Corrupted
Garten Der Unbewusstheit


5.0
classic

Review

by Angel STAFF
August 26th, 2011 | 402 replies | 26,567 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Corrupted plant a garden of sorrow that blossoms beautifully into barren nothingness.

The mysterious sludge outfit from Osaka, Japan has returned from the shadows once more to offer a follow-up to 2005’s El Mundo Frio. Garten der Unbewusstheit, or “Garden of Unawareness”, could not be a more apt title for the band’s fifth album. The contextual meaning of the German “unbewusstheit” is acting without deliberateness, self-awareness, or self-consciousness. This record appears as the very embodiment of that idea. It’s almost as if the moment the record button was pressed, each member entered a trance to relay through instrument all that was seeded within his own being. What surfaced is a perfect balance in Corrupted’s hybrid sound, combining the hypnosis of drone, the crushing heaviness of sludge, and the unfiltered emotion of doom.

Clocking in at just over an hour, the album opens with the gentle plucking of electric guitar soon finding itself to be accompanied by delicate cymbal tapping. The bass drum is struck decisively. Soon, a cold, low growl enters. The light of the sun begins to fade as storm clouds begin to creep in overhead. Drop by drop, bead by bead, the cold rain sparsely descends from the heavens to chill the flesh. The icy precipitation goes on, varying in intensity but never quite reaching downpour before slowly fading out.

The perfect pace is sustained into the melancholic acoustic interlude as it feeds into the new “Gekkou no Daichi”. Lament churns on until the flame of hope is asphyxiated - extinguished until all that remains is the sincere vulnerability of utter despair. Just as soon as the rain is forgotten, the sky opens up in wondrous release, hurling down all that it can muster without relent nor reprieve. Dark and awful as the welkin presents itself, sprawling endlessly to the horizon, not a bolt of lightning flashes; not a thunder clap is heard. The sky is calm save for the rain, still pouring out in voluminous fury. Once the storm has taken its toll, the rain dissipates and draws to a close. The clouds dissolve and slink away revealing the blinding brightness that was always underneath. But not before every inch of earth is left soaked, consumed by the emotion left to resonate and linger on as drops of moisture gorgeously reflecting the reappearing sunlight.

Garten der Unbewusstheit manages to be something rarely achieved in modern music: human. This music has been wrought with the earnestness of the human soul, baring its torment for the world. Though, amidst the anguish and despondency that rings out with each note, there is an underlying beauty, just able to be made out through the tatter and tarnish. And nothing could be more compelling, for only after the storm of hopelessness has been weathered is it possible to gaze upon the beauty that is hope.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Rudimentary Peni CacophonyNoothgrush Erode the Person
user ratings (99)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think I've ever handed out a five so quickly, but it just felt so right.

bigmoon
August 26th 2011



118 Comments


lol

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ooooh I didn't know about this, getting it now, thanks Angel, will pos! :]

alachlahol
August 26th 2011



7479 Comments


that summary is just bad

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cool.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



18248 Comments


I gotta hear this, also that was a quick neg.

How bout a pos?

Digging: Syndrone - Salmataxia

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well, that was fast haha. Gekkou No Daichi is currently my favorite song of 2011

Hawks
August 26th 2011



35433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn you 5'd this already? Must be pretty awesome. You guys put this up on PtC?

Digging: Sun Worship - Elder Giants

ffs
August 26th 2011



4863 Comments


just downloaded this today, havent listened yet. this review feels like a little bit of a premature e5ulation

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, I feel like a hypocrite now for all those times criticizing others about how fast they churned out a review after listening to something.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2011



6397 Comments


This doesn't deserve the neg, have another pos, sir!

Digging: Vessel - Punish, Honey

FrankRedHot
August 26th 2011



6448 Comments


This is as good, if not better, as Se hace.... good review angel.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



18248 Comments


Ya it's on PtC hawks.

Hawks
August 26th 2011



35433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright sweet.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

grabbed it, going to listen tonight when it gets dark since it's sunny right now, probably not the best doom atmosphere :]

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



18248 Comments


Hurricane's coming here seems like a good time to listen to this.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



17204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've had it on repeat since 8 this morning

bigmoon
August 26th 2011



118 Comments


my favorite part of the review is when you gave us a play by play of when the instruments come in on the first song. that was sick!

oh and the dramatic scenery descriptions in the third paragraph were amazing. i really felt like i was in a storm! woah! that's like, a metaphor for the song dude! how'd you think of that?

Garten der Unbewusstheit manages to be something rarely achieved in modern music: human.


lol



AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hurricane's coming here seems like a good time to listen to this.

Lol. Very fitting indeed.

I've had it on repeat since 8 this morning


I haven't wanted to listen to anything but this since I got it. And I didn't have anything to do all day and just felt compelled to write a review for this thing. The words just sort of came out.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey uhh bigmoon I'd much rather listen to how he emotionally relates to the album and if that's how he wants to write then so be it, the review is well written for what it is and I'm willing to bet it perfectly reflects the feelings in the album and you're just being pedantic for the sake of it.

so shush, you. :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy