Counting Crows
August And Everything After


5.0
classic

Review

by JesusChris USER (5 Reviews)
September 29th, 2011 | 19 replies | 4,373 views


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "These seconds when I'm shaking, leave me shuddering for days" She says, and I'm not ready for this sort of thing.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

From 1993 to present day, you’d be hard pressed to find someone who hasn’t heard Counting Crows hit song ‘Mr. Jones’ off their debut album August and Everything After, the ‘sha-la-la-la’ and penetrating guitar hook are renowned across the world. The track screams of nostalgia and the album it came from was the soundtrack to many current ‘40 somethings’ transition into adulthood.

For me, August and Everything After played the role of the annoying drivel my parents played on road trips when I was 6-10 years old. I loathed everything about it, the cringe-inducing way my parents knew and sang every word, the way the songs would stay in your head for hours later and Adam Duritz’ vocals that at the time seemed so boring and monotonous. Fast forward 5 years later when on a tranquil Autumn day I decide to throw the album on, just for a bit of laugh and to perhaps rehash some old memories of the album I loved to hate. What happened next was the combination of my own transition into minor adolescence. Whether it was my own tarnished high school relationship, the recent move to a new school and city and the feeling of isolation that came with it; something resounded with me in the way that Duritz poured every emotion he had into these songs, they were raw and passionate; gone was the monotony and boredom and in its place stood a voice filled with heart and vulnerability. It’s safe to say I fell in love.

The reason this album is a classic and will remain a classic lies not in the musicianship so much as it is in the lyrics, the way Duritz tells a story with each and every track on here, the way he entwines beautiful metaphors with evocative sentences. No matter where you look you’ll be able to find a lyric here that will evoke a past unique and personal emotion, experience or image, yet he is able to put words to that personal feeling in a way that you can not. ‘Anna Begins’ best displays this relatable poetry, as anyone who has been in a relationship where you’re afraid to make a commitment can apply these words to their experience. Musically this is very much a soft rock album with simplicity and hooks permeating throughout the entire record only delivered with a skill and precision that is uncommon in many other soft radio friendly rock bands that tried to imitate the vibe that Counting Crows made so popular. However this album is anything but bland musically, the drumming is absolutely superb and their use of a range of instrumentation is what carries Duritz’ lyrics and delivers them with the amount of emotion he pours into them, without anything lost in transit.

Since that day this album has remained my favorite album of all time and contains and endless supply of replay value. From the brooding atmosphere of ‘Time and Time Again’, the introspective storytelling on ‘Round Here’ and the uplifting melancholy of the record’s closer ‘A Murder Of One’ August and Everything After is an essential album to anyone who puts lyrics ahead of anything on an album. For those who don’t, here are 11 catchy and well-written songs that will not leave you disappointed.


user ratings (341)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
lz41 (4.5)
Always on my mind......

Med57 EMERITUS (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesusChris
September 29th 2011



673 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

really tried to keep this as little fanboyish as possible.

Gyromania
September 29th 2011



15495 Comments


Good review! "Anna Begins" is heavenly.

Mewcopa0
September 29th 2011



1799 Comments


well i didn't know this was even a real thing


JesusChris
September 29th 2011



673 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

if i were ever to get a tattoo related to music it'd be "these seconds when i'm shaking, leave me shuddering for days" i adore that song.

xfearbefore
September 29th 2011



1245 Comments


Good review of an unfairly maligned band. I mean, I'm not really a fan of their work as a whole and I wouldn't claim to be, but they did have a few really, really good singles in the 90s like Mr. Jones, A Long December, and especially Colorblind. Colorblind is probably one of my favorite songs. Damn you Cruel Intentions and you're awesome late 90s soundtrack of meccha nostalgia.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2011



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album is so good

Knott-
Emeritus
September 29th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i honestly love when people talk about this album because it means i remember to listen to it again

JesusChris
September 29th 2011



673 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ghost Train is such a awesome song. bassline is sexual.



Comatorium.
September 29th 2011



4106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When I saw Frank Turner (Ottobar in Balitmore, on a day where it was raining ALL DAY) he played a cover of "Raining In Baltimore." I grew up listening to this album, and absolutely adore it. It made me cry like a little bitch. Was so perfect. First time he ever played it in public for anyone.

JesusChris
September 30th 2011



673 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that sounds fucking incredible.

I passed up on their last couple shows cause I saw on previous setlists from the tour that they only played one or two from this and besides a few scattered tracks here and there none of their other albums hold a candle to this.

twlichty
September 30th 2011



3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listened to this earlier today and wondered if i should 5 it.

man i love this album

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
September 30th 2011



1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Epic album. Nearly worthy of the old "classic" tag

TheChastonGuy
September 30th 2011



55 Comments


Really impressed from what Ive heard so far of this album. I have a long history in that I first listened to it when I was 7 years old! But because I was fast and energetic and didnt know how to slow down I only listened to the tracks that were instantly fast.

9 years later Ive come back and listened to a few tracks more cause I know how to slow down now, and Im really impressed, the lyrics, the music, the atmosphere,its perfect so far. If the rest of the album just holds up...

omnipanzer
September 30th 2011



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"40 somethings"

30somethingyousomonabish.

BigHans
September 30th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

classic album Round Here is one of the greatest songs ever

YetAnotherBrick
September 30th 2011



4409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adam Duritz is one of the best lyricists that have ever walked on this planet. Although I prefer This Desert Life to this album, this one's still awesome.

TheChastonGuy
September 30th 2011



55 Comments


Review Rules, as does this album.

heyadam
September 30th 2011



1708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorite albums ever. Good review, take a pos!

Digging: Wovenwar - Wovenwar

Phideaux
September 30th 2011



1654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fantastic album. Definitely one of my favorites.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy