Game
The Documentary


4.0
excellent

Review

by Bassist540 USER (11 Reviews)
July 6th, 2011 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: When The Game gave West Coast Hip Hop adrenaline to refill its existence and break through lines of East, Southern, and Western.

Back in 2005, West Coast Hip Hop gave me a dying picture. The reminiscent was shadowed by the outer areas of the Southern, East, and Midwest field. Things were looking ugly. Wrapping the sense of the "thug" and "gangster" mind was surely depleting. Aftermath was on it's downfall. The sales of the whole West Coast image was falling from it's tower. A tower that once had an outstanding image, then went behind bars, and fell into a battle cry. One battle cry that surfaced not telling you what was going to happen, but to already predict the shadows of what West Coast Hip Hop once had a name for. The Game stormed in. He forced the image of West Coast back into its plate of supper. It was a three course meal. People fed into the meal and finally grew into the image it once had. He didn't hold back anything for this recording. Everything was shown vitally and played an important part for what it was known for.

50 Cent played a fairly decent part in the recording. Featured in three tracks, he shined. He added on to the charisma of the harshness surrounding the common themes. The themes were the primary ambition of being a real gangster, and everyday life on the Coast. Also, The Game reinstated this album revolved around his success of becoming a true rapper of the West. Through his hardships of being a youngster, to his everlasting praising of legendary rap group N.W.A, The Game was confident enough he would make it through. Partly to why this album became such a success, was the production. Produced by Dre, and a variety of other artists, they opened up The Game's strong mind and delivered creditably towards the greatness of what was worked up.

The Game always had dark themed, and colorful beats to be explored. Westside Story mined in the powerful down tuned piano, while Hate it or Love it told the story of mindsets from both 50 Cent and The Game. 50 Cent retained his East Coast image, and The Game told us the tale of Compton. Most of the first half you will feel mesmerized by the upbeat g- life style way, and the other half for the R&B influences with aquatic smoothed grooves. What is also found is the evidence of G-Funk. Where I'm From delivers the imagery. With 17 tracks, I would hate to see a fellow feel mislead or saddened. The only real turn off was the guests. Some of them didn't shine too much, but that really didn't take away that much to be honest.

Well, what was there in 2005 wasn't much, considering the alternative sides taking over. However The Game said it was time for a change. A good change. It was almost like a person being lost at sea, but miraculously finding an island to lay about. This is what The Game accomplished. Change.



Recent reviews by this author
O-Zone Disc-O ZoneKeane Hopes & Fears
Beck Mellow GoldU2 Achtung Baby
Ludacris Word Of MoufSnoop Dogg Doggystyle
user ratings (245)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
scyther (3.5)
I'll do anything - but I won't fuck Mariah/Even if she had Ashanti butt naked in bed Cause she got ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Bassist540
July 6th 2011


373 Comments


I had to re-submit the review. Don't bother looking at the other one. Sorry for my stupidity.

qwe3
July 6th 2011


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i still call him the game

also

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7lpIqVaixw&feature=more_related

fuckyeahhhhh

Bassist540
July 6th 2011


373 Comments


Lil Wayne.........................

But yeah man I call him The Game. Don't know why Sputnik won't name him with a simple "The."

qwe3
July 6th 2011


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah lil wayne ruuuuuuuules

Idnuf
July 6th 2011


1491 Comments


Alright man, I'm going to do a thorough deconstruction of the first paragraph. Promise me you won't take it the wrong way. I'll be writing in a cold, clinical tone which you may interpret as mean-spirited but I mean no offense.

Back in 2005, West Coast Hip Hop gave me a dying picture.


This sentence gets the message across, but is extremely awkward. A genre "gave" you a "dying picture". You could use the picture thing if you introduced it earlier in the sentence like "The picture of West Coast Hip Hop in 2005 was that of a dying genre" but I feel like it could be expressed even more simply.

Its reminiscent was shadowed by the outer areas of the Southern, East, and Midwest field.


This is one of the more puzzling sentences in the paragraph. Again, I understand your point, that the west coast was fading away in relevancy in terms of hip hop, but the sentence itself is really bad. Firstly, "its reminiscent"? This uses reminiscent as a noun, but it's an adjective. I'm not sure what you were using the word for in the first place. I also don't understand the use of "outer areas" in regard to other styles of rap. I also feel the word field doesn't work in this context. I'm not trying to rewrite the whole review, but what I would write is, "Rap music from the other regions of the United States, the East, South, and Midwest were rising to prominence while the West was left in the dirt." That still isn't a great sentence, but better than the one you have right now.

Wrapping the sense of the "thug" and "gangster" mind was surely depleting.


As with the other two, I understand the point being made, but the sentence completely disregards basic grammar. Perhaps you meant rapping, not wrapping? Either way, "the sense" isn't the ideal phrasing to use here, and at the end, you use "depleting" but it doesn't fit the sentence. Depleting should be referring to a noun, like "the amount of rap regarding "thug" and "gangster" subjects was depleting".

Aftermath was on it's downfall.


I guess this isn't a fragment, but it could be incorporated into another sentence or just thrown away completely. It isn't really important for this review.

Idnuf
July 6th 2011


1491 Comments


The sales of the whole West Coast image was falling from it's tower.


Sales is plural and tower isn't. Also the wrong form of "its" is being used. I suggest a complete rephrasing to something more simple. Remember, reviewing is about communicating effectively about the music, not about using metaphors or anything like that, as is a problem later in this paragraph. A review is only improved by using high level language if it helps to be more clear. I wouldn't even bother with saying tower. I would say, "the sales numbers of rappers from the formerly dominant west coast had fallen in recent years".

A tower that once had an outstanding image, then went behind bars, and fell into a battle cry. One battle cry that surfaced not telling you what was going to happen, but to already predict the shadows of what West Coast Hip Hop once had a name for.


This extended metaphor is frankly, useless, and I really have no clue as to what you were going for here. The west coast game was in the gutter, and now the Game comes out swinging to revive it? This whole exposition in general is something I don't find too useful, but if you want it, be clear and don't get bogged down in metaphor.

Idnuf
July 6th 2011


1491 Comments


He forced the image of West Coast back into its plate of supper. Soon people fed into the meal and finally got back the image it had. It was a three course meal. He didn't hold back anything for this recording.


Using only the last sentence of this section has exactly the same impact, and doesn't use any bad metaphors. This meal part is a really weak comparison, drop it.

Everything was shown vitally and played an important part for what it was known for.


"Everything was shown vitally"? I don't get what that is supposed to mean at all. Also, "played an important part for what it was known for"? What? So it played an important role in itself? Well first I don't know what "it" is or what "it" was known for. This sentence is the most confusing and ultimately worthless sentence in the paragraph when it should be a satisfying summary for anyone who doesn't want to read the whole review. State your general opinion in this sentence then expand upon it in the body paragraphs.

Whew, that was long. I hope you read this and consider what I wrote. Remember I wasn't trying to be mean or anything, and I'm not saying you're stupid or anything, I'm just saying this review could be vastly improved. Thanks for reading.

Inveigh
July 6th 2011


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dick

Bassist540
July 6th 2011


373 Comments


My god man...

qwe3
July 6th 2011


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

inveigh with the golden timing

LastEpic
July 6th 2011


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you could go into more detail on the production since you do bring it up. You mention Dr.Dre then "a variety of other artists". Let the people know, those other producers include Kanye West, Just Blaze, Hi-Tek, Eminem, Timbaland, and Scott Storch amongst a few others. Some big names there!

You talk about 50 Cent enhancing the album as well. Let's talk about Nate Dogg(RIP), he enhanced a couple classic tracks on that album. Game also had some female help from Mary J and Marsha Ambrosius who reappears in his next album.

I'm not a writer, so I'm not going to critique grammar. I am pretty passionate about the music though, and if I had no idea about this album I'd love if you educated me on the areas I covered above, that would definitely pique my interest a bit more to hear this album.

Other than that, appreciate your review boss, keep working at it.

Idnuf
July 6th 2011


1491 Comments


lol just trying to help

Bassist540
July 6th 2011


373 Comments


Nan Idnuf you're fine. Same as Epic. Haha thanks man. I'll try and edit this review when I have the time. Currently at work.

HalfManHalfAmazing
July 8th 2011


565 Comments


solid debut



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy