Anubis Gate
Anubis Gate


4.5
superb

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2011 | 22 replies | 6,757 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Anubis Gate have finally made a progressive metal album that doesn’t taste like my Mom’s homemade cheese buns.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Anubis Gate’s music has the tendency to be extremely cheesy. A prog power metal band to the core, their music consists of what one would expect: technical skills, time signature toying, powerful melodies, and long songs. The result is a ridiculously dramatic soundscape that borders on epic. Their last album, The Detached, emphasized their theatric nature, but pressed it so emphatically that the band seemed obsessed with all things cheesy. After such a silly album, it really seemed like they wouldn’t be able to recover. They had reached new levels of terribleness by tooting their horn in the dark, doing everything they could to create unapproachable music. The question after listening to the album was this: would Anubis Gate drop their self-centered attitude and compose accessible music? Thankfully, Anubis Gate have heard our cries for mercy, and have released their best album yet. Let’s hope it’s not their last.

Unlike any of their previous albums, Anubis Gate is delicately, and tastefully played. Heavy riffs are definitely in the album, but Anubis Gate somehow doesn’t feel like a metal album. It drifts along from song to song without a care in the world, and nudges the listener on to experience a euphoric trip recalling good times. The album seems content with being the lazy haze of the morning, with spacey, melodic intent. This is what the band have always tried to do, but this time they’ve finally nailed it. It’s a lucid dream that brings you directly into the center of space, a relaxing sensation that never bores.

Those who would say “it’s just a prog metal album” are clearly missing the point. The band isn’t showing off their technical skills, they are using them for the betterment of song writing. There’s a seven minute, eight minute, and even a nine minute long song, yet the album never drags. It’s a tricky thing to do considering the band’s more laid back approach to metal, but they have successfully created an engaging album.

Also interesting is the new vocalist, who significantly cuts the cheese down to tiny scraps. The previous vocalist had a very power metal oriented vocal approach, and it did get tiresome sometimes. However, even with a new vocalist, Anubis Gate is still the complete opposite of what The Detached was: blatant, and unintentionally silly. Their space and middle eastern fetishes still exist, but not in such a way that their music sounds like Anubis having sex with an Ewok. Anubis Gate have finally mastered the art of progressive metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What's up guys, I'm really loving this.

Album stream: http://www.metalinsider.net/new-music/stream-anubis-gates-new-self-titled-album

Ovrot
September 22nd 2011



10457 Comments


YES A PIZZAMACHINE REVIEW

Digging: Emptiness - Nothing but the Whole

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha you and your catchphrases!

Acanthus
September 22nd 2011



9535 Comments


Album name/band name keep bringing back memories of Septic Flesh.

Digging: Die Sektor - Applied Structure In A Void

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good memories? ;D

Acanthus
September 22nd 2011



9535 Comments


Yeah I loved their last two albums; in all honesty I won't be getting this album but it was nice to refresh the page and see a review from you, been a slow sput-day.

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'tis nothing! Can I convince you to listen to the first track though?

Acanthus
September 22nd 2011



9535 Comments


Dammit looked at the similar artist list and there was Symphony X and Blind Guardian...

So far I like the verse(s), just not the chorus. It starts good but would really have to grow on me to have it "click"

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the album took a while to grow on me, I don't blame ya.

jybt
September 22nd 2011



342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have never heard Anubis Gate before, though enough good things were said to make me order this album. It won't get here until other pre-orders in the same package arrive, but I'm anticipating greatness. Good review, I'm sending this straight to Lance King and will call back when I hear it (though the stream is tempting).

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You chose the right Anubis Gate album, I'll say that much! They're a really underrated band so I'm glad you decided to actually pay for the album. Cheers!

MO
September 22nd 2011



18197 Comments


It's funny I've heard of this band but was warned to stay away due to the cheese factor. This review has my intrigued, nice review man.

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah they really cut the cheese.

BAM

MO
September 22nd 2011



18197 Comments


ZING

Acanthus
September 22nd 2011



9535 Comments


With MetallicOpeth's avatar that actually was kinda funny

MO
September 22nd 2011



18197 Comments


LOL good call

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011



7136 Comments


heir space and middle eastern fetishes still exist, but not in such a way that their music sounds like Anubis having sex with an Ewok.

HARD POS.

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I knew you'd notice! :D

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



5903 Comments


I disagree about Detached, that album was okay, as in 3-3.5/5.

good review, pos.


Digging: The Golden Grass - The Golden Grass

jybt
October 9th 2011



342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All right, I bit on Spotify. Epicness. Henrik's vocals and BASS are jointly awesome, the guitars and keyboards are equally proficient, and there's this chilly atmosphere around the darker moments.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy