Soundtrack
Out Of Sight


4.5
superb

Review

by Voivod STAFF
June 28th, 2011 | 15 replies | 5,576 views


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A superb soundtrack for a superb adaptation of an Elmord Leonard novel for the big screen.

In his novel by the name of "Film Club", issued in 2007, Canadian writer/movie critic/book critic/art documentary host David Gilmour (nothing to do with David Gilmour from Pink Floyd whatsoever) makes a detailed comment about the nature of the crime novels written by Elmord Leonard. His characters had a cool and accurate way of setting their whereabouts within the novel, making the latter a fun yet witty read. During the last 50 years, several of Leonard’s books were adapted for the big screen, yet Gilmour states that it wasn’t until after the dawn of the 90’s that movie directors really managed to capture the slick feeling and the “black” witty humor of Leonard’s novels on film. For the record, Gilmour reports two directors, the critically acclaimed Quentin Tarantino, who made “Jackie Brown” in 1993 and Steven Soderbergh who made “Out of Sight” in 1998. While the former movie became famous quite fast, the latter was buried in the dust of time, even though its final quality and its cosntituent elements were highly praised by film critics worldwide. Apart from the quality of the director (check out the highly underrated “The Limey”), the adaptation of an Elmord Leonard novel for the big screen and its starring actors (George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez), a huge asset for the film was its music score, featuring the guru of cool Electronica David Holmes, among other critically acclaimed artists.

The film is about this big time bank robber, Jack Foley (Clooney), who resides in the fine state of California. Except from being a compulsive bank robber, using only his brain and no guns whatsoever, Foley has a profound talent in escaping from prisons too. So, he aims to escape from his new sentence as well, with the help of his Afro-American (critically acclaimed Ving Rhames) and Latino (critically acclaimed Luis Guzmán) gang members. The escape is successful, however the twist in the plot is that Foley’s gang holds a US Marshall as hostage (JLo) and a subconscious sexual interplay is being developed between her and Foley. The really cool and clever sexual interplay between JLo and Clooney forms the one end of the pedestal, with the other being the continuation of Foley’s criminal activities, with JLo hunting him, while flirting with him.

The backbone of the soundtrack imitates the slick structure of the film. The lines of actors, taken from some of the most characteristic scenes in the film are being used as samples in the beginning, throughout or in the end of each song and instrumentals. The span of the songs and interludes clearly reflects the cultural/ethnic composition and the general impact of each member of Foley’s crew. The music branches off proportionally to groovy Latin pop/rock, Motown soul, and larger-than-life Dean Martin. And then there is David Holmes. Being responsible for 60% of the score and obeying as well in the aforementioned span, he does an excellent job. He composes cool yet minimal lines for bass and drums and places really cool melodies on top, always on par with the corresponding fluctuations in the mood of the film. These melodies are realized with the use of several instruments, with classical guitars, electric guitars playing those funky Motown riffs and the Hammond being only a few.

As already said in the prologue, the film was adored by the critics, but the audience ignored it for unknown reasons. Overall, Out of Sight is a soundtrack that can work just as well for someone who hasn’t seen the film. That holds because Out of Sight is one of those rare soundtracks that carry intact the very DNA of the movie they were made for.



Recent reviews by this author
Aura Noir Black Thrash AttackShattered Hope Waters Of Lethe
Shrapnel (UK) The Virus ConspiresBlues Pills Bliss
Tad Morose RevenantBolzer Aura
user ratings (2)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

David Holmes – Rip rip:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iw6nyS7JBss&feature=related


David Holmes – The tub scene:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mv2rjVDiKd8



Constructive criticism is always welcome.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

FelixCulpa
June 28th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck me this sounds great. I just clicked the youtube link so I didn't know what to expect

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know dude.



All Holmes tracks are great music for sex, flirting, walking on the street etc.

FelixCulpa
June 28th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And where did you get a hold of this, can't find it anywhere. And now that you mentions it I can
really see myself just strolling down the street with Rip Rip on.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I saw the movie in 2004, however this movie is from 1998.

I paid real attention to the music and when i found a physical copy of the soundtrack, i grabbed with no second thoughts.

Unfortunately, as i write in the review, this movie was buried.

It didn't deserve it though.

The other tracks from David Holmes are even stronger. The whole OST is gold.



Is the review informative?

FelixCulpa
June 28th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I'd say that it was. Didn't know it wasn't a big hit during it's time. It plays quite often here on tv in Sweden. Just seen parts of it though. THis made go get the Oceans 11 OST since David Holmes apparently also did some of the songs on there.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my favorite track from this is the second YouTube link here.

Really dark and mesmerizing stuff....

FelixCulpa
June 28th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you random Russian forum! You can at least expect one more rating for this Voivod. And I just realized that you name is VoIvod not VovoId which I've been reading every time I've seen your name, until now that I had to type it.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

typing Vovoid instead of Voivod is a common mistake with the qwerty keyboard.


thanks man.




Thank you random Russian forum!





;)

Irving
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



7011 Comments


To be honest I felt the review dealt too little with the actual musical content of the soundtrack, focusing heavily instead on elements of the movie and its subsequent reception. Although there is some description of the soundtrack's sound, I have to admit that I still am quite unsure, exactly, what the final product sounds like. However, this was still quite a solid review mate. So have a pos. And do keep writing Voivod - I've always rather liked your style, and would love to see more pennings from you.

One more minor niggle:

Overall, Out of Sight is a soundtrack that can work juat as well for someone who hasn’t seen the film.

I think you wanted "just" =)

Irving
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



7011 Comments


Also, do you think I'll be able to get into this? Even without having watched the film?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, do you think I'll be able to get into this? Even without having watched the film?





Yeah, most definitely.

You see, it may seem at first a collection of songs that go along with the electronica of David Holmes.

But the flow from one song to another is nominal.





About the review...

I was looking for a good opening paragraph for months (without a good opening paragraph there is no review imho) and i found this book i'm writing about up front.

So the general idea was to link the awesomeness of the raw material that made the film (Elmord Leonard's novel) along with the quality of the entire movie crew that worked for its realization and link the details of the movie with the musical content.

For example i wouldn't be able to justify why the soundtrack is split into Latin pop/rock,electronica and classic Motown soul, if i hadn't made a reference with respect to the ethnic composition of Foley's gang crew.

Perhaps that 3rd paragraph should be more detailed, but it somewhat feels right every time i wish to add something.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



7011 Comments


it somewhat feels right every time i wish to add something

That's fair enough. The review is quite effective, in all actuality, and the author has every right to do with it what he or she will.

And rest assured that I will check out this soundtrack if I get the chance =)

BigHans
July 1st 2011



26455 Comments


holy shit I forgot this movie existed.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is not too difficult for someone to erase this film from his/her memory, because it never got the publicity it deserved.

I have never seen this on DVD format.

Isn't that a bit of an irony for a Clooney film?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy