Machine Head
Unto the Locust


3.0
good

Review

by Jake C. Taylor USER (90 Reviews)
September 28th, 2011 | 274 replies | 45,997 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Blackening and its winding clamour gets truncated, redesigned and rerouted, resulting in a passable affair.

21 of 34 thought this review was well written

Ah yes, that brutality, that fixation on progressive quintessence - what more could a Machine Head fan crave, everybody else was a convert to the progressive church. For whatever reason, though, 2007’s The Blackening was more polarising than its black and white shroud. Interestingly, that same polarisation is conceivably what made it one of their more memorable moments, whether or not it was liked, loved, or loathed. Now at 2011, and we have some sort of delusional insect model being dished up by frontman turned band-producer Robb Flynn and his band, who are clutching well onto the ideas they came up with 4 years ago, but still eager enough to amalgamate them in some different kind of structure. Flynn’s own production dexterities bare little bad influence here because he appears to be well suited to the role, apart from his unremitting usage of harmonised double tracked protrusions. What is actually disturbing, however, is how they initiate proceedings with contrived classical insinuations. Every band turned “philosophical” goes through this stage of unrealistic influence name calling – they even did it last time, only with a well known progressive rock band adored by our renowned cobalt hedgehog-turned-plumber. With, “I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)” the only thing they get right is correctly guessing what their guitars were tuned to, otherwise it’s the same Machine Head from years ago, just with a tedious choral introduction and less musical diction. Indeed, it’s easy to get lost within those fluid guitar passages, but you have to ask yourself in-between air-guitaring them if they’re actually any good, or even just masked copycats of yesteryear.

But it’s not all bad news for the Machine Head diehard (you’ve probably already discounted everything that’s just been alleged anyway). If anything, their new baby is thankfully shorter than its predecessor (unless you're fraught enough to get the inflated special edition), and at times, clearly more reassuring, like with the multilayered midsection trio of “Locust”, “This is the End” and “Darkness Within”. Even though it begins and ends quite terribly, it still manages to draw you in when you’d least expect from a groove metal mainstay. There’s enough fair-to-decent substance stringing the moments of composure and cleverness together, which is all that they could be asked for in this case.



Recent reviews by this author
Arch Enemy War EternalCavern Cavern
Hans Zimmer The Dark Knight RisesPeriphery Periphery II: This Time It's Personal
Santigold Master of My Make-BelieveAge of Evil A.O.E.
user ratings (705)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
SatelliteYears
September 28th 2011



190 Comments


...what?

BloodSweatandBeers
September 28th 2011



999 Comments


lol

Darkvoid67
September 28th 2011



383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is good, but not great. Review, if it was actually written properly and was subjective and reasonable in its points would have actually been a fair rating


DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lolwhut.

Album is awesome. Sorry you don't like Machine Head, perhaps you shouldn't've bothered reviewing.

Relinquished
September 28th 2011



24393 Comments


3 negs probably coming from people who can't read or are lame fanboys like the one above

BigHans
September 28th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

People are neg happy lately. My Mastodon review got 3 of them, the most Ive ever gotten, and while its not the greatest review ever no one with a brain can say it is poorly written. People are dumb.

Pos.

eternium
September 28th 2011



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Going to listen to this later. Hopefully it will rule.

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually this is my first Machine Head album.

Relinquished
September 28th 2011



24393 Comments


no wonder

BigHans
September 28th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Burn My Eyes and Ashes of Empires destroy this but its solid.

eternium
September 28th 2011



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What are you, ten?

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not really a fanboy if I've only got the one album. I think it's great tbh. Not the sort of music I traditionally listen to (much prefer traditional groove like Sepultura, or other bands like Soulfly, Rise to Remain, Skindred etc.). I'm just open minded.

taylormemer
September 28th 2011



4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh god what happened - I must have submitted just when all the loonies were out.

lol

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well clearly we just have differing tastes. You like djent, I don't. I like groove metal, clearly you don't. I'm not being so elitist about it though.

eternium
September 28th 2011



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Again, what are you? Ten?

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm 18. If you're so concerned about attacking people who disagree with you, I'm gonna have to start questioning your age.

taylormemer
September 28th 2011



4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, here's the thing dude: "Sorry you don't like Machine Head, perhaps you shouldn't've bothered reviewing." Clearly state to the contrary, and my liking for 'djent' sheds little for how I approached this album.

I'm more shocked no one has picked up on the name drop late in the first paragraph.

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably as the first paragraph's pretty long. Might wanna space it out a little to make it more readable.

Also, "ask you have to yourself". Surely you mean "you have to ask yourself"? Or are you trying to be Yoda? Genuine question.

taylormemer
September 28th 2011



4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the pick up, but you don't get it, so I'll move on.

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 28th 2011



1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Main reason I'd neg (I don't really bother voting on whether a review is well written or not) is due
to stuff like that error and the fact it's too cramped. Seeing as the whole thing is about if it's
WELL WRITTEN, regardless of reviewer's verdict. But it isn't really, sorry.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy