Suffokate
Return to Despair


3.0
good

Review

by BlackLlama USER (40 Reviews)
September 16th, 2011 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nothing too surprising from Suffokate on their 3rd full length outing. Generic Deathcore that is played and produced very well. Lack of versatility leads to a ‘been there, done that’ feeling once your done.

What more can bands that purvey the art of Deathcore do? Honestly, most genre specific music is about 80% formula and Suffokate really don’t look to experiment a good deal on their latest outing. Does that mean you won’t enjoy it? Well, that depends on what you’re looking for. If you’re looking for a 70/30 blend of death metal and hard core sprinkled with liberal temp changes and pit destroying breakdowns? Then you listener are in the right place.

Suffokate does not stray far from the normal recipe with Everything Is Lost. Unless you’re a serious core fan, you are going to be hard pressed to separate this from releases by bands like Whitechapel, Catalepsy or Suicide Silence. Which isn’t an insult per say, there just really isn’t anything to set this outing apart from anything else that’s out there right now. The first 5 tracks are your standard deathcore songs, you can almost run down the checklist. Blast beats? Check. Quick off signature rhythms and tempo changes? Check. Layered growling/screeching vocals? Check. A break down about 2 minutes into every song? Check. 2 tracks that stand out, are Vanishing and Dissolving The former is a decent instrumental and the latter is an almost spoken word affair (think Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies from Machine Head), Both are a decent break from the overall normalcy of this album.

If you’re a fan of the genre, this is a release you’re going to enjoy. The vocal are Demonic and heavy. The musicians in the band actually showcase quite bit of talent with what they do. Some of the time changes and song structures border on the more technical end of the spectrum. Never Found is a good example of this. People have complained in the past about the lyrics, but honestly it doesn’t hurt the listening experience here. For people that aren’t a fan of deathcore, there’s nothing here that’s going to change your mind.

Honestly, this isn’t the new messiah here. Nothing completely offensive, but it’s easily lost in a sea of very similar releases.

Highlights:

Let the Water Rise
Never Found



Recent reviews by this author
Overkill White Devil ArmoryBobby Jimmy and the Critters Ugly Knuckle Butt
Razor Malicious IntentSteel Panther All You Can Eat
We Are The In Crowd Weird KidsBiohazard Urban Discipline
user ratings (55)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackLlama
September 16th 2011


1671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is my 3rd attempt at a review. Thoughts on format, content and general fuck ups are appreciated.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2011


6145 Comments


Good review, pos.

I liked what you did with the "check" thing.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

HotKogan
September 16th 2011


15 Comments


I hate 'good' ratings. I negged the review btw

Carnifex
September 16th 2011


1918 Comments


Review was pretty solid actually, I hated this album though. No Mercy, No Forgiveness was a much
better attempt.

EDIT: Also just noticed the date, better have saved your review bro because its gonna get deleted.

Eulogize
September 16th 2011


2969 Comments


Pretty good review. But wasn't this supposed to be released later in the month, or did it get leaked?

Carnifex
September 16th 2011


1918 Comments


It leaked but you can't review leaks and in all honesty you're not supposed to rate leaks either.

BlackLlama
September 16th 2011


1671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hah! I'm newer to the site, wasn't aware there was a moratorium on leaks :D Still, it's worth a few
listens.

I've been out of the writing field for a while and doing reviews keeps me thinking.

I keep backups of my stuff. NBD I'll re-post after the release if I need to.

Carnifex
September 16th 2011


1918 Comments


Alright, I'll pos that review when it goes up.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2011


8368 Comments


Good review. I might still give this a go based on their previous outing, No Mercy, No Forgiveness, because that was one of the grooviest deathcore records I've ever heard and I actually really liked it. Good gym music.

TechieCore
September 16th 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah no thanks.

I'll stick to NM, NF. This album is shit.

AfterTheBreakdown
September 16th 2011


7147 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

not a fan of this.

Pharoh
September 16th 2011


3326 Comments


Brings the heaviness

AfterTheBreakdown
September 16th 2011


7147 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

nothing special though

TechieCore
September 16th 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Pharoh

Have you even heard No Mercy? Stomps this album.

Ricky took some pussy pills or something, why did he take his vocals back like 4 notches?

RobotJesus
September 16th 2011


432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Might check it out... anyone know where i can get this for free?

Pharoh
September 17th 2011


3326 Comments


Yeah I don't mind a little suffo here and there

dansxdead
September 17th 2011


438 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I deleted this after 2 songs, this was honestly horrible and disappointing. What were they thinking.

AfterTheBreakdown
September 17th 2011


7147 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I agree.

Carnifex
September 17th 2011


1918 Comments


There's nothing appealing here, complete unocore. Never thought I'd say this but Oakland may have competition being the worst Suffokate record.

dansxdead
September 17th 2011


438 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'd take Oakland over this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy