Atrocity
Todessehnsucht


4.5
superb

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (84 Reviews)
September 24th, 2011 | 49 replies | 5,367 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unbedingt erforderlich!

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Atrocity’s second album Todessehnsucht, which was mistakenly changed against the bands wishes to Longing for Death when it was released in America, is not only a pinnacle of German death metal but also holds a pretty damn high place amongst the legions of death metal bands fusing death/thrash and technicality into a cohesive sound. Forming in 1988, the band quickly built a reputation for a progressive crossover style of death metal with the release of 1990s Hallucinations and also gained some noterity for working with H.R Giger on the cover art as well. It was shortly after in 1992 that Todessehnsucht was released - a more focused, tighter sound that simply never quite caught on to the momentum that American death metal bands were enjoying at this point in time (particularly a little Florida band that had just released Human a year before).

Atrocity were almost too proggy and too technical for their own good at this point in time, giving way to another few reasons as to why they had so little exposure when indeed, they should have been swimming within the emerging death metal scene. Regardless of the fact, this album is a brutal examination into how off-kilter song structures are to be done in death metal. Sandwiched between the samples, keyboard interludes, and just unusual song flows, one can unearth a myriad of brutally proggy riffs that dazzel through dizzing song structures (much in vein with Death but even better) and are definitely the heart and soul of Todessehnsucht. Through all the guitar mayhem, bass lines and a fantastic rhythm section help fuel and smooth out these acrobatic riffs with ease and a sense of prowess. What shouldn’t go unnoticed though is that this a vicious album from start to finish and what better way to exemplify this trait than with a vocalist who has a range of growls that rivals cookie monster after a night of snorting cookie crumbs. In other words, he absolutely kills his lows and rages with a great tone throughout the album.

As much as I can sit here and praise Todessehnsucht, it will never do this album justice. Just do yourself a favour if you consider yourself a death metal connoisseur and give it a listen. Absolutely essential!



Recent reviews by this author
Godflesh PureSun Worship Elder Giants
Lord Mantis Death MaskHorseback Piedmont Apocrypha
Carcass Surgical SteelBody Stuff Body Stuff
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
September 24th 2011



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know the review sucks but I've been digging this hard lately.



Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Relinquished
September 24th 2011



24434 Comments


GUESS WHO GOT THE SOVEREIGN REISSUE

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2011



16134 Comments


Sweet album. Good review too, dude.

ShadowRemains
September 24th 2011



20236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album, solid review.

Wizard
September 24th 2011



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GUESS WHO GOT THE SOVEREIGN REISSUE

I already own the original doorknob hahahaha.

And this album is beyond good Shadow.

KILL
September 24th 2011



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude this album is good i would read the review but

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Wizard
September 25th 2011



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But...

BallsToTheWall
September 25th 2011



44164 Comments


Proggy, techyy...e.h i'll pass. Good review Karl.

rasputin
September 25th 2011



14516 Comments


great record, great album

found this in a 2nd hand tape bin at a record store last year going for 3 bucks or something, was pretty happy about it

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011



16134 Comments


Heck of a find/deal.

rasputin
September 25th 2011



14516 Comments


yeah, roadrunner records 1992, not entirely sure what pressing that is

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011



16134 Comments


Dunno. Discogs doesn't even have a cassette version listed lol. Imagine it'd be a first press if it was from '92, though.

rasputin
September 25th 2011



14516 Comments


yeah I dunno, it's RRC 9128 from 1992, so I think it's original

the album title on the tape is in English though (Longing for Death)

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011



16134 Comments


Hmm. Worth three bucks no matter what, though.

rasputin
September 25th 2011



14516 Comments


definitely. found some other cool tapes in there at other times too, got a necrosanct album as well as bathory's blood fire death. not sure who is selling these tapes to them, but I'm not complaining =P

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011



16134 Comments


Probably just people that don't use the format anymore. Certainly good for you anyway.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2011



5915 Comments


Definitely checking this out, as prog n tech metal stuff is one of my things.

good review, pos.


However, this sentence reads kinda strange:

Too proggy, too technical, and too ahead of its time could also be associated with the lack of exposure Atrocity should have been swimming in within the emerging death metal scene at this point in time




Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

KILL
September 25th 2011



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

riffocock

Wizard
September 25th 2011



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

found this in a 2nd hand tape bin at a record store last year going for 3 bucks or something, was pretty happy about it

Fuck off hahahah so jealous. Thanks for getting me into these guys and the countless other dm bands.

yeah, roadrunner records 1992, not entirely sure what pressing that is

Roadrunner Records are an American based metal label who put out some quality dm back in the day and now puts out Nickleback shit for the most part. I can't believe Opeth are signed on to them hahahaha.

Ahaha I trump you Protector's A Shedding of the Skin.

Gonna give that a listen.

Voivod, fixed and thanks for the pointer.

good album, not a 4.5

For the time period, nothing tops this.



seedofnothing
October 10th 2011



3425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

MOMMY IS THIS WHAT SEX FEELS LIKE?!?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy