Burzum
Hvis Lyset Tar Oss


5.0
classic

Review

by RottenRalph USER (1 Reviews)
July 24th, 2011 | 54 replies | 4,497 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The defining moment in extreme metal

0 of 2 thought this review was well written

This album surpasses all metal and has not been matched since. Four lengthy songs in a symphonic ambient black metal style takes metal to its highest point in evolution and beyond.

This one-man band orchestrates with a thematic narrative that puts the listener into a dreamlike state. Simple riffs are layered to create epic structures and are ambient in tone resulting in a range of moods while maintaining a trancelike effect. Shifting harmonies throughout these themes creates a journey of intense emotion and heavy realizations. Each track varies in speed and style but are all strongly connected like a classical movement. Ideological impact is the key to this albums power as songs drive forth with outstanding passion and sincerity. The subtlety is so deep that each listen will evoke feelings of wonder and majesty no matter how many times visited. It is an epic poetic story that is mystical yet symbolic to reality – it literally awakens your soul with a vision of eternal order through chaos. The album ends with an ambient keyboard track that is minimal and allows heavy reflection and resolution after the severe intensity and whirlwind of emotion from the first three tracks.

The result is an experience like no other album of modern times. Its power is immense and makes us contemplate the deepest questions of our very existence. In the age of our moribund civilisation this album is the ultimate warcry against the stupidity of the modern world.


user ratings (1165)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
wabbit
July 24th 2011



6984 Comments


nice review sonic

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

an experience like no other

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

foreverendeared
July 24th 2011



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hyperbole much?

pizzamachine
July 24th 2011



12571 Comments


I would like to point out two things.


it literally awakens your soul with a vision of eternal order through chaos.

WHAT

Its power is immense and makes us contemplate the deepest questions of our very existence.

Oh.



Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i listened to this album once while taking a shit and varg told me the meaning of life

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



18227 Comments


This review might have been true in 1994 (even then its a bit much), but not 17 years after the fact.

Digging: Syndrone - Salmataxia

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gonna open up a bakery and call it "Until the Light Bakes Us".

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



18227 Comments


Sonic where's the 5.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



31047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This reads like Butchered wrote it

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



18227 Comments


Well this is pretty much as trve as it gets.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This reads like Butchered wrote it


ily deviant

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



18227 Comments


This reads like Butchered wrote it


This is actually a good album though.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



31047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No but seriously, read the review then read:

http://s3.amazonaws.com/data.tumblr.com/tumblr_ln48y8v1fp1qd37u4o1_1280.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJ6IHWSU3BX3X7X3Q&Expires=1311647569&Signature=gWODWDno6s%2Booe1agyxwPKPm0W8%3D

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album transcends emotion into more emotions

pizzamachine
July 24th 2011



12571 Comments


Bwahaha I posted that one. XD

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



31047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In the age of our moribund civilisation this album is the ultimate warcry against the stupidity of the modern world.


Only at the end shall black metal rise up and save us from our existence



Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2011



18227 Comments


I mean they did kind of warn Norway....

pizzamachine
July 24th 2011



12571 Comments


This is the part where Balls appears!

YetAnotherBrick
July 24th 2011



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy hyperbole



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy