The Cure
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me


4.0
excellent

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
July 12th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A big, fat, smothering kiss.

The Cure’s seventh studio LP is a suffocating French kiss from the plumpest, most rouged red lips you can imagine - enticing and enjoyable, at least until the amount of times its tongue is rammed down your throat begins to seem rather excessive. Let me elaborate…

‘Kiss Me’s 18 tracks are oftentimes like a kiss, when frequently beautiful moments such as ‘Just Like Heaven’ crop up and plant a firm one on your cheek, complete with sharply considered pop hooks and invigorating guitar work. But at other times, and less frequently, as crucially needs to be pointed out, it doesn’t feel like said kiss, but rather a tongue-down-throat affair from a lover who has too much lipstick coating her fulsome lips, leaving an ugly red smudge at the corners of your mouth.

To put it in layman’s terms, the album has a number of lovely moments but also far more tracks than it really needs, which spoils the experience (or ‘kiss’, to go back to my clunky analogy for just a moment) the slightest amount. It’s bloated and plump and could’ve benefited from some trimming - cutting out some of its weaker tracks, just leaving highlights like the bouncy, pop-charm of ‘Why Can’t I Be You’, and the lengthy but stunning opening track ‘The Kiss’, behind.

Having touched upon it earlier, the album, thankfully, stuns more than it repels. In addition to those already praised above, other worthwhile cuts include the violin backing and hypnotic bass of ‘Catch’; the rumbling rhythm section on ‘Torture’; the faux exotic sway of ‘If Only We Could Sleep Tonight’; the surprising intrusion of sleazy sax on ‘Hey You!’; Smith’s superb vocals on the anthemic ‘All I Want’; the dark, swirling ‘Shiver and Shake’, and the left-field funk of ‘Hot! Hot! Hot!’.

At the same time, the album throws in unnecessary filler to reach its goal of creating a giant album, designed to push the burgeoning compact disc technology to its youthful max. Superfluous numbers include the mostly instrumental ‘Snakepit’, which drags its hypnotic melody out for a weary seven minutes; the downright silly ‘Like Cockatoos’; the unnecessary ‘Icing Sugar’, and the overly familiar ‘The Perfect Girl’.

Count them up, though, and you’ll see there’s an abundance of worthwhile moments - far more than there are skipable ones. Most albums would dream of containing as many gems as this outing, and that says more than any long-winded analogies like the very one this writer attempted earlier, could ever hope to. That’s what ‘Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me’ encapsulates, really - a bloated concept, but one with enough value to warrant an investment of time and care from the listener. To return to said ‘long-winded’ analogy for one last self-indulgent moment; I’ll sign off thusly. It may be a big, fat, smothering kiss, but there’s still good reason to want to find ‘Kiss Me’s shade of lipstick smudged on the collar of your shirt.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (566)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
NeoOrder (3.5)
Besides a number of filler tracks, the album is generally enjoyable as a whole...

Ben Jimenez (3.5)
The Cure's "Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me" begins brilliantly and carries on with passionate rhythm. As yo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AggravatedYeti
July 12th 2011


7685 Comments


this band went on such a fucking roll in the 80s.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

AggravatedYeti - So true. The decade ended perfectly for them, as well, with Disintegration.


Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

andcas - I enjoyed it, but it's a bit too bloated for me. Still one of their strongest efforts, though.


Acanthus
July 12th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Strangely enough Sputnik's been busy today, finding this at the bottom of the album list was a shocker. This seems like a rather epic offering by them, though if it was their darker work it would a must have.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Acanthus - I know, posted this, then five mins later it was at the fucking bottom of the list!! Yeah, this is not dark in the slightest, so its not one i'm that into to. Critically, though, it's a very strong album.


Acanthus
July 12th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I gathered as much, I really have been enjoying Pornography and Faith lately; got me on an 80's binge.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2011


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Acanthus - Those are great. 'Pornography' might just be my favourite by The Cure.


Acanthus
July 13th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know, Disintegration is a flat out 5 for me but I've had awhile to appreciate the album and it's been with me through a homeless shelter so I'm predispositioned.

Uranium
July 13th 2011


7232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hot hot hot is the grooviest song they have

Acanthus
July 13th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know, if we're on the same wavelength about groovy "Lovecats takes it for me.

Uranium
July 13th 2011


7232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't mean a psychedelic groove. I meant like a bass driven jazz funk groovy-ness.

If that makes any sense whatsoever.

Acanthus
July 13th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does, I just can't seem to think up a rebuttal/example at the moment.

Meatplow
August 11th 2011


5524 Comments


great album

someguest
March 3rd 2012


20871 Comments


one of the best guitar tones ever

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

oWhoadYo
August 4th 2012


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is amazing. I'm surprised no one has mentioned "One More Time". That song has such a lively atmosphere and how his voice builds up to the climax at the end. I love it. Lick Cockatoos is also awesome, that rhythm it has just moves forward, almost in Talking Heads fashion. What am I saying? The whole album rules.

Mickeymau5
August 18th 2012


1614 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why can't I be you, one more time, and perfect girl are amazing

Mickeymau5
August 18th 2012


1614 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

A thousand hours is also amazing, I love this whole album

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
July 13th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hot hot hot is so fun

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

FadeToBlack
October 5th 2014


11034 Comments


Probably my 3rd favourite The Cure album.

KrazyKris
October 5th 2014


1153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has really a bunch of amazing tracks. Personally my favs are How Beautiful You Are, Why Can't I be You and - unusual, but it rocks - Icing Sugar.

Always wondered, am I the only one who thinks The Snakepit is the weakest here?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy