Royksopp
Melody A.M.


4.5
superb

Review

by Scott Herren USER (42 Reviews)
November 26th, 2005 | 24 replies | 15,357 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Royksopp - Melody A.M.

Royksopp are a duo from Norway. They rely on beautiful soundscapes, and a couple appearances by Erlend Oye of Kings of Convenience fame on Melody A.M., to create an interesting and relaxing album that is a joy to listen to from beginning to end. In my opinion this is the type of downbeat album that rivals Boards of Canada's Music Has the Right To Children in terms of sheer beauty. This album is perhaps even a little more accessible to wider listener base because of it's lighter mood, and pop qualities.

Two of the standout tracks are the two that feature vocals from Erlend Oye. "Poor Leno", a club favorite, loops the line "Poor Leno, where you'll be I'll go. Where you'll be I'll know. Where you'll be I'll find you." The airy vocals juxtapose wonderfully with the driving pace of the underlying beat. The other track, "Remind Me", puts Erlends beautiful vocals on display even more than "Poor Leno". "Remind Me" is the highlight of the album for me. The vocals which are mirrored by a synthisized keyboard melody, make the song so strong, and the overall atmosphere created is very relaxing. Just about every track on the album maintains a very high quality.

There are so parts that are forgetable, but not really any noticeable lulls. "Eple", "Sparks", and "In Space" are great gateway songs into the epic "Poor Leno", taking a page from Air's Moon Safari by not relying too heavily on vocals, but rather just layers upon layers of spacey, airy, fluffy goodness, with the occasional vocal sample thrown in.

Think of the two main songs as "Poor Leno" and "Remind Me", and the surrounding music isn't as distinct, but rather, an everflowing wonderful accompaniment. "A Higher Place", and "Royksopp's Night Out" are a wonderful bridge, with the later the peak that the entire album has been building to...a 7 and a half minute epic with so many fantastic mood changes.

"She's So" begins the comedown part of the record. There is a jazzy horn solo with sonic layered soundscapes joined later by a funky beat. The song feels like it belongs in a lounge at around 4 or 5 am, and the last half of "40 Years Back/Come" is nothing more than a faint melody, signaling the end to the party which is this album. It is overall 45 minutes of bliss, and one of the better albums of 2001.

Recommended Tracks:
"Eple"
"Sparks"
"Poor Leno"
"Royksopp's Night Out"
"Remind Me"

For Fans of:
Boards of Canada
Air
Kings of Convenience



Recent reviews by this author
Metric Old World Underground, Where Are You NowRide Nowhere
Clearlake CedarsThe Walkmen Bows + Arrows
Jamiroquai A Funk OdysseyGrandaddy Sumday
user ratings (226)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Ryan W. (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jawaharal
November 27th 2005



1832 Comments


good review

Med57
Moderator
November 27th 2005



1001 Comments


Hey, it's a Scott Herren review! Good stuff as usual...I really dig this album. Took me a while to start listening to properly, but it's really breezy music. They looked amazing at Glastonbury.

Zebra
Moderator
November 27th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For some reason I missed this review. Excellent job, you described this album very well.

This is a 4/5 IMO, just because there are some average tracks and there's not as much depth as I would have liked.

analrightstart
April 18th 2006



96 Comments


investigation time.

RandyfromPennywise
May 8th 2007



752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eple is one of the best songs in this genre, whatever it is called. It is great. I made a video with it for a class at Uni two years ago: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N205TfzjrKY

neok
June 7th 2007



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

She's So = pure sex! I love that song!

Metalikane
March 3rd 2008



851 Comments


I'll admit, I hadn't heard or heard of this group until I saw the Geico commercial featuring Remind Me. I noticed that the little bit they play on the commercial would stick in my head after watching it. That led me to this surprisingly awesome album. Thank you Geico!

72haha72
March 20th 2008



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beautiful album

BSX
October 29th 2008



1630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The make out album of my life

Spec
April 15th 2011



26834 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you "Late Night Drives" list for showing me this.

isenriver
August 31st 2011



3 Comments


'So Easy' needs a mention it's mesmerising, I also love 'A Higher Place’ 

TheBaronofBadNews
September 29th 2011



77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loved this. So Easy is definitely my favorite.

Good review.

Waits
April 8th 2012



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm surprised 'So Easy' wasn't mentioned, one of the first electronic songs I really dug. Solid review though, giving the full album a listen now.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic album!
Does anybody know if their live show is any good?

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

HBFS
July 29th 2012



1214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

their live show is fucking awesome. go see them if you have the chance. top 5 live bands that i've seen, easy

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I'm seeing them next week (aside with Trentemoller - WOOT) so I'm curious how it will turn out.

HBFS
August 1st 2012



1214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck yeah man that will be awesome. trentemoller would be sick too

HBFS
August 1st 2012



1214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

they are heavier live though, not like wow heavy but don't expect this sort of sound as much. not that they don't play songs from this, but yeah.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 1st 2012



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds great, 'cause the follow-ups are a bit too poppy for my taste.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2012



14492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so easy to love so easy

Digging: Ian Anderson - Homo Erraticus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy