Lost Soul
Chaostream


4.0
excellent

Review

by cagedescending USER (3 Reviews)
September 19th, 2011 | 14 replies | 2,991 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A soul-crushing wrecking ball of brutality.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Sadly underrated and overlooked, Poland's Lost Soul deliver here their heaviest and most cohesive material; an album so heavy it'll open a hellvoid underneath you and swallow you whole.

Chaostream possesses just the right amounts of technicality and brutality, without losing itself in the usual tech death wankery or succumbing to the sheer atonality of brutal death. Every instrument works in tandem to deliver a near seamless wall of sound. Perhaps the highlight are the drums, performed with stylish grandeur by Adam Sierga, who has sadly left the band since Chaostream was released. The album is absolutely riddled with blastbeats, yet they are always tastefully placed and executed, never really allowing for monotony to set in. Thunderous rolls rumble across the juggernaut riffage, punctuated by cymbal crashes like cracks of lightning.

Said riffs are tightly-controlled, monolithic slabs of noise impacting your face like a wrecking ball. Perfectly tuned and with thick, killer production, their intensity almost never lets up. There are even some balls-to-the-wall solos thrown into the mix in practically every song. Overall, the sound brings to mind a blend of Immolation, Fleshgod Apocalypse and Ulcerate, stirred in with a hefty dose of that patented Polish Death Metal sound (think Vader, Hate, Decapitated et al). At times, the tempo slows and the pace switches to a sludgy, almost doom-like crawl - most notably on standout track Christian Meat. It allows a welcome (if slight) change of scenery, and stops the album from becoming too monotonous. The lyrics (unsurprisingly) bear a heavy anti-religious theme, bellowed and occasionally shrieked with primal, bestial vigour by guitarist/vocalist Jacek Grecki.

It's hard for me to come up with downsides to this album. It can drag the first few listens. It's definitely not the most original or ground-breaking metal you're likely to have heard. In fact, it may come off as a little generic initially. But if you let Chaostream sink it's claws into your skin, you may just find yourself a new favourite.


Recommended Tracks:
-Christian Meat
-Shameful Race
-The Word Of Sin
-The Hidden Law
-The Birth Of Babalon


user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
cagedescending
September 19th 2011



4124 Comments


First review, how'd I do? Be savage.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2011



5992 Comments


A few minor corrections:

Chaosphere

Chaostream


who has sadly since left the band

who has sadly left the band since Chaostream was released.



Good review for a first, pos.

These guys are indeed underrated, yet so brutal.

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

cagedescending
September 19th 2011



4124 Comments


Ahaha damn, thanks. Must be my mind subconsciously trying to tell me to listen to more Meshuggah. Been meaning to do that...

I love Immerse In Infinity as well, even if I don't think it comes together as well as this does. Band in general just needs more exposure.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2011



5992 Comments


Your review is gonna take a while before showing up in the main page, since it's your first.

cagedescending
September 19th 2011



4124 Comments


Because it's gotta be approved, yeah? How long does it usually take?

+edited to add recc tracks

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2011



5992 Comments


tbh, i don't really know how long it's gonna take.

Usually the texts are being checked for plagiarism - among other things - and then they go up to the main page.

cagedescending
September 19th 2011



4124 Comments


Roger, won't hold my breath then.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2011



5992 Comments


Christian Meat reminds me of Morbid Angel's Where the Slime Lives.

Awesome.

cagedescending
September 19th 2011



4124 Comments


Oh shit, THAT'S who else these guys sound like. That was bugging me while I was writing this. I remember making a friend of mine listen to this album, and his first reaction was telling me how much he liked it because it sounded like MA.

Donchivo
September 20th 2011



404 Comments


Pos´d! first for writing a nice review and second for giving props to this nice little band. I really like their ubermensch album, still have to checlk this one out!

Digging: Sleaford Mods - Divide and Exit

YUJOS
September 20th 2011



916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Αt last somebody reviewed this album. Very good review also!

MrGrind
April 3rd 2012



84 Comments


Boss

TheNotrap
July 20th 2012



8029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Solid release.

Digging: Savage Grace - Master Of Disguise

boleyn2
January 22nd 2014



83 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album reduced me to pulp, literally; pure, beautiful massacre



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy