(The) Slowest Runner (In All The World)
We, Burning Giraffes


5.0
classic

Review

by Beram C. Lansay USER (21 Reviews)
October 13th, 2011 | 74 replies | 8,298 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Greatest post-rock album ever created?

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

(The) Slowest Runner (In All The World) fall nicely within the descripter post-rock and draw heavy influence from Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Much like Godspeed, they also shy away from the lime-light. Instead of actively interacting with fans they opt to remain relatively anonymous. The concept of letting the music do the talking is a romantic one, but it's also pretty ballsy too. You can't help but respect a band who just wants to jam, and We, Burning Giraffes is certainly the result of spontaneity and passion.

The Godspeed comparison is fitting but (The) Slowest Runner have crafted something truly unique in their own right. Godspeed is heralded for creating lavish alien soundscapes that manage to swallow any unsuspecting listener whereas (The) Slowest Runner take a slightly different approach. The sounds on this album are enveloping and consuming, yet there is a urgency that is much more present when contrasted to Godspeed. Each track moves at an exhilarating pace, boasting the bands ability to orchestrate the flow of the music. This album is simply stunning, much like those of Godspeed, yet it also manages to be much more accessible in a certain regard.

Ultimately (The) Slowest Runner have crafted an exhilarating experience. Whether it is the lone string erupting into a furious collage of noise on the track "Zoe Machete Control" or the isolated vocal that drones for a friend on the track "Aembers/Guggenheim", the end result is nothing short of profound. We, Burning Giraffes doesn't plead to be accepted, or to be loved; it dares you not to. This is a record that transcends time and culture, that brings together a collection of instruments to form a grand offering. This is an album that is something truly special.



Recent reviews by this author
Demon Queen Exorcise Tape (Esorcizzare Nastro)Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The Heist
Death Grips The Money StoreBryant Dope Queens Kids
Lute West1996Gifted A Star Is Born
user ratings (89)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
The album that became epic by trying not to be....

Scott Krasman (4.5)
Godspeed fans may have missed a gem from 2010....


Comments:Add a Comment 
lancebramsay
October 13th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Short review for one of my favorite albums, thanks Scoot!
Get their album for effin' free
http://theslowestrunner.bandcamp.com/album/we-burning-giraffes


lancebramsay
October 13th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yea, so

minty901
October 13th 2011



1913 Comments


Pos. Short and Sweet. I downloaded this a little while ago but have yet to listen to it. Too many albums to get through atm but I'm sure I'll get round to it.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review man, pos. Scoot also showed this band to me, what a guy. I should probably bump it back to a 4.5.... hmm, I'll spin it tonight and decide then.

She Died In A Fit Of Apoplexy is an absolutely stunning closer.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

thebhoy
Emeritus
October 13th 2011



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is an album that fits itself well within the confines of time and culture: there is nothing particularly transcendental about it because it plays on every trope of post-rock we've come to expect. Does this mean it's a bad album? No, I like it. It's not that I don't agree with your rating (well I don't, but that's not the point), I just feel like you make some statements in this review that you need to qualify a bit.

Also, that first line needs to go.

Also also, there is no such word as "deliberance", is it a typo?

Otherwise a pretty decent review

North0House2
October 13th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer their Flophouse Sessions recording over this. It's just a little more natural to me.
I found these guys last summer, and they were certainly the find of the season for me, I still listen to them.
I should put this on again, I haven't in quite a bit. Good review.

Digging: Horseback - Piedmont Apocrypha

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with thebhoy about the first line

YetAnotherBrick
October 13th 2011



4315 Comments


Pretty good review, should talk a little bit more about how the album actually sounds, though.

And I really need to hear this.

Digging: The Beatles - Revolver

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


dumbass hipster name for a band

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


a lot of this review either makes no sense or is built upon half-assed assumptions youre making of the band and what theyre trying to do

You can't help but respect a band who just wants to jam, and We, Burning Giraffes is certainly the result of spontaneity and passion.


this makes no sense. gotta respect a band who wants to play music? (retarded) you say this album is the result of spontaneity and then follow up later with a stupid fucking sentence like this:

The sounds on this album are enveloping and consuming, yet there is a deliberance that is much more present when contrasted to Godspeed.


being deliberate about something (deliberance isnt even a fuckin word) is the exact opposite of doing things spontaneously so i dont know what youre trying to say and im pretty sure youre talking out your ass

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


also, you say that these guys draw direct lineage from godspeed THEMSELVES as if this band is made up of past members from gybe or that theyre descendants of that band (which they arent). if youre going to say they play music in the same style as gybe, which is what i assume you mean, then use something more appropriate

so after stating how this band draws direct lineage from Godspeed and talking about how theyre basically a godspeed tribute band, you then make the contradictory statement of how these guys have crafted something truly unique in their own right

last thing:

We, Burning Giraffes doesn't plead to be accepted, or to be loved; it dares you not to.


another bs assumption with no backing context

accompliceofmydeath
October 13th 2011



4083 Comments


alachlahol tearin' this guy's review to shreds. Good points though, alach.

Digging: Crowbar - Crowbar

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


listened to half this album on bandcamp and closed the browser before putting a bullet in my head hahahaha im still alive fuckers

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"closed the browser before putting a bullet in my head hahahaha im still alive fuckers"

haha. fuck

Scoot
October 13th 2011



17479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

he doesn't have a brain to shoot anyways

Digging: Acme - To Reduce the Choir to One Soloist

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


scoot when you added this album to your music library did you label it post-post-rock

Scoot
October 13th 2011



17479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah i did and then i sat at a computer for hours on end trying to prove how intelligent i was to total strangers

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one sec guys im gonna throw a bag of popcorn in the microwave

alachlahol
October 13th 2011



7422 Comments


thats pretty condescending man youve spent years on end proving how stupid you are to total strangers hahaha

Scoot
October 13th 2011



17479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

and then i looked down and said man, my boner is so totally rock hard right now look how awesome i am on the internet. time to go wank it to another post punk album from 1984





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy