Coldplay
Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall


3.5
great

Review

by Dante Pizzuti USER (9 Reviews)
July 1st, 2011 | 31 replies | 10,666 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Coldplay’s latest EP may not be ground breaking. But it is still worthy of a listen.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

In the world of music, it's no denying that Coldplay is one of the more popular musical acts out today. So it's no surprise that with the release of their new EP, Every Teardrop. They are bound to stir up some conversation. Will it be like their last effort? Will they go back to their old sound like X&Y? Will it sound like Viva La Vida? These are both fair questions. If I had to give a definite answer. I would say that it most closely resembles the popier side of Viva. Now let's get to the music and review.


Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall is the name of Coldplay’s latest EP. Consisting of only three songs, it is much shorter than their last EP Prospekt’s March. But if it’s any indication of what their next album is going to sound like, then it should not disappoint. This time around it seems Coldplay, as previously mentioned, has built and expanded on some of the sounds of Viva La Vida. The EP starts off with title track ‘Every Tear Drop Is a Waterfall’. Aside from having an insanely catchy drum beat. It also featurs some great guitar riffs, with a very slick drum solo to fiinsh up the song. This is by far the most fun listen on the EP, for simply carrying the most energy. The lyrics aren’t exactly mind blowing, but they go with the music.


“I turn the music up, I got my records on,
I shut the world outside until the lights come on,”



Next up is ‘Major Minus’ which opens up with an acoustic sounding guitar and some interesting vocals by Chris. His vocals come off as almost haunting, as they fade more into the background and they distort his voice in parts. Although the intro comes off as being rather boring. The song, thankfully, transitions into a very interesting instrumental, which improves it greatly. Taking the accoustic guitar and paring it with what appears to be a electrice guitar solo. This come's out as being, musically, the best song on the album. We then move into, the sort of odd man out in the group.


Which leads us too ‘Moving to Mars’ this is the odd ball in the lineup. Mainly due to the sudden lack of energy that was present in the first two songs. Starting out with Chris singing while a piano plays for the first minute and a half. The song then picks up after this intro, as all of the other instruments join the fray. Including a reprise of the acoustic guitar, which plays chords similer to what was on 'Major Minus'. This song seems forgettable at first, but proves to grow on the listener. It turns out to be a slow burner, keeping a creeping tempo throughout. If these songs were being played in a club, this would be the slow dance portion. Although it is by far the weakest track on the album, it proves to be an adequate ending to a great EP.


Recommended Tracks: Try all of them. You may find one you like.



Recent reviews by this author
Johnny Cash American VI: Ain't No GraveJakob Dylan Women + Country
Solterra Solterra EPAlter Bridge One Day Remains
Creed Full CircleRed End of Silence
user ratings (97)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Carter Vance (2.5)
A great new single, bogged down by a couple of mediocre tracks...


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



3336 Comments


Far from their best work, lacks the substance and the emotions their earlier work has. However, Moving To Mars sounds nice, is the best of the bunch . Also, you combined Violet Hill with Strawberry Swing, and from what you say it's more Violet Hill rather than Strawberry Swing.
Review it's ok, not much to talk about 3 tracks anyway

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


I would have to agree. about that first part but i stil liked it. ha ha yeah that was the hardest part of this review. i agree with that violet hill thing too.

deathofasalesman
July 1st 2011



5811 Comments


“I turn the music up, I got my records on,
I shut the world outside until the lights come on,”

That's on par with Coldplay's other lyrics? I wonder if I should even consider this...

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



3336 Comments


it's ok when listened alone, but when compared it's way behind

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



30882 Comments


Review needs a hefty edit

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


Review needs a hefty edit

is it my grammar? i will admit i always struggle with that lol


BigHans
July 1st 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Grammar and it just doesn't read all that well. Not trying to be a dick, just thinking you should edit it because alot of people will be interested in looking at this review.

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


yeah i hear you I will look it over now.

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


all advice is helpfull so please feel free.

deathofasalesman
July 1st 2011



5811 Comments


I think the intro should be edited to sound a bit more interesting.

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


^ done

did some major changes. hopefully this clears things up.

foreverendeared
July 1st 2011



14678 Comments


In the world of music.


fragment

It's no denying that Coldplay is one of the more popular musical act's out today.


*acts. There's no apostrophe

So it's no surprise that with the release of this new EP.


fragment

And ends with a, albeit really short, yet refreshing drum solo.


fragment

Next up is ‘Major Minus’ which opens up with an acoustic sounding guitar and some interesting vocals by Chris. Although the intro comes off as being rather boring. The song, thankfully, transitions into a very interesting instrumental, which improves it greatly.


You're not doing as well as you can describing the music. You use the word "interesting" several times, but you don't even tell the reader how it's interesting. "the intro comes off as being rather boring." How is it boring? In what way?

It then moves into ‘Moving to Mars’ this is the odd ball in the group.


run-on

Starting out with Chris singing wihle a piano plays for the first minute and a half.


Fragment and a misspelled word.

Including some acoustic guitar which is similer to what was on 'Major Minus'.


Fragment



There are other mistakes as well, mostly syntax, wording, transition between paragraphs, etc. I suggest next time you do a review, head to the forums and there is a thread where you can submit your review beforehand to be proofread by others. Either that, or get someone you know to proofread for you first.

foreverendeared
July 1st 2011



14678 Comments


Don't take this too harshly, just trying to help.

Yuma310
July 1st 2011



1656 Comments


I wont. i need the help. but ill get these edits in eventualy


North0House2
July 2nd 2011



5817 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Man, Coldplay just keeps getting worse and worse.
It makes me sad.

Digging: The Number Twelve Looks Like You - Mongrel

qwe3
July 2nd 2011



21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this is good wtf are people on

AutoRock
July 2nd 2011



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hated Teardrop from the first second. Gotta check out the other two songs... maybe everything's not lost.

Yuma310
July 2nd 2011



1656 Comments


^ Try Major Minus

Burning_October
July 2nd 2011



162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Although Every Teardrop is dissapointing, I really like Major Minus and Moving To Mars. MM reminds me of Atchung Baby-era U2 (in a good way), and MTM is just lovely.

darkwargreymon
July 2nd 2011



188 Comments


Good review, but there is a mispelling in the second line of the last paragraph. Pos'd.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy