Bullet for My Valentine
Fever


2.5
average

Review

by SuchARodentYouAre USER (1 Reviews)
July 7th, 2011 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album is better than its predecessors. That doesn't make it good.

First of all, I'd like to make a note. with most bands, I consider being "polished" a bad thing. My definition of polished, however, is bands who cannot sing or play guitar to save their lives and sequence and autotune everything. Bullet for my Valentine takes polished in a different way. 4 very capable musicians are getting the best tone possible from their instruments and using their production capabilities to make each section shine.

Compared to previous albums, this album's riffs are alot simpler and there are fewer guitar solos, but that simplicity allows them to be more raw with the message they're conveying and focusing on tying in with eachother's instruments and the vocals extremely well. On every album from the bullet EP up until Scream Aim Fire the members seemed to be doing their own separate renditions of the song while the singer belted over it, a habit which they've broken this time around. Another plus for me on this album is the vocal harmonies. They are only ever 2 parts at most, but they're used effectively and just where they're needed.

Another thing many will find on fever is that the band has matured greatly. Rather than talking about sneaking into a cheating girlfriend's apartment and killing her and the other man for revenge (Room 409, tisk tisk) they send a more positive message that there's hope up ahead and in one of the more hardcore songs (the title track, Fever) he even talks about what a strip club (You're what I want, you're what I need, so come and take my money). Most of the lyrics aren't even about women, but internal struggle (The Last Fight) and figuring out who you really are, and not caring what others think (Dignity).

This Album's worst track is easily Breaking Out, Breaking Down. It has no flow, no purpose on this album and frankly no place on this album. The writing is weak and repetitive, lacking enough emotion to sway me. the only part I like is the verse where it gets heavy and introduces a little screaming, but then it goes right back to a near-pop experience. Honestly, it sounds like avenged sevenfold a little. If I liked Metal Pop I'd listen to avenged sevenfold, but I don't, and this song should have just been left out, including the little part at the end where they attempt to soften up and be sensitive and use acoustic guitars. It just doesn't work.

The Star Track on this album is your betrayal. There are about 4 different sections that are reused and they are all very simple but amazing. the vocals once again tie everything together with a kind of melodic colourfulness (is that even a word) That I haven't heard in a long time.

All in all, this album has alot of Juicy Melodies (best way to describe it), but falls short as a metal album and will not convert anyone to bullet or satisfy any current fans. I only checked this album out because A. I was a high school bullet fan from their first album, B. Because out of the five horrible albums I got for Christmas (Nightmare-Avenged Sevenfold, Self-Titled-Avenged Sevenfold, ***in' A - Anal Cunt (not actually that bad compared to sevenfold), and Death Magnetic - Metallica, along with this album, this was the least ***ty.

Overall, I like this band because they can represent their music live. it is not overlayered or overproduced. but it is still nothing we haven't heard before.


user ratings (1108)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spec
July 7th 2011


27211 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's not better than "The Poison" the band just isn't very good in general.

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

their ep was good, the poison was good, scream aim fire straddled on the edge of mediocrity and this jumped clean off the edge into a giant street pizza shaped mess.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


I hate these guys' attitude

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

whats up dude?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


as in, BFMV's

keep going on about how great they are and flexing their muscles for photos for magazines and posters and then saying "it's confidence, not arrogance"

I almost wanna bump my rating down cos of it

grrrrr

Psychopathologist
July 7th 2011


1924 Comments


STOP BEGGING FOR YOUR MERCY

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

as in, BFMV's

keep going on about how great they are and flexing their muscles for photos for magazines and posters and then saying "it's confidence, not arrogance"

I almost wanna bump my rating down cos of it

grrrrr


ahhh they're just doing what trivium were doing when ascendancy came out by the sounds of it. If they start uttering things like "we're going to be the next metallica" god help us

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


they almost did that. when they were building up to this album they said that this was the magical 'third' album that a lot of band's had. They said it was their Master of Puppets or something

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

oh god, wheres my gun :-s

i really liked their ep and the poison and i liked the more energetic thrashy styled songs of scream aim fire, but now they just seem to be pushing for the modern metal / stadium rock route. the lyrics on fever are pretty cringe worthy at times the title track especially.

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

actually,

but now they just seem to be pushing for the modern metal / stadium rock route.

black album!?!?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


they might have even said it ws their 'black' album actually, but I don't think so because I'm pretty sure it was in reference to it being their 'third'

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

eeeeeewwwwww, you'd think they'd know better after being in the industry for a good few years now. Just put my rating up a notch for this because i realise this isn't the worst thing in the world, still a dissapointing listen for me though

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


Your Betrayal has a sweeet chorus though

KronosRage
July 7th 2011


367 Comments


Decent review, lol band

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Your Betrayal has a sweeet chorus though

true, i think got the impression that they were almost trying too hard to be non offensive with the lyrical content ( i know it was never their strongpoint anyways) so more younger kids will buy their album.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


but then they wrote the title track

MoosechriS
July 7th 2011


5036 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

true, i remember seeing a review and they said that the title track was destined to be played in strip clubs everywhere lol

FrankRedHot
July 7th 2011


6448 Comments


I hadn't listened to any of this until today, and now I'm wishing I never had.

none
July 7th 2011


1100 Comments


a thrill o' bite


fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


22024 Comments


tbh I'm ashamed to have this as high as I do



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy