Dimmu Borgir
Stormblast


3.5
great

Review

by Shadows USER (89 Reviews)
December 4th, 2005 | 101 replies | 14,451 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist


6 of 6 thought this review was well written

How often can anyone really say they often hear raw black metal combined with classical piano pieces? None, except for the fortunate few who have time-honored Dimmu Borgir�s now classic sophomore album Stormbl�st. This is truly an album like no other. A primal hostility is shown throughout the album, as Dimmu continues to play their unique brand of Norwegian black metal. However, they have expanded greatly from their days of For All Tid. The riffs are more creative then ever and contribute greatly to the aspiring sound. Synth effects are used to the fullest, and the album is balanced out by the beauty of a piano playing the gravest melodies. With terrorizing vocals, raw riffs, symphonic backing, and piano leads, this is an experience that no band could hope to facsimile. This is Stormbl�st.

The most noticeable trait is how the core music seems nearly identical to that of For All Tid. While it is true that the guitars/drums/vocals are essentially the same as they were two years before, many elements that were merely a footnote on their debut have been incorporated and expanded upon. The riffing is somewhat slower and more emotional. This time around, Dimmu Borgir seems to have aimed for a sorrowful black metal album. The qualities of the music easily grasp this ambition. Spoken vocals and melodic passages are present just as they were the years before. Many songs are still the minimalistic, heavier black metal that they dispersed throughout albums, such as Antikrist or Da Den Kristne Satte Livet Til . At first glance, many may believe that Stormbl�st was a second-rate rehash of a past achievement. This could not be further from the glorifying truth.

The abovementioned elements are what make this album special. Symphonic arrangements are slightly more dominant, but the melody is what makes Stormbl�st worthwhile. Piano passages are strewn across these 47 minutes of music while clean and acoustic guitars are a mellow, almost folk like outlet. The guitar playing of N�r Sjelen Hentes Til Helvete and the riffing of Broderskapets Ring are emotional and almost saddening instances. The album truly begins to shine thanks to Stian, who displays his greatest talent in Alt Lys Er Svunnet Hen. Even more so is the now notorious Sorgens Kammer, a six minute classical piano ballad that could bring tears to the eyes of metalheads.

Stormbl�st owes it�s allegiance to no one, for it is allegiance in itself. No true traces of other bands or other albums can be seen in this very commendable and established work of music, as this is an album unlike any band has put out before. It�s no surprise that Dimmu Borgir�s career began a steep upward slope from here on. Stormbl�st is one of the highest selling black metal albums ever, and for a good reason. They went on to build upon this unique and entrancing style to greater things. The music became brutal, orchestras were used, and tools and techniques were utilized that were thought to be unreachable years before. Through all of the hype and madness, every ounce of success the band has can be attributed to this: Stormbl�st.

Recommended tracks:
� Alt Lys Er Svunnet Hen
� Broderskapets Ring
� Sorgens Kammer

Pros:
� A basis of raw, essential black metal
� A perfect blend of melody and atmosphere
� Original and very memorable

Cons:
� Again, poor production only holds this band back

Anyone interested in title translations can find them [url=http://www.musicianforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=9087571&postcount=2988]here[/url].



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Blackwater ParkMirrorthrone Carriers of Dust
Cradle of Filth ThornographyTrivium The Crusade
Opeth DamnationBlind Guardian A Twist in the Myth
user ratings (327)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2005



15732 Comments


Why do all of your reviews come in twos?

He's getting ready for the flood.

Shadows
Moderator
December 4th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm simultaniously reviewing the entire discographies of Behemoth and Dimmu Borgir. I usually do one at a time, but until all od those bands' albums are dont, you won't see one without the other.

Shadows
Moderator
December 4th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No worries Jom, thanks for helping me out anyway. You'll be able to comment on some later Dimmu anyway, and that's coming soon enough.

Ace_of_Bass2112
December 4th 2005



257 Comments


I have some songs off of "Enthrond Darkness Triumphet" and thought that they were pretty good. Not a real big fan of black metal but i respect it and give it a listen every now and again.

As for the review, it gets my vote

'Ace

ocelot-05
December 4th 2005



807 Comments


Good work as usual, ShadowsFallen.

Jawaharal
December 4th 2005



1832 Comments


good review.

Shadows
Moderator
December 4th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't my favorite Dimmu Borgir album, but it's great. EDT, DCA, and the new Stormblast I'd say are my favorites. EDT has some sentimental value, so that's probably at the top.

I This Message Edited On 12.04.05

Shadows
Moderator
December 4th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do you know PEM and DCA? Those are the ones I'm most interested in right now.

Toaster
December 4th 2005



343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review. The translations at the bottom are a nice touch.

Good album, but the production is pretty bad.

Storm In A Teacup
December 5th 2005



12712 Comments


Well damn, I just now noticed this. Great job Shadows.

Shadows
Moderator
December 5th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks everyone. The production is the greatest setback, one that was remedied by the 2005 re-release.

wikuk
December 6th 2005



1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hate black metal but i like some songs of Dimmu Borgir, they are not that bad, nice review.

sj_2150
December 6th 2005



251 Comments


it seems stupid that the band put their effoert into re-recording an album, why not just make a new one? maybe they ran out of ideas and is stalling a new release...

Shadows
Moderator
December 6th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have you heard the new one? They definitely put as much effort into that one as they did this. They're in the middle of writing a new album anyway, and the re-release was a good way to satisfy people until late 2006.

I'm Charming
December 9th 2005



332 Comments


Hmm. I'm gonna have to keep my eyes out for that new album. I really like DCA and EDT. I also enjoy Old Man's Child alot as well. Their album, "vermin" was really solid.

The production sounds like something out of one of the band members mom's basement or something. It's bad.

sj_2150
December 9th 2005



251 Comments


"Have you heard the new one? They definitely put as much effort into that one as they did this. They're in the middle of writing a new album anyway, and the re-release was a good way to satisfy people until late 2006"

I stand corrected...

Silenius
January 24th 2006



303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree that the production holds it back, if you listen to the re-release there is not nearly as good a atmosphere as on the original. The sound quality is better but it doesnt help the mood that is trying to be created.

Shadows
Moderator
January 24th 2006



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought the atmosphere on this one kind of sucked, but the new one was very symphonic.

Aakon_Keetreh
January 27th 2006



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i really want to see what this cd is like re-released

Silenius
January 31st 2006



303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree that the production/symphonic elements come through better on the re-release, I just don't think the production displays the mood that the cd is intended to create.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy