Evanescence
Evanescence


1.5
very poor

Review

by Bill Thomas USER (15 Reviews)
October 11th, 2011 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


Every time these guys release something, I get my hopes up. 2003's Fallen was a good, albeit flawed record. There were rockers, there were ballads, there were ***ty rap contributions. But they at least knew what they wanted to sound like, and for that reason, and that reason alone is why this eponymous release fails where Fallen succeeded.

From the moment that this record begins, it's plain to see that Evanescence is struggling to find identity. The first track, also the lead single off of the album, starts off with arena rock drums, and a vocal line reminiscent of the Spice Girls. Even when the crunchy, down-tuned metal guitars kick in, it's still a very watery song. This sets the theme for the record going onwards. Most of the songs have little to no substance to them, and when the opportunity arises for substance to grow, it seems that they want to counter this with bad mixing, and questionable writing. "My Heart is Broken" starts off with a beautiful piano line backed by strings, with a nice melody from Amy Lee's admittedly gorgeous voice. And then the drums kick in. It feels like they took one of their more hard-sounding songs, and transplanted in the drums. They don't fit at all. And with how high they are in the mix, it's almost impossible to ignore how wrong they sound.

"The Change" starts off as a ballad but goes nowhere "Sick" tries at first to sound like a Tool song, fails because the drums are too high in the mix, so you can't hear the bassline. And then progresses into the chord change that is in every nü-metal song out there. Not to mention the corny chanting of "Sick of it all" during the chorus. "End of the Dream" Shows that they worship KoRn and Within Temptation still, with almost blinding unoriginality. These themes just repeat each other again and again and again throughout the record.

Now, while most of the songs on this record are pretty awful, there are usually one or two moments that hint at possible greatness. Aside from that "Made of Stone" and "The Other Side" are genuinely good songs. "Made of Stone" has a really nice guitar riff, and shows that these guys could pull off some really nice goth-pop. While "The Other Side" shows the only respectable percussion on the entire album. Even if the guitar is pretty by-the-numbers Nü-metal. The drums and vocals are top notch.

Evanescence is an unfortunate failure in a sea of oppurtunity. While this album took about 4 years to come out, I feel that if they took some extra time, and worked out the production, mixing, and some of the songwriting kinks, this record could have been a nice addition to their catalog. But, instead it will now serve as bait for the "remember back in the day" ***s. And for once I would have to actually side with them. For a band who had a very clear identity and audience with their debut, searching for a new identity should have a little more work put into it, and not sound like a cluster***.



Recent reviews by this author
They Might Be Giants Join UsWeen 12 Golden Country Greats
DIR EN GREY MACABREWeen The Pod
Ween Chocolate and CheeseThe Fall Fall Heads Roll
user ratings (331)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
BrilliantChaos (3)
Nothing new here, for obvious reasons....

Matthew D. French (3.5)
A surprising album, Evanescence’s self-titled shows maturity and ends up being more engaging than ...

SlimJim (4)
After a 5-year hiatus, Evanescence churn out their most musically interesting and technically impres...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Asiatic667
October 11th 2011


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

your rating is all i need to know that you are a hippie loser with a tiny penis.

foreverendeared
October 11th 2011


14678 Comments


Yeah because that makes sense.

Asiatic667
October 11th 2011


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

don't take that tone with me young man

AsoTamaki
October 11th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, your review is the first time I've seen someone on this site not (inexplicably) refer to "Made of Stone" and "The Other Side" as filler. Props for that.

However, I've got nothing else good to say so I'll be making my exit.

Gyromania
October 11th 2011


15973 Comments


I feel as though you argued your points very poorly in this review. The structure is a little awkward as well.

But they at least knew what they wanted to sound like, and for that reason, and that reason alone is why this eponymous release fails where Fallen succeeded.


This is a really bold statement. Evanescence sounded lost and confused on Fallen. Certain tracks are just outright immature and unimaginative. This is a very refreshing change of pace that sees the band drawing from many electronic influences to yield something new and invigorating.

Your comparison between Amy Lee and the Spice Girls is absolutely ridiculous, they are worlds apart. I'm also baffled as to how you can knock the production (seriously, what were you expecting?) Going to have to neg this one.

Asiatic667
October 11th 2011


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this review sucks big cock, I mean who actually writes like that?

foreverendeared
October 11th 2011


14678 Comments


Sorry :[

Asiatic667
October 11th 2011


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The only thing that sucks is amy lee not sucking your dick, because evanescence Roolz.

linchpin313
October 11th 2011


813 Comments


^ They don't really "rool" but I'm pretty sure this doesn't deserve a 1.5

AsoTamaki
October 11th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Your comparison between Amy Lee and the Spice Girls is absolutely ridiculous"

Actually, I lol'd and can totally see where he's coming from there. I assume he means the "do what you-what you want" part. In fact, I saw an interview with Amy Lee where she said she was embarrassed to sing that part at first because she thought the guys in the band might laugh and say something similar.

Gyromania
October 11th 2011


15973 Comments


I can see comparisons to pop music, but citing the Spice Girls seems a little out-there to me. Fair enough though.

druglesshippie
October 11th 2011


182 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Asiatic, I AM a hippie loser with a tiny penis, how did you know?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2011


50872 Comments


Your review is .5 too high

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

foreverendeared
October 11th 2011


14678 Comments


"I can see comparisons to pop music, but citing the Spice Girls seems a little out-there to me."

He didn't say "this sounds like Spice Girls." He just said "a vocal line reminiscent of the Spice Girls." That's not a comparison.

simonpettersen
October 11th 2011


272 Comments


I don't think I've ever been this dissapointed. Each time I listen to Fallen I get sky high, I totally love that album. Their second album was just avrage... this is horrible. I can't stand it.

RosaParks
October 11th 2011


14972 Comments


REVIEW IS BAD AND YOU SHOULD FEEL BAD

pizzamachine
October 11th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG2KMkQLZmI

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011


15743 Comments


sputnik has its dander up today

Emim
October 11th 2011


26675 Comments


Doubt this is any higher than a 3

AggravatedYeti
October 12th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've heard worse than that first single.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy