Heart In Hand
Only Memories


4.0
excellent

Review

by TechieCore USER (13 Reviews)
August 31st, 2011 | 79 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heart In Hand produces a fantastic debut album that most hardcore bands wish they could.

Heart In Hand is a relatively unknown band hailing from the UK. They combine elements of throat-grabbing hardcore, and amazing melody, all wrapped in one great package. With one EP and one LP to their name, Heart In Hand are a force to be reckoned with.

Heart In Hand is:

Charlie Holmes - Vocals
Ollie Wilson - Guitar
Ed Hartwell- Guitar
Carl Martin- Bass

*The drummer when recording "Only Memories" quit the band, so we won't add him at this time.

"Only Memories" is a 10-track, hardcore, absolutely fantastic work of art. On this awesome debut album, you'll find some of the catchiest breakdowns and the most beautiful melodies to be found in the 2011 year so far. Charlie Holmes's vocals command your attention, and he executes so perfectly throughout every song. Ollie Wilson and Ed Hartwell take turns showing off their writing abilities, with melodies that you can't help but bob your head to. It's clear they work as cohesive as a band can when it comes to writing.

As far as production goes, I'd have to say it's almost top-notch for a debut. The vocals (naturally) stand out just a slight bit above everything else, which in my eyes is a great way to produce an album. The guitars are crisp and clean - however, the bass is only audible throughout certain sections of the album. But then again, when was bass ever really heard in this genre?

The standout tracks on this album are "Only Memories", "Tunnels", and "I'm Coming Home". The entire album will raise the hairs on your neck, but the three aforementioned tracks are masterful in every way. It really is rare for a hardcore-influenced album to turn out so well.

I recommend this album to ANYONE who likes hardcore influences on album - you will not be disappointed a bit. This is one of the most fluid and cohesive albums to come out so far this year, and I have no lack of confidence when I say this.



Recent reviews by this author
Outrun The Sunlight The Return of InertiaElitist Earth
Betraying the Martyrs Breathe In LifeJody Breeze Welcome To The Futute: Part 2
Volumes ViaAttila Outlawed
user ratings (169)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TechieCore
August 31st 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Couple of grammatical errors (I'm a little bit drunk writing this), but short and sweet baby.

Criticism welcome.

OneMoreRoland
August 31st 2011


1051 Comments


Good ass band

Scenegirlsdontbang
August 31st 2011


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ah glad someone reviewed it, great band went wayy under the radar

Apollo
August 31st 2011


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you are a shit user, but this isn't terrible....good music for the gym

IAmKickass
September 1st 2011


840 Comments


^ hahaha.

Sweet band, awesome album.

TechieCore
September 1st 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Apollo, your mother had a different opinion.

But cool story BRO.

Adabelle
September 1st 2011


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I would easily have this at a 4 but I play the first few songs and then I'm kind of not bothered about hearing the rest of the album..

iamSeraph
September 1st 2011


865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

album is huge and one of my personal favourites out of 2011 so far.
unfortunately, the review turns out to be a bit short in length and reads/feels a little rushed, I don't know. would have been interested in a contributor/staff-members opinion on this..

ps: by now, Indelible Mistakes clearly marks my favourite track in 2011.

TechieCore
September 3rd 2011


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just putting my spin on it out there. Found it one night randomly, and absolutely fell in love.



Motiv3
September 7th 2011


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules, overlooked hardcore compared to some releases.

Scoot
September 10th 2011


17814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i should get this

xTheRoseRedx
September 15th 2011


38 Comments


Someone finally wrote a review for this bad boy! Good review, great album!

thedougler
October 11th 2011


212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great review awesome album

Spec
November 8th 2011


27188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good stuff

FrankRedHot
November 12th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A whole bunch of meh

Spec
December 3rd 2011


27188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

go away

Aphrodisiac
December 3rd 2011


1739 Comments


Pretty fun album

pmmets07
December 6th 2011


5899 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wouldn't this be considered metalcore? not that it matters.

FrankRedHot
December 6th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It straddles the line of metalcore and hardcore pretty well.

iamSeraph
December 7th 2011


865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^ #



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy