I Declare War
I Declare War


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ben USER (1 Reviews)
October 11th, 2011 | 122 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I Declare War has distilled ten tracks with an original and refreshing 200 proof shot of heaviness down the hatch. Miserable in sound, and evenly matched in brutality, I Declare War is a solid piece of hatred that 'll keep the angry coming back.

I have always liked I Declare War. They are a very grab-your-attention-spit-in-your-face-and-break-you-the-buck-down kind of band. And I really like those kinds of bands. More importantly, amidst heavy saturation in the death core world, I Declare War continues to present the soul of death core in a refreshing manner. Upon hearing their new self titled album, its heaviness is resolute. Expect your brutal, terrific breakdowns brought still with harsh vocals from new vocalist Jamie. Although in honesty his vocals are a bit airier than Jon’s, he does a solid job in directing the band in their bloody assault across 10 songs. I personally felt Jon was a better vocalist for the band, but perhaps I am just clinging to a familiar voice in I Declare War. In contrast to their last release Malevolence, the band has hugely improved their songwriting capabilities. Listen to the first five seconds of almost any track from Malevolence; slow to start and not particularly ear grabbing. Compare this to any song introductions from I Declare War, and let yourself be caught off guard. Intro’s to songs like Human Waste, The Dot, or the Final Hour pull the listener right in for an chuggy and merciless ear beating. This brings us to the best song from the album Final Hour. The track opens with a riff that put Malevolence to shame, and keeps you lured in as the song grows angrier. Crazed fans of Whitechapel will be happy to hear the dominating presence of vocalist Phil Bozemen, beginning his slaughter towards the middle of the track. Speaking of Phil Bozeman, I Declare War’s big time influence from Whitechapel shines more than ever, preparing a chilling dish of sickening breakdowns and slower, doomier guitar parts laced with dread.
Ultimately, I Declare War is a polished, solid and deserved score of deathcore that will render break down lovers paralyzed in aggression. More exciting, technical, and heavier than their former work Malevolence, I Declare War will turn heads and get the attention they have been deserving since 2007.
Give em a like on Facebook, and buy the damn album!


user ratings (96)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
HiLion (4)
If It Ain't Broke Blast Beat The Fuck Out of It...


Comments:Add a Comment 
cvlts
October 11th 2011


8987 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

jesus this band makes me ashamed of being from seattle sometimes

AfterTheBreakdown
October 11th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heavy

Ssssssss
October 11th 2011


683 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

The best deathcore evr


Eulogize
October 11th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay review. Probably will be checking this out because Misery Cloud was pretty good despite the lol-worthy lyrics.

And the new vocalist reminds me a lot of Oceano's.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 11th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well on of the songs features oceano's vocalist..

AfterTheBreakdown
October 11th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nevermind i lied.

Eulogize
October 11th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was about to say I don't even know how you could tell the two apart.

bloozclooz
October 11th 2011


1770 Comments


Give em a like on Facebook, and buy the damn album!

wat

AfterTheBreakdown
October 11th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i see what u mean^^

Pharoh
October 11th 2011


3325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heavy

dansxdead
October 11th 2011


438 Comments


This review is just kind of a promotion of the album, not really a review.

MudIdol
October 11th 2011


590 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice job promoting the album. Anyone actually gonna review this?

Carnifex
October 11th 2011


1918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So... is this someone in the band writing this review or something?

AfterTheBreakdown
October 11th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think you have a point carnifex.

Xaz
October 11th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Lol easy there killers. If someone writes a review about a band that they like, they probably have good things to say about them. Is that understandable? Guess I will try and be less bias'd next time I write a review..

FrankRedHot
October 11th 2011


6448 Comments


Or just not write anymore reviews

Xaz
October 12th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Lol I suppose I wrote this review before I looked into the community. Like any internet group, you're all a bunch of douche bags. No surprise there. I've been looking through reviews, and half of you critique the reviewer, not the music, because you clearly need some sense of superiority over someone, thanks to lack luster attention and significance in the real world. Being a troll is cute, but a troll with 3000 comments, at least 1500 of those probably being critiques of some guys writing...lol. I'll write twenty more reviews and you can waste your time on all of them, runt.

Eulogize
October 12th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking lol.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 12th 2011


7174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Someone is pissy.

Carnifex
October 12th 2011


1918 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

tears for fears - mad world



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy