We Are The In Crowd
Best Intentions


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
October 4th, 2011 | 67 replies | 14,336 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: She said... He said... She said... She said.

While one would be hard-pressed to argue that the genre has delivered anything truly original for quite some time now, pop-punk has observed a minor resurgence of late. As the grittier end of the spectrum has returned to its blue-collar roots, the poppier style has steadily infiltrated the mainstream, with the likes of Fall Out Boy, Panic! at The Disco and Paramore all achieving significant worldwide success. The latter outfit have also pioneered a female-led dynamic, with a number of virtual copycats popping up to cash in. Quite possibly the most promising of the bunch is New York quintet We Are The In Crowd, who look to target both genders of the genre's predominantly young demographic by employing boy-girl vocals. While lacking in diversity, the band's debut EP 'Guaranteed To Disagree' delivered seven fun, energetic and infectious tracks which were certain to please its intended audience. Follow-up LP 'Best Intentions' is likely to do the same, even if its attempts at growth are minimal.

Employing their fan-friendly formula, punchy up-tempo opener and lead single 'Rumor Mill' practically summarizes the album in one hit. Dual vocalists Taylor Jardine (the girl) and Jordan Eckes (the boy) trade verses to convey the "he said, she said" nature of their song-writing, while Jardine takes over come chorus time. At their best when the pace is high and the vocalists display an angsty attitude, both 'Rumor Mill' and closer 'Better Luck Next Time' also lift the quality of the supporting musicians. Elsewhere, everything is competent, but very little stands out from the crowded pack. Any attempt at varying the vocal dynamic is predictable and, no matter how often they sprinkle keys around or make the bass-lines audible, the quality of each tune ultimately relies on how catchy its chorus is. Whenever the energy drops and the band hit mid-tempo pop-rock fare, the results are bland and the one-dimensional aspect of the act wears thin. 'All or Nothing' and the strings-infused 'You've Got It Made' are admirable attempts at writing ballads with some depth, but the necessary maturity required to distinguish such tracks is yet to come.

Expectations of the individual listener will clearly determine how one views ‘Best Intentions’, since it is clearly not an album intended to deliver anything too ground-breaking… While the dual vocal dynamic does have potential, We Are The In Crowd are unlikely to alter the course of music history in any way, shape or form. Their debut LP does succeed, however, in meeting the expectations of their target demographic; delivering a consistent batch of ten catchy tracks that waste very little time getting to their contagious choruses. The album may not have much replay value for the casual listener, but at less than 32 minutes in length, it won’t take up too much of their time either. Rarely falling to the depths of many of their peers (excluding the annoying title of the otherwise decent ‘This Isn’t Goodbye, It’s BRB’), the very least that can be said about ‘Best Intentions’ is that its title is apt.

Recommended Tracks: Rumor Mill, Better Luck Next Time & On Your Own.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
heyadam
October 4th 2011



1708 Comments


This came by surprise! I was looking forward to their next album, but I had no idea it dropped today. Downloading right now

Digging: Wovenwar - Wovenwar

F0RBES
October 5th 2011



261 Comments


Heard this band by accident at Warped Tour 2 years ago. Listened to a few songs on youtube, and found it to be rather cringe worthy. Pretty catchy, but nonetheless terrible imo.

Lolgical
October 5th 2011



48 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like the idea of the boy-girl vocals, but the male vocalist can't hold his own. I wouldn't want to imagine this band without the female lead.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Way too much pop-punky type of albums dropped today.

"Catchy, but terrible" FORBES? Almost a contradiction. I know what you mean though.

I don't think Eckes is awful, but you're right in that he couldn't handle the load by himself. The thing is, if he is gradually phased out, do the band lose everything that differentiates them? I guess the answer depends on how much Jardine improves.

Lolgical
October 5th 2011



48 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yea, I completely agree. Without the boy-girl dynamic there really isn't anything that separates them from the hoards of other bands doing this exact same formula. I would just like to see more interplay between the two of them and see him improve. Right now, it just seems like he was an afterthought.

JaySeanFenris
October 5th 2011



140 Comments


Lol, there are like 1000 pop-punk releases today, it's weird (but awesome).

I'll have you know FOB's last album wasn't pop punk and Panic! is just plain not pop punk, the
influence is there, but they're just a strange form of pop rock.

I've never gotten into these guys, probably won't start now.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wouldn't say he is an afterthought (although I know the summary of the review insinuates that). I just think that they (or their label) know is what gonna sell at the end of the day.

Come on, 'Rumor Mill' is good.

I won't get into genre debates JSF. I tried to split the 2 kinds of pop-punk up in the intro paragraph. Will leave it at that.

iFghtffyrdmns
October 5th 2011



7047 Comments


What do you mean you won't get into a genre debate Davey, don't you know that arguing genres into the ground is the most enjoyable and productive past time, ever? duh.

F0RBES
October 5th 2011



261 Comments


@DaveyBoy, it's kinda like Katy Perry. You hear her song for your first time, and you get the hook already. Replay value? None. Substance? None.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2011



23806 Comments


read the recommended by review section (and that's it, sorry Dave I'm too lazy to read a 3/5 review for something like this)

definitely going to avoid this

Tyrael
October 5th 2011



20824 Comments


Ew pop punk

Awesometastic review Davey!

F0RBES
October 5th 2011



261 Comments


Calling this pop punk makes me mad. It's more radio-pop music from a group not big enough to get radio airplay.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My final words on the genre debate here is: This is prog-rock, yeah?

Good on ya FORBES, you've just put Perry's 'Friday Night' in my head.

That's what that section is there for Aids.

Thanks Thomas.

Agreed andcas. Damn those catchy people.

BallsToTheWall
October 5th 2011



44164 Comments


this is way too catchy to hate.


Comrade ALtmer....I mean Andcas is correctamundo.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Where is Altmer these days?

joshieboy12345
October 6th 2011



5370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their EP was surprisingly good when it came out, and i am pretty sure i was one of the first people outside of the United States to hear of them.
Nonetheless this is above average pop-punk and is a great follow up to their EP.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, yes & yes. Well said Joshie.

F0RBES
October 6th 2011



261 Comments


If it's really that catchy maybe I will have to actually listen to it...considering all I have been doing until know is making assumptions of it's shittiness.

Also, why the fuck did I caps lock my username, whenever someone types it I swear to god they're screaming at me...

BallsToTheWall
October 6th 2011



44164 Comments


No idea Davey no idea.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2011



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

forbes, why don't you just YT 'Rumor Mill' & go from there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy