented guy, overrated though. Also, that line about pastries on The A Team makes me cringe.

vanderlyle
October 14th 2011



156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My girl digs this guy. She normally has good taste.

defjaw83
October 14th 2011



1763 Comments


Everyone's wanking over him at the moment

Sanders
October 14th 2011



2326 Comments


Good review pal, I hated this guy at first when I heard The A Team being played every other song on the radio, but it inevitably won me over. I see him as being a bit of an English equivalent to Jason Mraz, someone who is pretty sick live but who gets watered down on recordings into a shadow of their full potential.

PurpleDino
October 16th 2011



2948 Comments


yeah this is pretty much true

I underrate this because he gets overrated by my friends



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy